Winter Pines Golf Club

3.8016352941 3.8 stars from 5 (275)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 5401 yards
  • Slope: 113
  • Rating: 66.2
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 950 S Ranger Blvd, Winter Park, Florida 32792, Orange County
  • (407) 671-3172
  • (407) 671-3420
  • winterpinesgc.com

Year built: 1965
Architect(s): Lloyd Clifton
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 5401 yards 66.2 113
Blue (W) 72 5401 yards 71.7 119
White (W) 72 5226 yards 70.8 116
White 72 5065 yards 64.3 108
Red (W) 72 4548 yards 66.0 106

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 275 Reviews
5 stars:
54
4 stars:
135
3 stars:
52
2 stars:
21
1 stars:
13

recommend this course

230 out of 273 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs near the airport   Great for locals beginners seniors   Challenges include water hazards bunkers narrow fairways   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Chrissy9314814's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



FatherChris's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/13/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 01/17/2018:

Hi Chris, thank you for sharing your feedback and for the 4-stars. We hope you had a great round with us recently, and look forward to having you back again soon. Thank you for choosing Winter Pines Golf Club!

"Winter Pines Nice"


billjanie's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course in good conditions. Layout and length perfect for average golfer. Only complaint is actual and indicated tee off lengths did not agree.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 01/17/2018:

Hi Bill, thank you for the 4-star review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the course conditions, and we appreciate your feedback regarding the tee-off lengths so we may work towards any improvements. Come back to Winter Pines soon!


maperriello's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 01/17/2018:

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you playing Winter Pines Golf Club and we hope to see you out here again soon.


u000001396973's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 01/17/2018:

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the near future. We're making improvements on a daily basis.

"This par 67 is worth playing"


hsteenhu's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Winter Pines, although only par 31 on the back 9, is worthwhile playing.

Friendly staff, good kept fairways and fast greens are ingredients for attractive golf.

Due to a number of consecutive par 3's waiting for previous flight to clear the green slows down the pace on second 9.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 01/03/2018:

Thank you for spending a part of your day out here at Winter Pines Golf Club! We're glad to hear that you appreciate the uniqueness of our par 67 golf course. Come back again soon!

"Poorly run operation"


Rick9507972's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It’s all about the revenue! No on course oversight - management apparently has no issue with the horrific pace of play. Putting green is in deplorable condition.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 12/29/2017:

Thank you for your feedback, Rick. We apologize if the pace of play was slower than normal during your most recent round but hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future.

"Friendly Staff"


u000002921370's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was my first time playing this course. Good value, friendly staff, food and drinks are reasonably priced but the greens are in bad shape. Overall it's a good deal for this course!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 12/21/2017:

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Sounds like we made a pretty good first impression. We hope you book another tee time out here at Winter Pines Golf Club again soon.

"Nice course, very slow play"


Rke6327953's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have played this course probably three times so far this winter. This time was the absolute worst. The course is in great shape, greens are very fast, but the pace of play was terrible. We had to sit and wait on tee boxes on 4 holes on the front 9. There was an elderly couple two groups ahead of us that were so slow that we could have taken a nap on every hole. We finally decided to jump ahead of them and had to skip 8 and 9 to get to 10 and tee off on an unobstructed back 9.

Staff should have been sending every other twosome or foursome out on 10,then the next on 1. There was no reason for this, because there was nobody on the back 9 when we skipped 8 and 9 to get to it.

I like the course, but course management needs to do a better job.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 12/21/2017:

Thank you for playing Winter Pines Golf Club several times already this winter. We apologize if the pace of play was slower than normal during your most recent round. Your feedback is important to us and we hope you'll give us another try soon.



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 12/11/2017:

Thank you, Jesse! Come back again soon.

"Very nice course"


Rke6327953's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing here. Great fairway and greens conditions. Not real crowded. Just a fun afternoon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 12/07/2017:

Thank you for your review. We're glad that we made a good first impression and you had fun! Come back again soon.

"Nice Golf Home"


Dorinda9894025's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course and the people were excellent very friendly very accommodating would definitely go back and recommend to friends the course ran well a little narrow on the fairways but a good challenging course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 12/07/2017:

Thank you for playing Winter Pines Golf Club! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the challenges that the layout can present during a round. Book another tee time with us soon.

"Golf"


u949765995's avatar
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the price not bad

For the location from resort to far

The app said 6.3 miles from out current location

Once booked the true route was revealed 22 miles from out current location

Really bad business

Do not use the GolfNow app to book tee times.


Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 12/07/2017:

We're glad to hear that you had the opportunity to play a round out here at Winter Pines Golf Club. We're sorry to hear that we were further away from your resort than expected but hopefully, you'll still join us again in the future.

"A quick 18"


bridgesb's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This track has proven to always be in great shape; pace of play is always outstanding. the evident of TLC is ever present. For a quick 18 and greens that can prove to be a bit tricky; place this one at the top of the list.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 12/07/2017:

Awesome! Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking notice of all the improvements we have made to our course in the off-season. Be sure to book another round with us soon!

"Fine for the price"


Tom1842836's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/27/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got a great deal on GolfNow and enjoyed the experience. The course is set in a highly populated area but none of the houses are on the interior of the course. Relatively short but with a couple of long par-3 holes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 12/07/2017:

Thank you for playing Winter Pines Golf Club, Tom. Your 4-star review is much appreciated. Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.


davidkeetch's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 12/07/2017:

Thanks for playing Winter Pines Golf Club every year, David! Check out our website (www.winterpinesgc.com) to purchase our Holiday Special - 4 rounds of golf for the price of 3! See you again soon.

"Great value and atmosphere"


Magdiel9005604's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Winter Pines never disappoints with great mix of Men, Women and young players is always a pleasure to play there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 11/30/2017:

Thank you for your 5-star review. We take great pride in making sure any and all golfers feel welcome here at Winter Pines Golf Club. Come back again soon!

"Over booked"


tcwolves55's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

I purchased a hot deal for 11am. I pull into a completely full parking lot with a line of 10 golf carts waiting at hole 1 with about 5 more carts loading there clubs into their carts. It would've taken an hour just to start the round... I left without even walking inside. The fact that they would offer a hot deal and be so Ridiculously over booked is beyond me and shows the type of people they are.


Pace of Play: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 11/30/2017:

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you decided to not play on Saturday. The reason why we were backed up was because we had a 50-minute fog delay that morning we were still catching up from it. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

"Good little course"


Brandon2765546's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice greens/fairways. Smaller course but seems to play longer then posted yardage. Multiple long (200+ yds) par 3’s also make it interesting


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 11/29/2017:

Thank you for playing Winter Pines Golf Club, Brandon. We appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you out here again soon.

"Lackluster day"


lessersol's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

So this was the worst round of golf I have ever been a part of. There was a father and his 3 kids. Didn’t matter if you were on the tee box, he would park on the fairway and just let his kids out to play the hole.

Not once showing any care about the people he just interrupted.

Worst part was I got stuck with them in front of me slowing the pace way down. Then one of his kids stole my ball! It was a bright red ball and pretty unique. Then my friend saw the kid using it, so I confronted the dad and he didn’t even apologize! Marshall’s, nope, guess They were busy in the pro shop.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Winter Pines Golf Club on 11/30/2017:

Thank you for playing Winter Pines Golf Club. We are sorry to hear that your experience was anything short of 5 stars due to the pace of play. We want golfers of all skill levels to feel welcome here but we understand that the pace of play needs to be maintained. Come back and see us again soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed