Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
495 Reviews (495)
5 Stars
227
4 Stars
217
3 Stars
35
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
10
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.3
Layout
4.5
Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.0
91.6%
Recommend this course
464 out of 495 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
169 Reviews (169)
5 Stars
94
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
8
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.4
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.6
94.1%
Recommend this course
159 out of 169 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
174 Reviews (174)
5 Stars
97
4 Stars
65
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
8
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.4
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.6
94.3%
Recommend this course
164 out of 174 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 7029 yards
Slope 133
Rating 73.6
Book a Tee Time at
Silver Lakes Golf & Country Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1993
Golf Season Apr 1 to Nov 30
Architect Robert Moote

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Single Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code No jeans, Track pants or short shorts allowed. Pants must have a zipper and pockets, shirts must have a collar.

Food & Beverage

Bar, Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Canada (2018 #20)
  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Ontario (2014 #16)

Reviews

4.3
495 Reviews (495)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 24
Patio Dining 14
Brunch 11
Course Challenges Include:
Narrow Fairways 39
Water Hazards 39
Bunkers 38
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 31
Walkers 26
Locals 20
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 39
In the 'Burbs 17
Convenient to the City 12

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Friendly staff always. Always enjoy golfing here.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Amazing course

I love this course, well maintained, lots of water traps very fun to play

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Walked
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
RYP
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Walked

Silver Lining

Potentially the last round for me in 2020 and a great place to carry me though to the Spring 2021. Staff were great and the course is just a joy to play...and i played well so great all around. See you in the New Year Cheers

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Beautiful Course!

Silver Lakes has it all......beautiful scenery, challenging holes and greens, multiple tee boxes, excellent staff and excellent off-course amenities. The only reason for one four rating for golf conditions is the greens were a little slow compared to their usual quick speed. This is to be expected as snow is due to hit next week and I am sure the Greens Department wants to leave the greens a little long to deal with the poor weather headed our way. Thank you Silver Lakes for an excellent time!!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Walked
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
2759532e-346a-5f80-bd5c-6e141b58446a
Commented on 11/12/2020

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

No autumn afternoon maintenance; leaves make course unplayable

Booked a prepaid Hot Deal tee time through GolfNow for 3:10pm for this record high 22 degree afternoon in November and drove 25km to Silver Lakes Golf, excited to play. This is usually a beautiful course however, today blankets of leaves covered the fairways and greens.

I played up until the 2nd green, having to search for my ball after each shot on the fairway/green and had to search for >5 minutes for my ball that landed a yard off the green and into a pile of leaves. At that point, after losing 2 balls on 2 fairways, I said enough was enough and picked up my ball to leave. I went to the pro shop to complain and showed pictures I took of the tremendous amount of leaves to a young girl working the counter. I told her I had a round booked for this Sunday as well and the amount of leaves on the ground make the course unplayable. She told me that I had to go through GolfNow as I booked through them, and they get 100% of the revenues from prepaid Hot Deals.

I get it that they cannot refund me any money because they didn't take it, but GolfNow isn't responsible for Silver Lake's course maintenance. How about a voucher for a future round? Or even a 50% off next round voucher? Nothing.

An old man behind the counter tells me that I have to understand that it's fall, there are a lot of trees on this course, and that their maintenance guys keep the fairways and greens in immaculate condition from 7am-3pm each day.

Well what about all the tee times after 3pm? They don't want to pay for maintenance for the duration of the day they operate but have no problem taking reservations and collecting green fees (when I booked this morning, there were plenty of tee times after 3:10pm that were not discounted prepaid Hot Deals.)

I tried contacting GolfNow, but they don't have live person to speak with...only a recording that tells you to cancel on app but app doesn't allow cancellations of prepaid Hot Deals or within 48 hours on regular bookings.

Yes the round was cheap but including tax and fees at $19 /hole played that's pretty expensive. This was a complete waste of time, money and gas. I left feeling angry and frustrated and immediately cancelled my Sunday tee time (ended up losing more money to GolfNow in convenience fees.)

Golfers Beware: if you plan to play an autumn afternoon round at Silver Lakes, be prepared to lose a lot of balls on the fairways and greens as it is covered with leaves because maintenance guys go home at 3pm.

Save yourself the frustration and play somewhere else like Bondhead.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
2759532e-346a-5f80-bd5c-6e141b58446a
Commented on 11/12/2020

Good day Wesley,
Sorry to hear that your experience wasn't top notch and that there were an extraordinary number of leaves on that day. We clear the golf course everyday of leaves and blow them off of all the greens/fairways but as you experienced on your visit there are windier days where the leaves continue to fall over the course of the day. As I'm sure you can appreciate we do not have blowers circulating around the course once golfers are out there as it would not be an enjoyable experience.
As you mentioned yourself we have a beautiful course and hope that you understand that the course conditions the day you visited were not the norm and an outlier as a result of a particularly windy day.
Thank you sir.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

No afternoon autumn maintenance: leaves make course unplayable

Booked a prepaid Hot Deal tee time through GolfNow for 3:10pm for this record high 22 degree afternoon in November and drove 25km to Silver Lakes Golf, excited to play. This is usually a beautiful course however, today blankets of leaves covered the fairways and greens.

I played up until the 2nd green, having to search for my ball after each shot on the fairway/green and had to search for >5 minutes for my ball that landed a yard off the green and into a pile of leaves. At that point, after losing 2 balls on 2 fairways, I said enough was enough and picked up my ball to leave. I went to the pro shop to complain and showed pictures I took of the tremendous amount of leaves to a young girl working the counter. I told her I had a round booked for this Sunday as well and the amount of leaves on the ground make the course unplayable. She told me that I had to go through GolfNow as I booked through them, and they get 100% of the revenues from prepaid Hot Deals.

I get it that they cannot refund me any money because they didn't take it, but GolfNow isn't responsible for Silver Lake's course maintenance. How about a voucher for a future round? Or even a 50% off next round voucher? Nothing.

An old man behind the counter tells me that I have to understand that it's fall, there are a lot of trees on this course, and that their maintenance guys keep the fairways and greens in immaculate condition from 7am-3pm each day.

Well what about all the tee times after 3pm? They don't want to pay for maintenance for the duration of the day they operate but have no problem taking reservations and collecting green fees (when I booked this morning, there were plenty of tee times after 3:10pm that were not discounted prepaid Hot Deals.)

I tried contacting GolfNow, but they don't have live person to speak with...only a recording that tells you to cancel on app but app doesn't allow cancellations of prepaid Hot Deals or within 48 hours on regular bookings.

Yes the round was cheap but including tax and fees at $19 /hole played that's pretty expensive. This was a complete waste of time, money and gas. I left feeling angry and frustrated and immediately cancelled my Sunday tee time (ended up losing more money to GolfNow in convenience fees.)

Golfers Beware: if you plan to play an autumn afternoon round at Silver Lakes, be prepared to lose a lot of balls on the fairways and greens as it is covered with leaves because maintenance guys go home at 3pm.

Save yourself the frustration and play somewhere else like Bondhead.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
2759532e-346a-5f80-bd5c-6e141b58446a
Commented on 11/12/2020

Thank you for the 5 star review pcauley. We are happy you enjoyed your visit!

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
2759532e-346a-5f80-bd5c-6e141b58446a
Commented on 11/12/2020

Thanks for taking the time to review our course mkrantzberg. We love 5 star reviews!

Nearby Courses
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Ontario
Semi-Private
3.7413882353
395
Sharon, Ontario
Semi-Private
4.4210647059
534
Gilford, Ontario
Semi-Private
4.0358058824
172
Sharon, Ontario
Public
4.2607176471
337
King, Ontario
Public
4.2018176471
138
King, Ontario
Public
3.6348823529
152
Sharon, Ontario
Public
4.2607176471
337
Sharon, Ontario
Public
4.2607176471
337
King, Ontario
Public
3.8854588235
106
King, Ontario
Public
3.9705882353
51
Keswick, Ontario
Semi-Private
3.9412
17
Aurora, Ontario
Semi-Private
4.3779529412
198

Stay & Play Offers

From $119
Valid dates: Sep 01, 2020 - Feb 28, 2021
The Las Vegas Paiute Golf Resort is proud to partner with MGM Resorts to provide you with an incredible Las Vegas trip.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE