Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
2.3
464 Reviews (464)
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
165
3 Stars
106
2 Stars
72
1 Stars
86
Conditions
1.9
Value
2.6
Layout
3.5
Friendliness
3.8
Pace
3.3
Amenities
2.3
38.2%
Recommend this course
287 out of 464 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Municipal
Par 72
Length 7002 yards
Slope 128
Rating 73.0

West Palm Beach Golf Course has hosted a variety of tournaments since opening in 1947, some that have included famous players such as Arnold Palmer. This historic course stands out from all of the area's public courses. Unlike Florida's many flat courses, West Palm Beach has an undulating terrain that provides interesting elevation changes. The course features elevated tees and greens and rarely is there a flat lie. The rolling hills are covered with native vegetation, palm trees, and mature pines and oaks. There is also no water to be found on the golf course, another rare occurrence in this area. In 2009, the course underwent a major renovation that made it environmentally friendly. There is also a full grass driving range and large practice area that overlook West Palm Beach Golf Course.

Course Details

Year Built 1947
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Tifdwarf Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Dick Wilson (1947) Mark McCumber (2009)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Reviews

2.3
464 Reviews (464)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 8
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 82
Undulating Greens 25
Elevation Changes 19
This course/club is great for:
Locals 60
Seniors 36
Beginners 26
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 81
Near the Airport 52
Worth the Drive 15

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Terrible and the worst golf course

This is unequivocally the worst course that I’ve played since taking Golf twenty years ago. If I had not already pay, I would have walk away. I played nine and just left. I should reimbursed and compensated for wasting and ruining my clubs. Please do not advertise this course anymore. I was told that the course will shut down in a month. Very, very, very disappointed!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Poor
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 07/25/2018:
Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear your round with us was anything short of 5-stars. We hope you consider returning for another round soon. Thanks for playing West Palm Beach Golf Club.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

OMG

I cannot believe you call this a golf course! I have never had a more unpleasant round anywhere! I feel like a refund is in order. Pleas do not allow this course to be on your website!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 07/17/2018:
Thank you for your honest review, as we continue to work on the outcome of the course conditions we hope that you will give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Extremely rough conditions

What a shame, fantastic layout, some fairways with little grass, greens recently top dressed.

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 07/17/2018:
Thank you for your honest review, as we continue to work on the outcome of the course conditions we hope that you will give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

horrible course

I have never played on a course in such terrible condition since I've been playing golf. There was dead wood, branches and piles of leaves everywhere. The carts were not functioning properly and we had to have both carts replaced during play, and one cart (the replacement) had a velcro part that would not hold up its rain cover for our clubs. There was sand and weeds on the fairways. The grass had not been cut so you could distinguish fairway from rough. Ball washers had no water in them. I got the impression this course is about to be sold and will close soon, so it is not being maintained. What a waste of money and time!

Difficulty Moderate
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 07/09/2018:
Thank you for your honest review, as we continue to work on the outcome of the course conditions we hope that you will give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 07/03/2018:
Thank you for your honest review, as we continue to work on the outcome of the course conditions we hope that you will give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

West Palm Beach Golf Club

At one time this was one of the nicest courses in West Palm Beach. I have been playing here for 40 years. For what reason I dont know, but it has slowly gone down hill. There was debris everywhere, overgrowth, and where they replaced the trees with sand years ago is a snaggle of weeds and the fairways a mess. I am very disappointed with how it looks. Like so many other courses in Palm Beach County that look like they are going to sell out to a contractor that will replace it with condos.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 06/21/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try so that we can increase your overall star rating.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fallen Giant

Once a tour stop and the course of my youth, terminated it's golf commission and was left to rot by non golfing city politicians. Tragic!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 06/15/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Playing in Iraq

I have been playing here occasionally for 20 years. the staff is very nice. The City has decided to destroy the course by neglect and sell it to a developer. Its a disaster. Even with all the rain you have a hard time finding a piece of grass to hit off. Stay away.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 05/21/2018:
Thank you for your honest review, as we continue to work on the outcome of the course conditions we hope that you will give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Sold!!

From what I understand the golf course has been sold or leased to a new company. Hopefully they will restore the course back to its old glory days. It is a very nice track. As of now the course is in poor condition.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 05/01/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We are currently working on many of these things you have presented in the review. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Used to be a great course. Redone by Mark McCumber and now its a mess

Course is in the process of being redone again. The day we played yhe course was in terrible shape. Hope they can redo it and make it a great course again. The course was a tour stop back in the day and maybe they can get it back to its early success.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 04/24/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We are currently working on many of these things you have presented in the review. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Worst ever

The course is in terrible condition. I’ve played here many times and it’s sad to see they have let the course get so bad. I won’t be returning and should have requested a refund.

Conditions Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 04/24/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We are currently working on many of these things you have presented in the review. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 04/24/2018:
Thank you for your honest review, we appreciate you coming out to see us and hope that next time we can increase your overall star rating!
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

great greens, terrible fairways.

I've been playing golf for almost 60 years and I've never seen such a difference in the condition of the greens and the rest of the course. It was fine for me. I tee it up on the tees, take lies on the fairway, but there's no solution for bad greens. The greens were plush and smooth.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 04/24/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We are currently working on many of these things you have presented in the review. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser

Unplayable fairways

No grass on fairways. Course will be closed for renovation do not play until this is done

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 04/16/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars.Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

getting better

Fairways are getting better due to the staff's manual watering efforts and a little rain. I didn't see any attempt to repair the defective sprinkler system. all watering is manual. Most fairways are getting better except for no. 12. The are nice. Still the best price around.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 04/16/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. After hurricane Irma many of our sprinklers were damaged and we are currently working on fixing many of these issues. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

mojave desert in florida

they need to seed and water (maintain) the fairways
greens were an oasis in the Mojave desert over watered and very soft , they looked great but I feel sorry for the following group because you can't see the undulations in the greens.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 04/16/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. After hurricane Irma many of our sprinklers were damaged and we are currently working on fixing many of these issues. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

This course at one time was an absolute pleasure to play.My last visit was very disappointing, the greens were beautiful and that's where it ends.Tee boxes and fairways are sparse and dried up. What a shame, this course was a favorite of mind,what happen guys!

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 04/16/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We are currently working on many of the things you have presented in this review. The greens have come along way and we appreciate you noticing the changes. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

This course was in am awful condition.
No grass anymore in the fairplays.
Onlythe greens were in good shape.
Will not go back there.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 04/11/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We are currently working on many of the things you have presented in this review. The greens have come along way and we appreciate you noticing the changes. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Disgusting!

This place should be closed until they rip it up and resod it. The absolute WORST course i have ever seen. No grass on the tee boxes or the fairways, just loose sand EVERYWHERE!!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from West Palm Beach Golf Club on 04/11/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We are currently working on many of the things you have presented in this review. Thank you for coming out and we hope to see you again.
Nearby Courses
Palm Beach, Florida
4.6346117647
358
Lake Worth, Florida
3.7209117647
425
West Palm Beach, Florida
4.4285714286
3
Palm Beach, Florida
0.0
0
Atlantis, Florida
4.2615882353
547
Palm Beach, Florida
4.4762142857
4
Lantana, Florida
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

From $530
Valid dates: Sep 16, 2019 - Mar 31, 2020
Located between Charlotte, NC and Columbia, SC along I-77, the Olde English District includes seven counties in the Piedmont (upstate) area of South Carolina.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE