Ford's Colony Country Club - Blue Heron Course

4.3173176471 4.3 stars from 5 (152)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6266 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 70.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire is required. No blue jeans, cut-offs, tee shirts or tank tops.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6266 yards 70.2 127
Silver 72 5695 yards 67.2 120
Bronze (W) 72 5178 yards 73.1 126

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 152 Reviews
5 stars:
71
4 stars:
60
3 stars:
13
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

140 out of 152 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for playing multiple courses wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include water hazards bunkers elevation changes  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great day in December"


rickronnie's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

The course was in very good shape, new greens are nice and rolled well. I only wish everyone would fix their dents. The greens were not making large ballmarks but only dents and most were not being fixed and you could tell the ones not fixed. Bunkers needed raking and a bit of care. Grass was dormant but the fairways were still pretty nice. There were a few low area wet spots from the snow melt I guess. The Pro shop was very helpful, starter was great and we always try to go into the bar after, great staff, good food and beer.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 12/19/2017:

Fantastic! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course conditions and that our staff left a great impression on you. We're also pleased that you enjoyed our menu and beer. Can't wait to have you back for another great day at Ford's Colony!

"Excellent Challenge"


u736915438's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The Blackheath Golf course is an excellent challenge for all levels. There is plenty of target golf and water hazards. The big defense for this course is the greens. They are very sculptured with few flat spots. If you come with your A game working you will score well. The course is generous enough to keep you in bounds, but will penalize errant shots into the rough. Lots of over water shots that are rewarding to the ego. Best to read the very thorough yardage charts handed out with the scorecard. If in doubt, play the white tees, you will still have a challenge.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 07/11/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We appreciate your review and we look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!

"Great"


Dreano's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Blackheath Course is by far the best. All fairways, greens, roughs, bunkers were in great condition. Pace of play was good. This course will be closed for a couple of days or a week or so for some renovations. The sister courses looked good but Blackheath is members course in this gated community and is very well kept. Greens will be punched 07/09 so give it a month to regrow. Would play this over GoldenHorshoe in Colonial section. Only bad thing and not really bad is there is no food station at turn at #9 so bring something to eat with you. Would be nice for them to set up a station for hot dogs or eats at #9 or #10


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 07/09/2018:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that our course conditions met your expectations and that you were able to play at a good pace. We appreciate your feedback and we can't wait to have you back again soon at Ford's Colony!

"Great track"


Ktray18's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really nice course with great holes

Greens fast and consistent

Fairways tight lies


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 07/16/2018:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We appreciate your review and we look forward to having you back again soon!

"Another Wonderful Experience"


u456436056's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Played Blue Heron today for the 1st time. Course was in very good shape. They had aerated the fairways not long ago BUT had no effect on play. Greens in great shape! Staff, starter, beverage gal (Lia) and ranger were FANTASTIC! Played round in 3 hrs and 45 minutes. Will keep coming back to Fords Colony and so should you!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 07/09/2018:

Fantastic! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We're also pleased that you were able to play at a good pace. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!

"Blown Away"


Erik3730234's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My buddy and me where totally blown away by this course and how well it is taken care of from tee box to green on every hole. If you get the deal like we did for $35 per player on here trust me it is totally worth it. This course as well as the other 2 at Ford’s Colony should easily be charging $60 minimal for this per $18. Thanks Golf now for the great deal we got for this course and even more so on July 4th.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 07/05/2018:

Excellent! We're thrilled that you and your friend enjoyed your first time playing with us. We're glad that you found us to be a good value and we can't wait to have you both back again at Ford's Colony!

"Excellent conditions"


Stephen6991624's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways and greens in excellent condition. Delightful layout. Several very interesting hole designs...will challenge your shot imagination!

Ford’s Colony has excellent food and terrific bag and starter staff.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 07/05/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that our course conditions met your expectations and that you enjoyed the challenge of our layout. We're also glad that our staff left a great impression on you. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!

"Wide Fairways and good sand!"


Stephen6991624's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Hawk Marsh course is a fair and forgiving layout, with wide fairways and excellent greens (except for the temporary green in Hole 1). There are some areas absent grass or eroded by all the recent rain, but very limited.

Fun course!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 06/26/2018:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We appreciate your review and we look forward to having you back again soon!

"The course had perfect greens"


hanpope's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was challenging, but fair. We will play there again


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 06/26/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and the challenge of our layout. We can't wait to have you back again soon for your next round!

"Great layout!!"


golfisgreat1234's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This was my first time playing the Blue Heron course. What makes this course great is it's unique layout. It requires you to think before every shot, especially off the tee. Driver is not the play off every par 4 & 5. Sometimes an irons is preferred and other times a hybrid or 3 wood. Also, your ball placement in the fairway is important based on pin location. Golf Courses that make you think and call for accurate ball striking are always more fun in my opinion!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 06/12/2018:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We appreciate your feedback and we can't wait to have you back again soon at Ford's Colony!


u395686131's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 05/23/2018:

Fantastic! Glad you enjoyed your time with us!

"Really nice course at great facility"


rickronnie's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is still growing in after cold spring but the fairways and greens were both in great shape. Would have like greens a bit faster but still good. Bunkers well raked. I have always liked the Blackheath layout. Played the blue/black combo and enjoy that you have to make many different tee decisions avoiding trouble. Pace was good even though we were a 2-some behind a 4-some. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Wish the grass part of range open. Enjoyed bar after round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 05/16/2018:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We're also glad that you were able to play at a good pace. We can't wait to have you back again soon at Ford's Colony!


Johnpeet's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 05/16/2018:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your round with us. We would love to hear more about your experience. Please email us at fordscolonycc1@gmail.com at your earliest convenience. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!

"Good not Great"


MShipway88's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Bag drop guys were great. Starter was rude. I was over his talk after the 1st minute. Gave the pace of play lecture which i assured him as a twosome we were good. We made it to the 3rd hole in 12 mins only to run into 5 elderly woman retrieving balls from the water standing around talking. Course was in rough condition. Due to slow play we joined with a member single who was extremely helpful. Overall i would recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 05/09/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and that the member you joined was helpful. We're sorry that the pace of play was slow and we appreciate your feedback. We hope to have you back again soon!

"First Class Presentation"


u00000576841's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played Blackheathe. Stunningly beautiful. The water influence is calming, not intimidating. We enjoyed everything about this well conditioned 'out there' experience. This is a must play when in Williamsburg.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 05/09/2018:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time on our course and we can't wait to have you back again soon!

"Very friendly"


u000004213753's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

WeWent as a group of 4, there were several golf marshals throughout the course to monitor the pace of play.Very welcoming staff and the pro shop had the most variety of women’s wear that we have seen in Williamsburg area, having done five courses so far.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 04/18/2018:

Wonderful! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We're also pleased that you and your group were able to play at a good pace. We look forward to having you back again soon at Ford's Colony!


u000005897251's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 04/18/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that our course conditions met your expectations and we appreciate your review! We hope to have you back again soon for your next round!

"Very Enjoyable course"


itom212's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

We played the Marsh Hawk course on a Friday morning. It was our first time at Ford's Colony and we were quite disoriented, so we got to our tee box late, joining up with our group on the first green. Other than that the round was great! The course conditions were great for the time of year. The greens and fairways were in great shape. Unfortunately for me, I found the roughs to be in great shape as well. The layout was very challenging, but fair. The pace of play was great for as many golfers were enjoying the course. We found the staff to be quite helpful in spite of our unfamiliarity with the course. I highly recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 04/18/2018:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your first time playing at Ford's Colony. We're glad that you enjoyed the challenge of our layout and that our course conditions met your expectations. We're also pleased that our staff left a great impression on you. We can't wait to have you back again soon for your next round!

"Spring was a little late to Southern VA"


wlippin's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fords Colony Blackheath- was an excellent design, a lot of water on 14 holes, very playable however, and multiple tee boxes so you can attack the water holes at your golf ability. For some reason spring is slow in coming to VA & northeast in 2018 the trees were flowering(nice) but the Bermuda was still dormant and matted due to previous winter rains & snow. This must be a true gem when all greened up and flowering, conditions not bad for winter golf and 58 degrees kept the crowds down so we finished in 3 1/2 hours (2some) and had a real nice track to ourselves most of the round. Will play again when I return to Williamsburg area, they also, have 2 other nice courses at Ford's Marsh Hawk & Blue Heron, Great clubhouse & grille lots of member activities.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 04/11/2018:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and the challenge that it presented. We're also pleased that you were able to play at a good pace. We look forward to having you back again the next time you are in the Williamsburg area!

"Great Round"


Michael1378771's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I and two buddies got paired up with a club member. The member was a great guy and all 3 of us really liked the course. Happy hour at the grill also great


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 04/02/2018:

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and the member you were paired with. We appreciate your review and we hope to have you back again soon for your next round!

"Wet day on a beautiful course"


maajosh1's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

We 3 seniors loved this course and think it is the premier course at Ford's Colony.

Cart path only and wet and slightly cold kept this from being the perfect round.

Very friendly staff and good pace of play made for a very enjoyable day!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Ford's Colony Country Club on 03/13/2018:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your round with us and that our staff left a great impression on you. We can't wait to have you back again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed