Tall Timber Golf Course

2.1666705882 2.2 stars from 5 (43)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 5805 yards
  • Slope: 116
  • Rating: 68.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No tank tops or cutoffs
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 5805 yards 68.1 116
Blue 71 5562 yards 66.6 112

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.0 stars from 5
Value: 3.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 1.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 43 Reviews
5 stars:
1
4 stars:
3
3 stars:
8
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
19

recommend this course

17 out of 42 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

John2005701's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Farid3713966's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



botica's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Conditions"


uGYOI2924GY's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Walked Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Since playing the course three years ago, the

conditions are now much worse.

The grass on the tee boxes needs to be cut.

There is a perfectly good tee box on the 12th hole, but the course management continues to use the winter mat. The fairways are undulating with lots of potholes. It is a wonder I didn't twist an ankle.

Cut grass is not removed and hides the golf balls.

Bull rushes growing beside the small creeks need to be removed. The course is basically a cow pasture.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Unbelievable"


u6461074's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My son (9 years old) and I, both golf junkies, played on Victoria Day for the very first time on this course. My son couldn't believe what he experienced and we both got confused as there are no fairways or greens in their proper terms. He was frustrated from the very first tee and I managed to convince him to stay on. Frustration on top of disappointment we then quit after 9th hole since we couldn't tee, hit or putt.

If anyone wants a day out for the sake of walking his/her golf bag, then it is the place. Otherwise there is no excitement or enjoyment playing 'golf' there.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Not so nice!"


LouieB49's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Given we picked a tee time through Golf Now so it only cost $30 for two to play so it was'nt hard on pocket book. At the course it would have cost $35 each which to me is too much for this course. The front nine was like playing on a cow pasture. Hard to make even par. Back nine a little better but still not that exciting. The greens were Inconsistent some good mostly bad. Maintenance is not virtue here.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Price is very reasonable"


jys55's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staffs are very friendly and green fee is very reasonable.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/09/2016

Hi

Thanks for taking the time to write this review! We are so happy to hear you enjoy our staff and course. Hope to see you soon!


"Has potential"


u097550865's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course looks as though it has potential to be good, it has a decent layout and a good difficulty level it just needs a lot of tlc.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 10/07/2015

Thank you for your comments. We believe, as you mentioned, that we have a decent layout and a good difficulty level. We also know that our potential could be better. We are constantly trying to improve course conditioning. In time we hope you try our course again and that you notice an improvement.


"Value golf at its best."


u000007920991's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2015
Previously played Used cart Good weather

Reviewed on

My friend and I decided to give their 2 for 1 Tuesday deal a try. When we got there, we had the option of either both walking at $12.50 each or taking the Golf and Cart special of $25 each. We opted for a power cart and off we went. Sure the course was rough in some areas but there are some good, challenging golf holes on the course. The staff was very friendly and the food was good. If you're looking for manicured conditions and perfect lies, don't come here. However, if you want to have a fun relaxed day on the links, this is the place to be. At these prices we'll definitely be back.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/08/2015

Thank you for coming and playing! We appreciate you working through some of the rough spots and were able to see the value this course has. Hope to see you again soon!


"Not Enjoyable!"


GolfinginBC's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
British Columbia Advisor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2015
First time playing

Reviewed on

Not a great course, and somewhere to bring beginners is about it. Course was great and of course it's BC so there are nice surroundings but thats about it.

Lots of other options are that make it more enjoyable.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Quality of food & beverage: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 10/07/2015

We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your visit to Tall Timbers. We know our course conditions are below par but most players agree that the layout and design of the course is good. Course conditioning aside, there are a number of good golf holes here. Like you mentioned, this is a perfect place to bring beginners to. We’ve recently introduced a forward set of green tees (front 9 only) that measures 1381 yards. We also offer a kids golf free program. Up to 3 kids (18 years and under) may play for free with the purchase of 1 adult green fee. We hope that you try us out again, perhaps with a new, beginning player.


"This is not a golf course!"


ddspark's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After driving almost an hour to play this course and hoping it was as nice as others, we planned to play 18 holes.

We didn't want to play after the first hole as the course conditions were terrible. There is no pro shop, just the counter in the restaurant which was not air conditioned and very dated.

Will never play here again. This is not a golf course and definitely not worth what we paid.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 10/07/2015

Thank you for playing our course and taking the time to post a review. Ironically, your review was posted the same week as Metro Vancouver went to stage 2 watering restrictions. 2015 registered as one of the driest years for this area. In over 30 years, I have never seen water levels as low on this course as they were this year. The water level in some of our water hazards was down about 1 meter or more. Thankfully, our course is not affected by government imposed watering restriction. Nonetheless, in an effort to conserve our own water supply and that of the environment, we had already stopped watering our fairways and were concentrating on greens and tees only. We know our course conditioning is not good but we’re always trying to improve it. In an effort to keep costs down we have closed our pro shop and condensed green fees and food & beverage sales to one counter. Our clubhouse is over 30 years old. It hasn’t seen any major improvements to it and yes, sadly, no air conditioning. We're sorry you didn't feel it was worth what you paid.


"good value"


brianerh49's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2015
Previously played Paired up at course Walked Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is a bit rough , but good value for the money. Nice staff.


I recommend this course


"Nice people there"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/30/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I recommend everyone one to try the course. Easy walking and great prices.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"It's a golf course"


Ecmiyake's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Catches a good deal, so gave it a try even knew about all the negative reviews. For the price I paid, Its a good course to practice for a beginner like me, but it will be a rip off if you pay full price for it.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Magnificent Goat Trail"


CMPlumber74's avatar
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2015
Previously played Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fantastic layout - cheap price - challenging but, very rough conditions. Really a good place to come have fun. If expecting anything manicured and tidy please go elsewhere. If you want to knock back a few beers and be challenged then this is the place. I enjoyed it for what it was.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Not well maintained course"


Terence6047590's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is not well maintained. It's looks like a dump site. The sand trap has grass growing on it.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Long and Ugly"


FearlessRCS16's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2015
Previously played Played with a group Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Nice cut out course in the cedar trees. Staff was friendly.<br/> Unfortunely it was very poorly maintained. No sand in the bunkers. Very muddy and full of over grown grassy potholes.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"great people"


Bill7148153's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/28/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a day for Feb 28. The people working the course as well as fellow golfers were some of the friendliest anywhere.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


"ahhhh!!"


superkdram's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2014
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairway needs an ATV. Great if you want your possessions and clubs flying all over the course. Greens completely unkept. look like a war zone. Fist sized holes, feels like a waterbed even though it hasn't rained in a month.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Quality of food & beverage: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Nice course but..."



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2014
Previously played Played with a group Walked Played 9 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

When we arrived they had over booked so we were invited by a lovely female employee to play the back 9...not what we took the day of for...


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed