Links at Sierra Blanca, The

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.2
126
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
2
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.1
Layout
4.5
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.8
86.8%
Recommend this course
118 out of 126 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.8
18
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.7
Value
3.4
Layout
4.4
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.6
72.2%
Recommend this course
13 out of 18 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.9
25
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.7
Value
3.7
Layout
4.5
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.6
80.0%
Recommend this course
20 out of 25 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6757
Slope 120
Rating 71.1
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Links at Sierra Blanca
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6757 yards 71.1 120
Blue 72 6308 yards 68.7 112
White 72 5861 yards 66.9 111
White (W) 72 5861 yards 71.3 130
Green (W) 72 4980 yards 66.0 119
Scorecard for Sierra Blanca
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Gold M: 71.1/120 375 460 432 514 299 221 546 120 412 3379 393 185 358 542 356 462 497 154 431 3378 6757
Blue M: 68.7/112 341 448 421 500 281 192 495 112 377 3167 364 172 332 526 305 425 479 138 400 3141 6308
White M: 66.9/111 W: 71.3/130 313 420 404 451 264 169 479 98 333 2931 342 158 305 487 276 412 466 107 377 2930 5861
Green W: 66.0/119 297 345 355 422 239 131 455 78 286 2608 276 91 245 374 235 339 405 91 316 2372 4980
Handicap 13 1 3 5 15 11 7 17 9 10 12 14 6 16 2 8 18 4
Par 4 4 4 5 4 3 5 3 4 36 4 3 4 5 4 4 5 3 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1991
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Jim Colbert (1991) Jeff Brauer (1991)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - mandatory May - October
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed Soft spikes only
Dress code Proper attire is required.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in New Mexico (2017 #5)

Reviews

4.2
126

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 13
Elevation Changes 10
Undulating Greens 10
This course/club is great for:
A Weekend Splurge 12
Locals 12
Seniors 11
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 21
Near Local Attractions 10

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 11/19/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four-star rating. We are glad you had a great golf experience at The Links at Sierra Blanca. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great job on maintaining

This is a. Low rainfall , high altitude area. They do an excellent job of keeping the fairways and greens in good shape., despite the herds of elk that love walking across the greens. Nice staff and really enjoyable course without crowds.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 11/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our our course conditions and had an excellent experience. Thank you for playing The Links at Sierra Blanca and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Humps and Bumps

Yes, it is a links course and it was a lot of fun. The staff was great, good carts, good tee markings, nice fairways, and just overall good course. It was a great day.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 10/04/2018:
Thank you for playing The Links at Sierra Blanca! We're thrilled to hear you had a lot of fun playing our links style golf course. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, carts, tee markings, and course conditions. Come back for another round soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Slow

I have a 3 handicap. The pace of play was horrible, and there were no marshalls. We skipped 2 holes on the front because of an extraordinarily slow foursome who would not let us through. We played 3 holes on the back, but finally just quit due to 6 (SIX!!!) groups on the 14th tee box, all being held up by a fivesome, who would not let anyone through. We called the pro shop, they came out and spoke to the fivesome, but the fivesome would still not let us through, and so out of frustration and not wanting to play a 6 hour round, we quit. Upon explaining, complaining in the pro shop afterwards, they did give us a raincheck for 9 holes.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 10/04/2018:
Thank you for playing The Links at Sierra Blanca. We sincerely apologize if your round was anything short of 5 stars due to the slower than normal pace of play. We're glad you stopped into the pro shop though so we could make things right with a 9-hole rain check. We look forward to exceeding your expectations next time you play here!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course had a lot of dry areas. Greens had been punched but not top dressed. Bumpy

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 09/21/2018:
Thank you for playing The Links at Sierra Blanca, Raymond! As our greens continue to heal back to 100% from the aeration, we hope you'll join us for another round soon. Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 09/20/2018:
Thank you for the 5 stars! Come back again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Links of fun

This is a links style course that Is laid out in mountains near Ruidoso NM. It was in very good condition considering they have had very little rain lately. Well maintained. Greens were far from being flat. Hard reads because of the hills. Challenging but fair. Fairways were cut well to allow for plenty of roll. Staying in the middle is critical because being in the higher altitudes makes it hard to breath if you have to walk up and down the hills much. I played well and shot an 83. That’s not bad for a 16 handicapper.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 09/18/2018:
Thank you for playing The Links at Sierra Blanca! We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words about our golf course. We're glad to hear you played well too! Come back again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Links at Sierra Blanca on 09/18/2018:
Thanks for the 5 stars! Come back again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 08/27/2018:
Thank you for playing The Links at Sierra Blanca! Come back soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Perfect weather
Used cart

Too many players at the Links in Ruidoso

Our tee time was delayed because there were not any carts available. The pace of play was horrible. We quit after 9 holes because it took 4 hrs. They are selling too many tee times and crowding the course. It seems as though no one is in charge or paying attention to the actual conditions on the course.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 08/27/2018:
Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent experience at The Links at Sierra Blanca. We will be sure to address the pace of play issues with our staff. We hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Great experience

Only got to play 9 due to thunder storm but would highly recommend playing this course.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 10/24/2018:
Thank you for playing The Links at Sierra Blanca, Ken! We're sorry to hear your round was cut short due to the weather but we hope you make out here again soon. We appreciate you recommending us!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Very Nice Course

Great course...friendly staff. We had a tee time at 11:40am...didn’t get on the course until 12:00...asked the tee time attendant why are the tee times behind...he stated due to over bookings through my Golf and the course booking system was down. Tee time attendant also was never provided an updated tee time list from the front office. Course was well kept and maintained. We didn’t get to finish 18 holes due to rain. I Caution other golfers not to book tee times after 12:00 noon because it rains like clock work during mid afternoon at this course. Nearly impossible to get an early tee time...you have to book weeks out just to get an early tee time.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Links at Sierra Blanca on 08/21/2018:
Thank you u239134693 for the five star rating and review from your recent visit with us! We apologize regarding the tee time bookings issue you experienced. Thank you for giving that feedback and we are always looking to improve for our golfers. Hope to see you again soon this season for another great round at Sierra Blanca.
Default User Image
SierraBlancaNM
Commented On 08/02/2018

Thank you u239134693 for the five star rating and review from your recent visit with us! We apologize regarding the tee time bookings issue you experienced. Thank you for giving that feedback and we are always looking to improve for our golfers. Hope to see you again soon this season for another great round at Sierra Blanca.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Worst experience

Had noon t time. Arrived 15 min early and was told by staff that the t times were running behind because they had no more golf carts. Staff refused to check me in and told me to come back in 15 min to check in. I returned 15 min later and was checked in. There were 4 groups waiting for golf carts. No carts came of the course until 1255. We were told they had 4 fivesomes playing a scramble and that what held everything up. At 1255 I went back into the clubhouse because I had a 530 dinner reservation and couldn't start what would probably be a 5 hour round after 1pm. I explained this to the staff and the clubhouse and they reluctantly agreed to let me golf the next day. I did golf the next day and the course is in nice shape. I had planned on golfing somewhere else the next day so I only got to golf once over the weekend instead of twice. The rangers at this course are not good at keeping the pace of play going. There we at least 10 of us waiting well over an hour 10 very unhappy people

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 07/31/2018:
Thank you for playing The Links at Sierra Blanca. We sincerely apologize for your experience. That is certainly not the norm. We're glad to hear you were still able to enjoy a round with us the next day though and we hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 07/19/2018:
Thank you for your 4 stars! Come back to The Links at Sierra Blanca again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Disappointed in condition of fairways.

Greens were nice and true but the fairways were in very poor condition. For the price they are charging it is not worth it. Have played there several times over the past few years and this was very disappointing.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 07/19/2018:
Thank you for playing The Links at Sierra Blanca. We appreciate your kind words regarding our greens as well as your feedback about the fairways. Our maintenance crew is working hard every day to make the necessary improvements. We hope you'll come back for another round soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 06/29/2018:
Awesome! Thanks for the 4 stars. Come back again soon.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Unique layout

Very friendly staff, nice course layout. The course has been hurt by a prolonged drought in the area, leaving the course in only fair condition. Other local courses have the same problem, but they discounted their green fees accordingly, not the Links at Sierra Blanca. The greens were especially soaking wet, they were covered with muddy footprints from prior golfers, and the bottom of the putter was covered with mud each time it was used. Many parts of the fairways were the same. There were no club cleaning implements on any holes, and about half of the ball washers were completely dry. Very disappointed in the condition vs cost. I would not recommend unless the cost was reduced or the condition improved.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 07/10/2018:
Thank you for playing The Links at Sierra Blanca. We understand the lack of rain is not ideal for many courses in the area and we appreciate your feedback regarding the value of our golf course. As conditions continue to get better we hope to see you out here again soon!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Convenient and fun

The Links at Sierra Blanca in Ruidoso, NM is a fun course to play and is easy to get to during visits to Ruidoso. The staff is friendly. The practice facility is decent-good range balls, real grass. We had a group of 13 and they were very accommodating. The snack bar did a nice job. Even though the area was very dry when we were there, I thought the course was in as good of condition as possible. If you want to play golf while in Ruidoso The Links is a great option.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 06/18/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and 3-stars! On behalf of our staff at The Links at Sierra Blanca, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you back again soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Outstanding course!

This is a great golf course! Challenging, beautiful, but dry! Pray for rain!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Default User Image
SierraBlancaNM
Commented On 06/13/2018

Thank you srm515 for the five star rating and review. We are also looking for the rainclouds to roll in. Hope to see you again soon this season!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from The Links at Sierra Blanca on 06/04/2018:
We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Nearby Courses
Ruidoso, New Mexico
3.8794117647
36
Alto, New Mexico
0.0
0
Mescalero, New Mexico
3.5486470588
43
Alto, New Mexico
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$180 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 26, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
Perfect your swing on one of two golf courses at La Cantera Resort & Spa in the Texas Hill Country. Each course offers some of the most scenic vistas in the Texas Hill Country.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE