Loyalist Country Club

4.2916428571 4.3 stars from 5 (31)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6585 yards
  • Slope: 130
  • Rating: 72.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Loyalist Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6585 yards 72.2 130
Black (W) 72 6585 yards 78.8 144
Blue 72 6135 yards 70.0 122
Blue (W) 72 6135 yards 75.7 139
White 72 5651 yards 66.7 114
White (W) 72 5651 yards 72.7 133
Red 72 5038 yards 64.0 111
Red (W) 72 5038 yards 69.4 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 31 Reviews
5 stars:
16
4 stars:
10
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

29 out of 31 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good game"


Randy4759448's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the course. Great condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Loyalist Golf and Country Club review"


Gary1725312's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golfed this course in mid October. It was in great shape. The back 9 greens were recently aerated - but that is a necessary evil - to keep this course in great shape (for next year). Golfed my lowest round ever. The more advanced golfers should tee off from the blue or black tee markers. The yardage from the white markers were short. Will definitely play this course again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Worst staff at any golf course in the area"


Rthedorf's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

We have played this course for years because we enjoy the condition and the challenge of the course. Every time we play the course, we feel that we are inconveniencing the staff. This starts at the club house and includes the marshalls, with the exception of Ron Earl, who is always pleasant and supportive. I believe that this bad attitude starts with the general manager and flows through all the staff. Accordingly, this will be our course of last resort in the future unless the reception and attitude of the staff chances.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"great time"


u663323680's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

one of the best courses in the area. would go back anytime .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best Kingston Area Golf!"


BaraccoliObama's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Given the recent drought conditions around Kingston, Loyalist seems as if it's hardly struggled. Fairways, tee boxes, and greens are like soft carpet - probably the best maintained course around. The rough has been unwatered for some time as it was mostly dry, but I have heard that when the course is fully green the rough is some of the toughest around. Some bunkers lacked sand, but I was only in them a couple times that day. A couple tough bunkers exist if you're in them, the front bunker on 17 is a monster if you're ever in it. Course layout is excellent, it's not a long course (I play from the Blues, but Blacks are only 6400 yards) but the golfer who plans will find themselves playing a better than average game.

Aside from the pro shop staff (who was nonexistent for 15 minutes even when I asked one of the bartenders to find someone, then snotty when dealing with check-in...), everyone else was friendly on the course. The starter especially was a great guy to have conversation with.

Would definitely come back again, even without the GolfNow discounted price. One of the best courses in the Kingston area in my opinion (second only to Cataraqui...if you can get on).


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Expected Better"


u000001120098's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall Loyalist is a good golf course, greens are very receptive and were rolling at a good pace. However a number of little things throughout the course affect the overall experience. All bunkers throughout the course lacked sand, all players in my group found there was no sand on bunkers around the greens or fairway bunkers, for a course that has hosted a number of events and set within a great golfing community you would expect great bunkers.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Loyalist Golf Course"


romieskeat's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed my firsr game here and would definitely return.There were some challenging holes


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Loyalist Country Club"


hnkgoodland's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/23/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Another good day at Loyalist. Course is in excellent shape considering the lack of any rain for the past month. Staff is always professional & friendly. Entire township is inundated with "wild parsnip" so you have to be extremely careful when looking for a ball in the rough. Some of the white tee blocks are still under repair which makes some holes very challenging (18th hole).


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice layout"


dellwhit's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2016
Previously played Used cart Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Too many geese and what comes with them. Pace of play was very slow.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Staff"


strangen's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

he young man in the pro shop was extremely nice and helpful. The girl on the drink cart came around regularly and was vey pleasant. We really enjoyed our afternoon of golf at this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/03/2016

Hello! We wanted to message you and tell you how happy we are that you had such an enjoyable experience here at Loyalist! We are always working hard to make sure every player has a positive experience and it is great to hear the work is paying off! Can't wait to have you back!


"An Excellent Course"


kirkfield's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the most beautiful courses in our area with a good layout and challenging off fairway shots. Very well groomed with interesting lies--even the ponds are nice. Fast greens with suttle runs. You'll enjoy your game and the relaxing clubhouse afterwards. The verandah facing the pond on 18 is an ideal spot to rehash your PGA like shots while you enjoy a cold one with friends.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


Marc7629118's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the course. It is becoming too common to have someone in the proshop be in a terrible mood and almost seem annoyed with a non-member or non-local resident. Once you get past that its well worth the money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/06/2016

Hi Marc. I am very sorry to hear of your negative experience with the staff here at Loyalist. I wanted to let you know that we have looked into this issue and will be taking steps to ensure it does not happen again. I hope you have the opportunity to come back and we look forward to giving you a far better experience. We are glad you were still able to enjoy the course and your day.


"Wonderful day of golf"


u000007423628's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing here. It was a very enjoyable day of golf and can't wait to return and play again! Staff was courteous and welcoming. Course was very well maintained.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/06/2016

Hello! We are so glad to hear that you had such a fantastic experience at Loyalist. We look forward to having you back for another round and another great day!


"Great Course!"


u000007644345's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is always in fantastic condition from tee to green. Good value for the what you get. Front nine is a much better layout in my opinion. To many houses on the back. Love the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Enjoyable course"


DunleavM's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape and greens were quite fast. No real elevation changes on the course, but it makes very good use of water features. Signage to find the course from the road needs to be much better. Also, many of the bunkers had gravel mixed with the sand, which was not pleasant to play out of.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Excellent design"


august21's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is a well manicured oasis. We felt like pros even though we are duffers.Club house was impeccable .We will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Round"


Josh3721197's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As always, great conditions and course! Not sure that the staff were super happy working Thanksgiving Monday.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Conditions"


Philroberts43's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was short from the white tees yet it was in great shape. Really nice facility. Food was horrible and expensive. Ham sandwich with 1 very thin slice of ham and lettuce, on a hamburger bun and a Diet Pepsi $9.00 Very disappointing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Look for deals"


bendavejack's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great track. Got to play it the night before the CPGA pros played the Great Waterway Classic. It cost me $15 with a cart thanks to golfnow. I wouldn't say it's worth the $90 they would ordinarily charge you, but if you can get a deal, jump on it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Horrible Staff/Customer Service"


KingstonGolfer5's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2015
Previously played

Reviewed on

The course itself is fun and in great shape but to call in book a tee time is a terrible experience. When you call, pro shop staff answer the phone as if you interrupted them from something important and treat you like an inconvenience. They do not say thank you, do not smile, and are usually grumpy.

The attitude of this course is as if they were a private top 100 course in Canada. Need to realize this is not the case and start treating green fee players with respect and customer service.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/06/2016

Hello. We are very sorry to hear that you had such a negative customer experience - there is no excuse for an employee to make you feel that way. We hope that you are able to play here again and allow us the opportunity to give you a far better experience, beginning with the first phone call.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed