Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
326 Reviews (326)
5 Stars
88
4 Stars
168
3 Stars
45
2 Stars
11
1 Stars
14
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.2
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
3.3
Pace
3.3
Amenities
3.3
56.9%
Recommend this course
284 out of 326 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
1.0
1 Reviews (1)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
5.0
Value
5.0
Layout
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
5.0
StaffFriendliness
1.0
0%
Recommend this course
1 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.7
3 Reviews (3)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.0
Layout
4.3
Pace
2.7
Amenities
3.0
StaffFriendliness
2.7
33.3%
Recommend this course
1 out of 3 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Municipal
Par 72
Length 6811 yards
Slope 138
Rating 73.8

With a name meaning 'quiet waters' in the Seminole language, Okeeheelee Golf Course is situated amidst lush, rolling hills that overlook the sparkling waters of Clear Lake. There are 27 championship holes that are divided into three nines and can be played in three different 18-hole combinations. The Osprey, Heron, and Eagle nines are named after the various wildlife that can be seen throughout. Each golf course offers a different set of challenges and scenery. Okeeheelee's Osprey/Heron Course features a variety of elevation changes. There are scenic views from the elevated greens but don't become too distracted since there are many elements to contend with including towering trees, strategically placed bunkers, and deep rough lining the fairways. There are also plenty of water hazards coming into play.

Book a Tee Time at
Okeeheelee Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1995
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Tif Eagle Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Roy Case (1995)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - $22.00
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Appropriate golf attire. Tank tops are not permited.

Reviews

3.2
326 Reviews (326)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 11
Patio Dining 7
19th Hole Scenic Views 6
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 57
Bunkers 39
Undulating Greens 27
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 42
Locals 36
Playing Multiple Courses 35
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 35
Worth the Drive 33
Near the Airport 20

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
Incentivized Review
1.0
Previously Played

Horrible customer service

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS COURSE TO ANYONE.

I have played this course 9th times. Every time we play here the customer service is below par.
Today was the last time myself and 7 of my friend played at this course.

The starter followed us the entire first 9, rudely telling us to speed up play with no people behind us.

We finally finished the round in 4 hours and 15 minutes. This time includes grabbing something to eat after the 9th hole.

DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND STAY AWAY UNLESS YOU LIKE TO PAY FOR SOMEONE TO UPSET YOU!!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 12/10/2019

Mr. Van Staden:

We are sorry you had such an unpleasant encounter with our on-course player assistants on Saturday December 7, 2019. Our goal is to provide the best customer service possible and in this case, we clearly fell short.

We have met with the staff on duty to thoroughly discuss the situation, and to go over ways that we as a staff could have handled the situation better. Ultimately, the staff was trying to enforce our pace of play policy which we take very seriously, especially on weekend mornings, but we didn’t go about it in the right manner and for that we apologize. We’ve used this as a training moment for our staff to make sure we are offering the best customer experience possible for our golfers. We fully understand that you came to Okeeheelee Golf Course to enjoy yourself and because of this interaction, you were not able to do that. We very much hope that you will take advantage of our previous offer to have you and your group back out so that we can have the chance to “wow” you with our customer service.

Once again, Renaldo, we apologize and we can’t thank you enough for your feedback – it is valuable to us.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
4.0
Previously Played

Good job

The greens team works so hard to maintain conditions and does a great job. Greens renovation has been talked about for five years and nothing has been done so I sympathize with the course superintendent and greens. Hard to impossible to manage different grass types to provide the quality putting surfaces that golfers deserve.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Previously Played

Would wait before going back

Unfortunately the greens have a disease at the moment and the course is in a bad shape.

When I first discovered this course about 6-7 years ago, the conditions were amazing. Unfortunately, it the course has never been as nice since.

I would recommend calling the course and ask for the green conditions before booking a tee time. Hopefully they’ll be able to fix this problem quicly

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 11/22/2019

Hello,

We appreciate your feedback. We are actively working on the conditions of the greens and have extended a lower rate until 12/1 as we address these issues. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

A fun 9 on Osprey

We rode 9 on a typically hot South FL morning. We had a foursome of slow players ahead of us but they eventually let us play through. The course is beautiful, with some interesting undulations, a variety of lengths/hole designs, and quick greens. There are some narrow spots in fairways so watch out. All staff members were friendly and helpful. We look forward to next time.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 08/09/2018

We're so happy you stopped by! As a 27-hole facility, you'll have to come back for another round or two so you can get the full effect of everything Okeeheelee has to offer. Thanks for choosing to play with us and for sharing your experience publicly.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Very nice course

Great layout. Very pretty surroundings.
Will play there again. Great deal on Golf Now.
Needs better dining facility, and $2.50 WAY too much for cup of coffee.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 08/03/2018

We very much appreciate you coming out to play and for giving us five stars! We appreciate your feedback and we will share your comments about the coffee with the vendor who runs the F&B at our facility. We hope that you will return for another round very soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 23
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 44
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Florida seasonal golf

The greens were aerated 5/31/18 and were rough and slow. Fairways and traps were good.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 06/29/2018

Aerification is a necessary evil this time of year in South Florida. We hope you have the chance to return once they've healed so you can get the full Okeeheelee experience.

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

love the course

The course is in decent shape but the greens were punched somewhat recently and they were a little bumpy.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 06/29/2018

Aerification is a necessary evil this time of year in South Florida. We hope you have the chance to return once they've healed so you can get the full Okeeheelee experience.

Played On
Reviews 22
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Worth The Trip

Course is almost an hour from my house in south Broward but worth the trip. Love courses like this and Osprey Point where there aren't beat up condos surrounding it. Can't rate the greens since they had been aerated not long ago so they were a little bumpy with some rough patches, especially hole #2 on Eagle, short par 3. Overall layout is fantastic. Some short easy par 4's mixed in with some tough ones. Bev cart girl was very friendly. Great value for the money. Will go back when greens have come back in totally.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 06/29/2018

It's time for your next round, the greens are back! Thanks for taking the trip up from Broward. Since you mentioned that you also play Osprey Point (another member of the Palm Beach County Golf group) we'd suggest you look into our Frequent Player Card program. The FPC card will save you some money, which hopefully makes the drive a little easier to swallow. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great course except for the greens

Booked this course through Golf Now. Very nice course that we enjoyed playing. When we arrived at the course we were informed the greens were aerated but still in good shape. The trip to the course was 35-40 minutes and we didn't want to look for another course so we decided to play. Well the greens were in terrible shape. Most of them looked like sand greens I used to play as a kid. Normally Golf Now informs me if green aeration is underway. Either the course management or Golf Now dropped the ball in this case. This course is comprised of 3 nine hole layouts. Why not rotate aeration and leave one nine hole layout open for players?

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 06/12/2018

Hello and thank you for the review. We at the golf course always notify GolfNow when we are doing any maintenance at all and very much apologize that you were blind sided by punched greens. Please send us an email at Golf@pbcgov.org so we can learn a little bit more about your experience in hopes of avoiding this issue in the future. Again, we do our best to notify every single golfer when we have aerated the greens. We hope you will return in a week or two so you can get the fully Okeeheelee experience.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 64
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
First Time Playing

Far better then expected

Played the Eagle and Osprey. Nice staff, nice course, very good conditions and fun. This course was far better then expected.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 05/15/2018

We love it when we exceed expectations! Thanks for taking the trip up from Ft. Lauderdale.

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course nice....staff rude

I have played the course 5 times within the last year. Course is always in good condition. Staff is always rude.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 05/15/2018

Hello, we are a bit troubled by your comments about our staff and would like to learn more about your experience at Okeeheelee Golf Course. If you would be so kind, please send us an email at Golf@pbcgov.org with the days and times that you played as well as any issues you may have had with staff. We can't thank you enough for the continued support and for still giving us a four-star review. But we also want the chance to turn that into a five-star review.

Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Used cart

Okeeheelee Golf

My wife and I really like Okeeheelee, since it offers a variety of wildlife and is manicured fairly well for a publicly-owned course. The three nines offer a variety of types of holes with varying degrees of difficulty. A variety of tee locations allows for all levels of golfer to have a fun or a challenging experience. We play here often. On this occasion we used a GolfNow Hot Deal, which seemed very reasonable in price. Unfortunately, after six holes we were called off the course for lightning. When I asked for a rain check in the pro shop I was told that since I paid GolfNow I needed to contact them. I've tried calling the 800-594-9280 number, but the recorded message plays and the number hangs up. We seem to have no recourse and feel that we received shabby treatment in this situation.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 05/04/2018

Just to follow up with you, we reached out to GolfNow and we understand they were able to get in touch with you and provide you with a partial return as well as a dozen TaylorMade golf balls. We're thrilled to hear they were able to resolve this and we thank you once again for coming to play.

Default User Image
Commented on 04/27/2018

We're sorry to hear about your inconvenience and for any confusion. The pro shop was correct in telling you that you would have to contact GolfNow directly to get a refund in this scenario as GolfNow is a third party partner of ours and the "Hot Deals" are sold directly by GolfNow. We have reached out to our GolfNow rep. and they will be reaching out to get this resolved for you. Thanks for your continued support and for the four star review.

Played On
Reviews 24
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Nearby Courses
West Palm Beach, Florida
3.2092705882
326
West Palm Beach, Florida
3.2092705882
326
West Palm Beach, Florida
4.25
4
Lake Worth, Florida
4.1779941176
1259
Lake Worth, Florida
3.6683529412
96
Lake Worth, Florida
3.6035705882
322
West Palm Beach, Florida
5.0
4
West Palm Beach, Florida
4.6944666667
9
West Palm Beach, Florida
4.4285714286
3

Stay & Play Offers

From $178
Valid dates: May 05, 2020 - Dec 31, 2020
TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OTTER CREEK STAY & PLAY PACKAGES The packages shown below are all special rates and designed for the golfer. Each has its own unique offerings, choose any of them and enjoy your stay and enjoy your golfing!
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE