Santa Clara Golf & Tennis Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
230
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
94
3 Stars
77
2 Stars
27
1 Stars
16
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.8
Layout
3.8
Friendliness
3.8
Pace
3.5
Amenities
2.9
76.0%
Recommend this course
170 out of 229 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.7
19
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.1
Layout
3.9
Pace
3.5
Amenities
2.5
StaffFriendliness
3.7
78.9%
Recommend this course
15 out of 19 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.6
38
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.2
Value
4.0
Layout
3.9
Pace
3.6
Amenities
2.6
StaffFriendliness
3.8
81.6%
Recommend this course
31 out of 38 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6722
Slope 119
Rating 72.3
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Santa Clara Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6722 yards 72.3 119
Blue 72 6323 yards 70.6 118
White 72 5874 yards 68.4 113
White (W) 72 5874 yards 72.8 118
Red (W) 72 5459 yards 70.9 113
Scorecard for Santa Clara Golf & Tennis Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 72.3/119 550 392 365 200 556 387 352 138 379 3319 367 356 409 191 523 436 433 186 502 3403 6722
Blue M: 70.6/118 W: 75.2/128 524 377 335 187 535 370 319 120 360 3127 343 333 403 161 498 416 398 158 486 3196 6323
White M: 68.4/113 W: 72.6/120 510 342 321 172 495 329 299 97 329 2894 326 300 368 146 481 377 386 144 452 2980 5874
Red M: 57.0/87 W: 70.4/116 477 322 303 164 474 298 279 86 313 2716 306 283 311 113 446 348 360 137 439 2743 5459
Handicap 9 3 13 5 1 7 11 17 15 16 10 6 12 8 2 4 14 18
Par 5 4 4 3 5 4 4 3 4 36 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 3 5 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1987
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - $30 - $40
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Reviews

3.4
230

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 18
Watching the Game 13
Brunch 9
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 24
Undulating Greens 22
Elevation Changes 15
This course/club is great for:
Locals 31
Walkers 19
Beginners 16
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 36
Near Local Attractions 28
Near the Airport 22

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Just ok

GREENS were great putted true and very receptive. Fairways need some work. Roughs were terrible. Sandtraps pretty good

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 12/03/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are working on both the roughs and fairways. We recently applied a chemical to help the dormant grass stay green and more lush longer through the winter.

We are very proud of our greens and glad you thought they were in great shape.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course in great condition, guy in pro shop not so great

I’ve played here many times and the pace of play has that always been slow. I’ve played this morning and I was done in three hours and 25 minutes! Course conditions were great!, little chilly this morning with a 8 o’clock tee time. Greens were quick even with the morning dew. Person behind the cash register at the pro shop pretty rude, asked him a few questions about the course, and I got a snide remark. All in all was worth $25 and I come back again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 11/12/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and glad the pace was quick. We try to keep the course moving and it's great to hear it was fast the day you played.

I am sorry to hear our staff member was rude. I will speak with the teammate and address the issue.

If you would like to discuss further, please email me at santaclaragm@americangolf.com.

Once again, I'm sorry for the experience and hope to see you again soon and you have a great time with a fast pace to report.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Even the tee box's......

Greens were good

Tee box's still uneven especially the par 3, hole #4. That hole is always uneven. We pay enough to play the game and why don't you guys roll the tee box's like the green's.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 10/29/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty and taking the time to give us valuable feedback.

I will talk with the grounds crew and address the concern with the uneven conditions on the tee box.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 11/05/2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for the 4 star rating.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Most challenging putting greens in the Bay

Nice course layout with some of the hardest putting in the Bay. If your that scotch glass in office or living putting enthusiast. This course is for you. Well manicured greens. Compliment to the Grounds Crew

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 09/25/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5 star review.

We are pleased you find the greens challenging and in great shape.

We look forward to having you back soon.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great play for your buck

This course is very nicely laid out. A few blind shots though. Great pace and play for the price. I will be back.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 09/21/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 4 star rating.

Pleased to read you will back soon. Next time you will know where those "tricky" shots are and how to play them.

Best, General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 09/10/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 4 star rating. Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 09/08/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the excellent rating. We are very pleased you rate the course conditions as excellent and gave us a 5 star recommendation.

We look forward to having you play again soon.

Best regards,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 08/28/2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for playing Sunday. I'm sorry the pace was not fast enough. We had two slow groups we were monitoring and pushing along helping to keep pace about 4 1/2 hours. I also was out on the course managing pace of play and speeding up slower players.

Please let me know the next time you wish to play and we will keep an eagle eye out to ensure you have a quicker round.

Best,

General Manager

santaclaragm@americangolf.com

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

EDC. Every Day Course

I would call this my everyday course. simple fast cheap convenient

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 08/09/2018

HI EDC Guest,

We are very pleased to be your "go-to" course.

Please drop by and say hi the next time you play so I may thank you in person for your loyalty and kind review.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Charges

Me and my friends book for 6pm tee time, when my friends check in,.Kevin the staff at the counter, told to my friends can nit take their payment coz there's a tournament going on that we will nit be able to go out at 6pm. So my friends decided to go home. The golf course people charges my card for no show. And the truth is we all showed up to play. It's very disappointing. I called golf now but they told me that's their policy on no show. But the truth is we were there. I paid two players and just the two of us played.

Friendliness Poor
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 08/07/2018

Dear Guest,

We are sorry that there was some confusion with the tee time.

Our records show you had tee times at 6:00 and 6:07 and we checked in your players but one did not check in and play.

I sent you an email directly offering to make-up the round as a complimentary round the next time you wished to play. Please contact me as listed in that email at santaclaragm@americangolf.com and I will ensure we get you a comp round.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Sand

I actually love this golf course. My playing partner hit into the sand on the first hole and came out with mud all over his shoes. Thought it was weird, but then on another hole I was in the sand. There was about a 1/2" of sand and when I took my swing, a big chunk of mud came up and my ball went straight sideways.

Don't get me wrong, I will definitely play here again, but it would be nice to see them fill up the bunkers with some sand.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 08/01/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for playing and loving the course. I have discussed your feedback with our Superintendent. We will see about adding sand to the bunkers to make them more playable.

Thanks for the feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not dead yet

Although the event at Levi Stadium made getting to the course a real pain.. Checking with Google Maps or some other traffic program before you go is essential. Course is well maintained and after you play it once you're not worried about the fact that the t-shirts are blind cuz you know where you're going

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 07/24/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you coming back out to play again!

Good advice on the Google maps with the key item being entering the property from the westbound direction on Tasman. The City closes the eastbound direction from Great America Parkway on large event days. Let security know you are playing golf or tennis and they will let you pass.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 50 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

haven't played here in 5 years

I thought if there parking cars on the course it must be in terrible shape.But me and a buddy from work played here after work and it was great,not perfect shape of course but decent shape and relatively no one here,pace of play was great at 4 hours(on a work day)and course was fun after not playing here in so long.Definately worth playing if your not super picky and just want to shoot a game

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 07/14/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review and so pleased you had a great time and played quickly.

We definitely are open and look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Best regards, General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not dead yet

Everyone said this place was going to be flattened to become a parking lot for Levi's Stadium. Hasn't happened yet and won't happen for a couple more years . kind of a gem in the middle of the city. The big problem for the first time player is there's only the par threes that don't have blind tee shots. Everything dog legs left and right then if you don't know the course that can be quite a challenge.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 07/09/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming out to play. You are right. We are 100% open including on stadium event days. There are no dates for closing the property at this time so please support us by playing again. And the more times you play, the better you learn how to play those corner shots!

Best, General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Significantly Improved

I wrote a review of this course in April 2016 and stayed away for two years, but after work on Monday I decided to play a twilight round at Santa Clara, and I'm very happy to write it's vastly improved. The course was pretty empty, and we played 18 in 3:40.

My biggest criticism is on the 1st hole - basically it's not clear from the first tee where you should be hitting the tee shot. That is to say that the shape of that hole isn't clearly defined. There still looked to be some repair going on, and it's just a messy opening hole. After the first, the course did get significantly better. Greens were in good shape. Tee boxes really aren't level - it's weird that you should ever be teeing off on an uphill or downhill lie.

My criticism of the scorecards from two years ago still stands - there's no GPS, it's unclear how each hole is shaped, and yet nowhere on the scorecard can you see the shape of the hole. Instead, they take space with ads - which is tacky.

Fair muni at a fair twilight price. I recommend, with reservations.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 07/09/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming back out to play and for commenting on the improved conditions.

We are working to level the tee boxes so bear with us as we complete that work.

Regarding the scorecard, it does have the map on the back. Next time, please check with the shop and we will ensure you have the card with the course map. I will check our inventory to make sure we are only putting out the new cards.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best, General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun challenging putting greens

Well kept greens. The greensman does a wonderful job will course. Book early tee times to avoid back ups. Avoid Daves bar or whatever he calls it. Pricey and not inviting. Plus there is no cart person for mid game nurishment or hydration.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 06/27/2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for the great review and commenting on the greens. They are in superb shape.

While we don't manage or are affiliated with David's restaurant, I will pass on your feedback. And your concern that he doesn't run a beverage cart.

We offer drinks and snacks in the golf shop.

Thank you again for the review and come back soon.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 06/27/2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for the excellent rating.

We are sorry that the restaurant service is not up to par and I will pass the feedback to the management of that facility.

Please come back soon and enjoy our great golf conditions.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Santa Clara Golf Course - think twice

Very slow play. 10 minute waits (minimum) after finishing a hole and then teeing up the next hole. Not worth the money. Course in so-so shape. We went there to get some practice in and it turned out to not be worth it. We stopped after 9 holes.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 06/22/2018

Dear Rick,

Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry the pace was slow and that you had a No Show on your tee time. Dave, our Asst. General Manager, worked with you that day to issue rain checks for your 3 players for 9 holes and to grant you a comp round to make-up for the No Show. We hope you will redeem it soon and have a better experience.

Best,

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Course and Even Better Staff

Started to make this my after work spot and I have been loving it. Course has great value and has a great balance of challenging but fair holes. You can get bulk deals on range balls which is awesome and the practice facilities are always in great shape. The real seller for me though is the staff, they have always been nothing but friendly and extremely helpful. Definitely check this course out if you are in the area.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
santagm18
Commented On 06/07/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased to offer great range and golf facilities for everyone's use. We think our staff is excellent and it's very nice to hear our guests agree!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again.

General Manager

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Nearby Courses
Sunnyvale, California
3.6245294118
120
Sunnyvale, California
3.5555333333
11
Sunnyvale, California
3.8235294118
8
San Jose, California
3.2638833333
11
Santa Clara, California
4.0274058824
64
Milpitas, California
2.7160117647
330
Mountain View, California
3.2141705882
220
Milpitas, California
4.0937117647
195
Cupertino, California
3.9791823529
133
Los Altos, California
0.0
0
San Jose, California
4.1182
65
Cupertino, California
3.9015705882
209

Stay & Play Offers

$180 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 26, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
Perfect your swing on one of two golf courses at La Cantera Resort & Spa in the Texas Hill Country. Each course offers some of the most scenic vistas in the Texas Hill Country.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE