Santa Clara Golf & Tennis Club

3.2208000000 3.2 stars from 5 (201)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6704 yards
  • Slope: 118
  • Rating: 72.4
  • Layout


Year built: 1987
Architect(s): Robert Muir Graves
Type: Public
Greens: Bent grass
Fairways: Bent grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6704 yards 72.4 118
Blue 72 6329 yards 70.5 116
White 72 5918 yards 68.5 111
Red (W) 72 5492 yards 70.9 113

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.1 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 201 Reviews
5 stars:
11
4 stars:
82
3 stars:
68
2 stars:
25
1 stars:
15

recommend this course

146 out of 200 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions near the airport   Great for locals walkers beginners   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks watching the game brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good course"


minhnguyenhung's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways were in good condition, greens are nice and fast love it. The only thing missing is the cart girl. No beverage at all. We were really thirsty. Hope management can do somyabout this.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/30/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and compliments on the course conditions.

We would love to have a cart person but the restaurant, which is under separate management from the golf course, holds the concession and they do not want to offer on-course beverage service at this time. You are able to get drinks and food at the banquet facility. In addition, we sell water and candy in the golf shop.

Thank you again for the positive reviews of the course.

Best,

General Manager


"This coarse has..."


u5306857's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

been around for many, many years. 3+ decades ago I worked out in this area and never knew it existed. Funny how things are...you never notice things unless you take part in them.

I've been golfing for 1+ yrs and I must say most 18 hole courses put me through the wringer...this one was no exception. What I really like are the long drives.

I am looking forward to golfing there again...for the challenge!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/30/2018

Dear Guest,

Welcome to golf! It is a challenging, exciting and sometimes frustrating experience. And the great part is that every round is different even when playing the same course!

We are pleased you enjoyed golfing at Santa Clara and look forward to seeing you frequently. Ask about our frequent player program the next time you play.

Best,

General Manager


"A bumpy ride"


u455543569's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are in very good shape. However, the "cart paths", what few there are, are so rough and rutted that anyone with a lower back problem will want to walk and not ride this course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/30/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of the greens. We've been working very hard to keep them running fast and true.

We agree that the paths require attention and we are patching and filling as the weather permits.

Thank you for the feedback.

Best,

General Manager


"Strange course"


Kevin7809807's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Quite a few holes with no view of the flag from the tee. Makes it difficult to judge distances.

Only noted a 150yd marker throughout the course. It would be nice to see 200yd and 100yd markets.

The greens were cool and challenging.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 01/19/2018

Hi Kevin,

Thank you for you observations. I will check with our maintenance crew as for when the poles will be replaced. We have been re-painting them so we have a few out of service but I will get them back out soon.

Thank you again for the input.

Best,

General Manager


"Over price"


u5050881's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in really bad shape,fairways bunkers like gravel and the cart pad are like off road or dirt bike roads,not worth it the price they charge


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 01/16/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback. I apologize for your sub-standard experience. I've shared your observations with our maintenance crew so we can continue targeting improvements with course conditions including the bunkers.

We will continue working on the cart paths.

Please contact me directly at santaclaragm@americangolf.com if you would like.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

Best,

General Manager



EndoJamesK's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

I love to golf so I teed off at 737am. It was a cold day, high of 57, some breeze, cloudy, no rain. A perfect day to golf for 36 holes!

I got a good green free at www.teeoff.com and wanted to play 36 holes knowing that most municipal golf courses here will let you pay and play all day, paying extra if you get a golf cart.

Anyways, I hooked up with a twosome and we played from the blue tees, 70.2/116. It is an easy course according to the scorecard but it sure didn't play that way.

This course has a lot of elevation changes, doglegs, bunkers, and cart paths. I believe it was built over a landfill, but is a mature course. The front 9 is surrounded by many Silicon Valley company buildings and creeks, and the back 9 is a little more peaceful and has the feeling of being out of the way of the commercial zone. They removed some water hazards and made this course a little easier.

the course played fast today with fewer people because of the cool weather perhaps? No matter, I loved that I could play a round in about 4 hours, and ended up playing 36. Good to play with decent golfers who like to play, we had a good time.

The second round was decent but a little slower with more players or more challenging play? No matter, I love to golf so it can be fun in any condition. Still cool, of course, I still had fun playing with some nice guys, Mike and Ho, who were decent players.

The course was in fair condition when I played and that is a gripe as this course acts as the parking lot for the San Francisco 49ers when they play at home across the street at Levi Stadium, which is not a good thing for golfers wanting a more normal golfing experience. The golf cart paths are more often build for trucks and cars than golf carts so it is wider. You may hit into the greens with ruts once in a while. There is talk that they will close down the golf course and make it into a fancy residential and shopping centers, which our valley, unfortunately, needs badly, but I don't think it has been finalized yet. The other bummer is that the course snack bar and restaurant seem to be closed, which is most unfortunate when many people want food, beverage, and service. David's Restaurant has an open sign, but it was little ways away from the pro shop so I did not go so you may want to bring your beverage and food until they change this or if they decide to close the course??? We will see.

All in all, I love to golf so it was fun. this place has potential. I did not like that fact that the restaurant and snack bar where closed and, unfortunately, David's Restaurant was a tad too far given that I wanted a quick bite and beverage. I do see evidence of lots of geese droppings a la Shoreline GC, so I hope that will get addressed.

They do have a nice golf range and tennis courts if you like to play tennis. There is ample parking but I suspect you cant play when the 49ers are playing at home.

Overall, while this course has never been well kept up and I enjoy golf no matter what condition or climate, I have a hard time recommending it to anyone because I see the conditions getting worse-cart paths, course conditions, geese droppings, parking on the fairways, not cart service, no restaurant or snack shack. I gave it a 4 Star overall but I really don't see any solutions and it is inevitable that this place will become a fancy development in the near future. I hope I'm wrong.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/13/2018

Dear SantaClaraGM

Thanks for your kind updates on the development stories, the cart path, parking lot, play 365 days/year(are you able to secure parking if we play on game day?), the geese droppings and food/beverage challenges. Those are some tough challenges to be sure so I hope you do work it out.


Commented on 01/12/2018

Dear golfer,

Thank you for your feedback and positive review. I am happy to report that you are wrong in the very best way. There no plans at this time to close the course. And the course is not a parking venue for the stadium.

We are open for play 365 days per year including event or game days.

We are working on the cart paths. It is a constant effort. We also work on the goose issue daily as it too is a constant battle.

The contract between the City and David's restaurant has expired and David has consolidated his business into his banquet facility.

We are pleased you enjoyed your 36 holes and hope to see you again soon. Please help us spread the word that Santa Clara is open for business!

Best,

General Manager


"Challenging course"


ryanarcuri's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A fun all around course and layout. Greens are super challenging. Well maintained course. .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/30/2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive review.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

General Manager


"No wind = good times!"


Jefftrix77's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/02/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing Santa Clara without wind was the best way to play this course and very rare to find.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/07/2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback and rating. Glad you enjoyed the no wind conditions.

We hope to see you back soon - wind or no!

Best,

General Manager


"Good value, tired course"


JHarris50's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Fees with cart for weekday were ok, but course is tired and needs work. Greens we're good and staff is very good. Soft recommendation to play here


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/01/2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

We are pleased you are happy with the greens. We are actively treating the fairways to improve the color and conditions. Come back next week and you will see the difference.

Thank you again for recommending the property.

Best,

General Manager




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/07/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/11/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the excellent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your round and course conditions. I will pass your feedback to both our Superintendent and Golf Shop manager.

We hope to see you again soon and happy holidays.

General Manager



jimontenegro's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/07/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the good review. We are glad you enjoyed the course.

Happy holidays.

General Manager



tenaciousdan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course for the price. But very slow play at times. Good layout and not too tough.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/29/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the positive comments. We are sorry about the pace on the Friday after Thanksgiving. We did have marshals out managing pace. In addition, both golf managers went out to help improve pace.

We will continue to work hard to keep the course moving and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you,

General Manager


"Slowest round ever played"


u695050192's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the slowest round of my life Harv to wait 5 minutes to hihave any shot due to the slow played in front. No course marshal to speed up to let us pass. When I mentioned it to the pro shop had a super rude member of staff who played it on us when it is up to the course to contain sp er of play. What a waste of money playing there.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 11/29/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the positive comments. We are sorry about the pace on the Friday after Thanksgiving. We did have marshals out managing pace. In addition, both golf managers went out to help improve pace.

I apologize for our unprofessional response when you let us know about the pace. I will address it with our staff.

Thank you for the input.

Best,

General Manager


"Never play there again!"


sawman123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Had a 9:45am tee time with golf now. Got email saying that time was no longer available & was rebooked to 10:07. Got to course & they said they had been double booking times. The course was giving out the same times as Golfnow.. So instead of my original 9:45 tee time we ended up not teeing off until almost 10:45 & then it took 5 1/2 hours to finish round!

Secondly their food service is the worst I have experienced at any course in the greater Bay Area. We phoned ahead to order food because they are so ineffectual & slow at the turn. A lot that helped, after they told us the food would be ready, they didn't even have our order & knew nothing of it. We had to forgo food to keep our turn at the 10th tee!

So 5 1/2 hour round, hungry & thirsty on top it...NO THANKS...there's lot's of better choices then this poorly run establishment!!!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 11/21/2017

Thank you for the feedback. Please let me apologize for your poor experience.

We did not intentionally double-book tee times. It appears that a technical error between GolfNow's and our systems caused the problem. Unfortunately, we did not realize there was an issue until guest arrived. We apologize and if you will contact me directly at santaclaragm@americangolf.com, I will work with you to ensure you have a great experience next time you play.

Regarding the food, it is run by David's Restaurant and Banquet company, It is completely separate from the golf course and not under our management. I will, however, forward your concerns to David's management.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope you will contact me so we can ensure you have a great experience next time.

Best,

General Manager


"Horrible Starter"


ncybmh99's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This review is only about the starter/staff, not the course.

Arrived at the course around 6:30AM. Got the cart and drove towards the driving range area. Suddenly a very rude voice yelling out from behind: "HEY!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING!!! YOU CAN'T DRIVE CART OVER THERE!!!".

"Oh, I am sorry. I don't know that." I answered and turned around as quickly as I could.

"DON'T YOU SEE THAT SIGN", the rude guy (starter) continued yelling. "Sorry I didn't see it", I felt guilty. I really didn't know that because it was the second time to me to play here.

"WHICH GROUP ARE YOU WITH?" The tone sounded like to check if I had the authority to be here. "My tee-time is 6:52AM", I tried to be calm.

"I AM ASKING YOUR NAME, NOT THE TIME. YOUR NAME!!!"

"MY NAME IS XXXXX!!!" I was totally burned and yelled it back. Everyone around could hear my voice too.

Speechless. I wish I am the only one having such a horrible experience at a golf course, before the tee-off.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 11/21/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback. Please accept my apology for the way you were treated. I will speak directly with the starter about how he handled the situation.

It is not possible to match your screen name with the tee time so if you will contact me at santaclaragm@americangolf.com, I would be pleased to make arrangements for you to have a great experience at Santa Clara.

Thank you again for your feedback and I apologize again for your poor experience.

Best,

General Manager



u000004181925's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/21/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the positive review.

Best,

General Manager


"SC Perfect Weather"


gnhhuey's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Generally good condition, greens pretty gud shape. Though tee areas, fairways can be tough on the golf cart. great value this week.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/07/2017

Thank you for the review. We will keep working on the bumpy ride.

We are very pleased you had a good round, the greens were in good shape and you thought the course was a good value.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

General Manager


"Good value for your $$$"


chin9829467's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Originally I heard golfers were staying away from playing at Santa Clara Golf and Tennis Club but I do not agree with previous reviews. The staff management have turned this course around over the last 12 months with strategic pricing and maintenance of the overall course.

There is definitely more play than ever by at least henceforth. No doubt the word is getting around. Probably for my selfish reasons my review may bring more golfers on board. If it brings more play and pop to the course let it be. It deserves the attention that its currently acquiring.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/29/2017

Hi,

We are pleased you have been having a great experience playing Santa Clara. And thank you for your positive review. We have been working hard to improve conditions so it's nice to hear that our golfers are seeing and experiencing those improvement.

Thank you again and hope to see you and your friends back out playing and practicing soon.

Best, General Manager


"There is a flag out there."


lance9691's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Having never played course the the starter said stay left on the par 5. I hit right and could not see the flag. After playing this course you may feel better , but I hit so many blind shots. Course has many gopher holes and an ankle twist is to be avoided. Greens are small and well maintained, the fairways are crab grass and ball roll is minimum. Course was not busy and round was about 4 hours. Good value but course cart paths and course could use some attention.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/29/2017

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your round and felt the course was a good value.

We will continue addressing the gopher issue. It is an on-going item that we attend to daily. We also will continue working on the other items you mentioned.

Once again, thank you for the review and glad you had fun.

Best, General Manager


"Good place to practice a nice round of golf"


Jose8am's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I hope you give more maintenance as this golf course would improve a lot and more costumers would come back more often. I like this place.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/28/2017

Hi,

We are happy you enjoy the course and appreciate your feedback.

We will continue to work on conditions to improve the experience for all our golfers. If you have specific areas we can address, please drop the golf shop and ask for either the Assistant GM or the GM. We would be happy to talk with you directly.

Best,

General Manager



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed