Bell Bay Golf Club

4.3381941176 4.3 stars from 5 (40)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7037 yards
  • Slope: 144
  • Rating: 74.8
  • Layout

  • 761 Hwy 205, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, B0E 1B0
  • (902) 295-1333
  • (902) 295-1255
  • www.bellbaygolfclub.com
Write Review

Year built: 1997
Architect(s): Thomas McBroom (1997)
Type: Public
Golf Season: May 1 to Oct 31

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - $17.39
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7037 yards 74.8 144
Blue 72 6556 yards 72.5 140
White 72 6097 yards 70.3 135
White (W) 72 6097 yards 76.2 145
Gold 72 5684 yards 66.9 125
Red 72 5222 yards 65.8 122
Red (W) 72 5222 yards 71.0 128

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 40 Reviews
5 stars:
18
4 stars:
18
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

38 out of 40 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for walkers locals  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Always great"


Sean4769335's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is always in good shape. The greens after some dry weather are always fast and true and staff is awesome. The only bad thing is no clubhouse because if the fire last year but not much can be done about that.

This is always a great place to come play

I will be back

Sean


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Not all greens in play"


George8620202's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was upset to learn mid-round that the course had two temporary greens in play. Obviously I was not informed before booking, after booking or at check-in. Course was in fair condition otherwise fornearly June although some greens were patchy which was covered up via green spray fertilizer. I reckon it should be better in 2-3 weeks.

Staff was friendly although I felt the man receiving people in the parking lot was staring holes at me as I was getting ready in my vehicle after I arrived. My playing partners informed me that he had caught them loading their bags with off-course alcohol (which of course is not allowed). Just because some people try to break the rules, please do not assume that *I* intend to. Thank you.

Still not bad value for the money even though there were only 16 greens and the eye-laser holes in my windshield.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Bell Bay"


uLPRO4953LP's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Our visit unfortunately was on a day after torrential rains so the course was wet and spongy but we loved the layout, very playable. Facilities were temporary because of a recent fire but were adequate and staff were fantastic. We’d love to golf here again when the weather cooperates!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"This course is excellent"


fasteddie64's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

wow that's what I said ,course is in excellent shape fairways are like carpet its a bit forgiving for the high handicap .The scenery was fantastic if your in cape be sure to take bell bay on .Golf now did a great job had a great deal 44 $ tax in with cart for a 5 star course thanks golf now


I recommend this course


"Wonderful"


Jim5862463's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For this late in the season the course was wonderful. The day was perfect with nothing but sunshine. Great time.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"great course"


u000001017397's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We enjoyed the round although it was a bit slow

on the back nine. The weather was perfect and

with the exception of the greens being top dressed

the course was in beautiful shape.


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u1921160's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was a little wet only because of some wet weather earlier in the week.

No club house, hasn't been rebuilt since the fire.

Would be nice to have a meal and a beer afterwards


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Lovely course"


annburkholder's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lovely course, great layout, and especially the greens were in excellent not condition.

Too bad their clubhouse burnt down , we wish them best of luck once it is rebuilt and will go back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"divots"


u749019478's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was surprised they allowed me to play because of the wet conditions. The fairways we a disaster, divots not replaced unbelievable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"BellBay - sweet course in Cape Breton"


Sagej's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great shape- practice facility- views and staff. It will be even better when the club house is reopened...hope to play again soon...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000001017397's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


richcar367's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love playing Bell Bay staff is always curtious and very friendly. Lost their clubhouse to fire last year but still worth the visit


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Bell bay"


Brett7216062's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Awesome value, went on a day when rain was in the forecast so it wasn't busy and we finished in around 3 and a half hours (light rain for 4 holes), I don't think I'd pay their regular price green fee but anything under a $100 can is fair.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



u230513081's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the course is in great shape with some great views. Greens are very fast .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Couse is well maintained and scenery is nice"


snaggs63's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I play this course a few times a year and it's great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



optometry's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Day"


cooeye's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great afternoon at Bell Bay. Greens in nice shape and course playing tough but fair. The deal from Golf Now was fantastic!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Gem of Canada"


jsmacinnis's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the my favourite course in Canada. We played for $65 after 3pm and easily finished the round. A total steal at that price.

The only thing I'd change is to not ride a cart. Cart path only after a rainy day or morning means walking laterally across huge fairways to get to your ball. It adds a ton of time to the round. You're better to walk IF it's cart path only.

Gave off-course amenities 4/5 only because the clubhouse burned down a while back and they're rebuilding. They've done an amazing job considering.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



mikemacdougall17's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was great. Had a wonderful golf experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great day & a great course"


u112610775's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways were in great shape but the greens are a little spotty. Will be better later in the year. The staff are awesome and we can't wait to get back!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed