Lacombe Golf and Country Club

4.2180000000 4.2 stars from 5 (65)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6375 yards
  • Slope: 125
  • Rating: 73.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: No
Simulator: No
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6375 yards 73.1 125
White 71 5957 yards 71.1 123
Red 71 5173 yards 71.1 123

Lacombe Golf & Country Club opened in 1925, but the site has roots in golf that date back even further to 1910 when golfers would use the former cow and sheep pasture to hit balls. It has undergone many changes over the years but the layout still retains its classic character. The golf course is situated along the PEII, midway between Calgary and Edmonton. The par-71 layout is routed through dense groves of mature, towering trees. They loom above the fairways and provide a backdrop for nearly every hole. When the trees are combined with the golf course's small, undulating greens, the layout becomes a true test of your accuracy. In addition to the golf course, Lacombe also offers a driving range and a practice putting green with a bunker.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 65 Reviews
5 stars:
22
4 stars:
36
3 stars:
6
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

65 out of 65 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for patio dining drinks brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Nice cours"


u7959922's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Green fast fairway are getting better, had a great time!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Kevin3558476's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000001067127's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 05/10/2018:

We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

"Hard greens and poor restaurant service."


brentswain's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

Normally I would recommend playing this course. However, I am not sure if it is because of a hot dry summer or just poor irrigation but the greens were like concrete to putt on. Even approaching with a full 60-degree wedge they would not hold. Hit the front and many times rolled over 30 to 40 feet. Even light taps on sloped greens would roll off 20 or 30 feet. Have played on numerous other courses this year without having this experience. The worst was after 9 going in an ordering a smokie. Told the girl at the counter it was to go. After asking a couple of times and waiting almost 15 minutes still no food. Then I was told to sit down and she would bring it. Can't imagine what would have happened if there had been a group behind me. I finally left with it and was never offered a refund or anything. Not impressed with the service. At least tell customers there is a long wait.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 09/19/2017:

Hi, Brent. Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. Your feedback about the course is important to us. We are working to get everything up to par. We have projects ongoing to recovery the fairways and greens from the recent rain and heavy play this season. The current condition is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We are going to escalate your feedback to our team so we can make improvements before your next game. We are glad to see you rated the pace of play to be great during your game. We also apologize for the delay you experienced at the restaurant. We will continue to work towards an excellent experience by using your comment for guidance. Thank you for playing Lacombe Golf & Country Club, we hope to see you again soon.

"Delightfully difficult"


martyk23's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course always plays more difficult than it appears that it should. The tees, fairways and first rough were as they should be and the greens presented the enjoyable challenge. All aspects were well kept and maintained. The course has a comfortable and welcoming ambiance.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 09/14/2017:

Hi, Martin. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 5-star feedback is what we strive to achieve. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.

"Staff"


Brant6086058's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nobody on the course. We played best ball with 2 people per cart and made a group of 6. A group of 5 behind us so we figured we were okay. Our family dropped $1500 minimum for 3 tee times. The high school kid comes to the tee box and watches us tee off on Hole 6. He gives us a whole bunch of attitude and we told him we were good and understood the rules. He Continued to mouth off as he drove away in his cart.. They followed us around for 3 holes and he brought his boss. We planned on golfing again tonight as a family as well. But nah we will spend our 1500 bucks somewhere else. Didn't I mention we golfed the night before. That's about $2200 in 48 hours. We will give the opportunity to nursery next time. They are super friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 09/06/2017:

Hello, Brant. Thank you for taking the time to review the course. Your group booked for 4 players but arrived with 10. We explained that we could accommodate your group but informed the party that you couldn't play in teams larger than 4. Our staff noticed you were playing in a group of 6 and a group not related to you was in a fivesome. We politely asked that the group return to 4 to avoid delay of play for other golfers. Our staff was monitoring the course along with all involved parties to avoid any pace issues. We apologize if this made your family feel unwelcome. This is not the standard we strive to achieve. We will escalate your feedback to our teams in charge. Thanks for playing Lacombe Golf & Country Club.

"Great afternoon"


Rickrw's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is well laid out, great greens and the pace of play was super. It is a wonderful course that offers challenges for all levels. I look forward to another round soon!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 09/05/2017:

Hello, Richard. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 5-star feedback is what we strive to achieve. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.

"Beautiful course"


u715324926's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Bring your approach and putting game with you because the greens are fast and pin placement can be tough!! Awesome layout and with a good drive you can keep your score fairly respectful. I'll be back soon!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 08/24/2017:

Hello, Ray. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 5-stars. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off.


Kevin3558476's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 08/16/2017:

Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 5-star feedback is what we strive to achieve. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.

"Shaggy and Rough"


Marcrioux's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways in decent shape, but greens that are typically in the past true and fast I found shaggy and rough...


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 08/09/2017:

Hello, Marc. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Lacombe Golf & Country Club, we hope to see you again in the future.


woody1954's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice Course, unfortunately there was a wedding on the course so really was confusing for all golfers...


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country CLub on 08/17/2017:

Hi, Mel. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 4-stars. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We will also escalate your feedback about the wedding causing a bit of a disconnect with your round. We are working to find a happy medium between golf and events occupying the course on the same day. Any chance you caught the bouquet? Thanks for playing Lacombe Golf & Country Club, we hope to see you again soon!


Kevin3558476's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 08/01/2017:

Hi, Kevin. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 4-star feedback is great to see. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.


Douglas4914613's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 08/01/2017:

Hello, Douglas. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 5-star feedback is what we strive to achieve. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.

"Great deal at Lacombe GC"


u468705841's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the better courses in my opinion in the Central AB area, we got the hot deal for the day on the day we played! Course was in great condition and pace of play was alright only had to wait on a few holes. Had the lunch special in the clubhouse after our round and food was good.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 08/01/2017:

Hi, Dion. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 4-star feedback is great to see. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.


Chris3926182's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 08/01/2017:

Hello, Chris. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 4-star feedback is great to see. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.

"Great Course"


u000004232985's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was a fun course to play. Nothing extremely challenging but definitely not a push over. Course was in great condition and the pace was very good. Will definitely return soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 08/01/2017:

Hello, Jerry. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 5-star feedback is what we strive to achieve. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.

"Pleasant experience"


colinacheson's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A fine old 'country club' course with wide tree lined fairways and small greens. A few trees down due to a recent windstorm. Course was in great condition otherwise. Pace of play was excellent. Foursome finished in 3 and a half hours. Very friendly and accommodating staff. We'll be back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 08/01/2017:

Hi, Colin. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us 5-stars! We are going to pass on your feedback to our team so they know their hard work is not going unnoticed. It is great to hear that the efforts we have put in helped provided a memorable and enjoyable experience for you. Thank you for playing Lacombe Golf & Country Club, we look forward to seeing you again soon!


Darin1687070's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 08/01/2017:

Hello, Darin. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 4-star feedback is great to see. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.


u531237753's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing the course. Was pleasantly surprised by the design. Only a little dissapointed with the size of some of the greens very small. Overall good condition. On another note I was somewhat surprised that range balls did not come in the total cost of the round.


Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Lacombe Golf & Country Club on 06/12/2017:

Hello, Billy. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 4-stars. We will inform the entire team so they know their hard work is paying off. We will also escalate your feedback about the range balls and course layout to the teams responsible. We strive to improve with every review we receive. Thank you for playing Lacombe Golf & Country Club.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed