Royal Niagara Golf Club - Escarpment Course

3.7705058824 3.8 stars from 5 (330)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 36
  • Length: 3533 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fee
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire must be worn on the golf course, driving range, and practice areas at all times (no tee shirts, tank tops, jeans, cut-offs, etc.).

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 36 3533 yards N/A N/A
Blue 36 3304 yards N/A N/A
White 36 3068 yards N/A N/A
Red 36 2729 yards N/A N/A
Green 36 2175 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 330 Reviews
5 stars:
77
4 stars:
155
3 stars:
59
2 stars:
26
1 stars:
13

recommend this course

257 out of 327 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers locals playing multiple courses   Challenges include bunkers forced carries undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u000004164653's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/15/2018

Thanks!



seanku8257's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/15/2018

Thanks



u000005414311's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



Raul2419413's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



Martinosandro's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Royal Niagara - Decent Bones...Needs some TLC"


tinkertinker's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played with my wife on a Sunday afternoon. We love the layout of this course. Course was wide open, which was great, though they can use the revenue from more golfers to invest in course maintenance. There was no cart service, so no food or beverages while on the course. Also, no washrooms except at the clubhouse... not ideal for female golfers.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u634024273's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



ROLANDROJER's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"not impressed"


DJL50GOLF's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First 9 good conditions , however 4 some behind us literally running to each shot ,always on our as, let them play thru , must have other commitments other than golf, second 9 a irate ,we were not told forget putting , terrible ,.. paid to much for a frustrating day


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 10/20/2017

We will let the proshop know about your experience. Thanks for the feedback


"Always Good"


seaner23's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Always have a good round of golf here , and hopefully always will. Greens were a little rough from people not fixing ball marks but that goes with the time of year I guess.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Ric1419917's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bring extra balls."


golfnutseb's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in great shape . Staff friendly . If you're not hitting the fairway your in trouble ! I just wish players would fix their ball marks .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course Condition"


u00005172392's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were furry. Traps not raked. Tee offs grass was long. It was 33degrees. No carts for water or water on course. Not acceptable


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Pro style greens"


u000006353709's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A good hot deal value, but be aware of the tricky greens where 3 putts (or more) are routine. Would give them a better rating except for poor visual cues on some holes, as well as my favourite golf course peeve, a lack of sand in most bunkers. If you design hard pro style bunkers, at least give us some sand to play from! And the tees were also in need of mowing on most decks. All in all, they are worth a play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Wandalee7's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Greens need some TLC"


GPeall's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice clubhouse and amenities. We played the Iron Bridge and Old Canal courses. Although there are several interesting holes and fairways are in good shape, I was disappointed with the quality of the greens. They had many ball marks and bumps and where spongy and slower than most courses I have played, making putting very unpredictable. A couple of sand traps were pretty firm as well.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great time"


pgawley's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course to get around and enjoy your day.Only problem was the electric golf cart died near the top of the Escarpment course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/18/2017

Thanks! Will have to investigate the cart!



wdodman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Royal Niagara"


u094857229's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape but the greens had a lot of ball marks that were not repaired from previous rounds.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed