Black Mountain Golf & Country Club - Desert/Horizon Course

This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
2.3
350 Reviews (350)
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
125
3 Stars
75
2 Stars
54
1 Stars
53
Conditions
1.9
Value
3.0
Layout
3.2
Friendliness
3.7
Pace
3.9
Amenities
2.3
23.4%
Recommend this course
211 out of 350 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
1.9
16 Reviews (16)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
7
Conditions
1.5
Value
2.9
Layout
3.1
Pace
4.1
Amenities
1.8
StaffFriendliness
3.5
6.2%
Recommend this course
1 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Style Traditional
Par 72
Length 6556 yards
Slope 132
Rating 70.7

Editor's Note: The Desert nine was closed in 2013. Check the Black Mountain Golf & Country Club listing for the remaining 18 holes.

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6556 yards 70.7 132
White 72 6148 yards 69.0 128
Legend 72 5484 yards 65.9 107
Legend (W) 72 5484 yards 71.5 115
Red (W) 72 5241 yards 70.0 113
Scorecard for Desert/Horizon
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 70.7/132 410 150 360 380 400 155 510 400 530 3295 352 505 176 544 365 404 312 170 433 3261 6556
White M: 68.7/125 W: 72.9/123 380 135 330 360 365 140 470 360 500 3040 336 486 151 524 355 393 301 155 407 3108 6148
Gold M: 66.0/108 W: 71.5/115 334 104 294 308 323 124 419 328 429 2663 331 457 142 465 321 368 288 123 316 2811 5474
Red M: 64.7/115 W: 70.0/113 330 90 300 290 305 95 400 310 420 2540 307 447 135 451 311 361 280 113 306 2711 5251
Handicap 5 17 9 1 11 13 15 7 3 6 12 8 2 14 10 18 16 4
Par 4 3 4 4 4 3 5 4 5 36 4 5 3 5 4 4 4 3 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1963
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

2.3
350 Reviews (350)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 21
Watching the Game 8
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 42
Undulating Greens 20
Water Hazards 12
This course/club is great for:
Locals 43
Seniors 31
Walkers 18
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 31
In the 'Burbs 25
Worth the Drive 20

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Golf Now Embarrassment

Course is closing on the 25th, but Golf Now advertised it as nothing strange. Embarrassment,, sad deal for the course for sure, been around for 60 years os so, but Golf Now needs to do a better job of monitoring what they are selling.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 10/30/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Closing Nov 25, 2018

This course is officially closing Nov. 25th, and it seems, to their credit, they are trying to at least maintain the greens until closing. Not much else can be said here except the course will continue to deteriorate over the next few weeks, and it's already pretty rough.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fairways need care

The fairways and tee boxes were in lousy condition. Not much grass.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 11/02/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Black Mountain Golf & Country Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

What gappened?

Played at Black Mountain 3 or 4 weeks ago. Love the improved conditions of the course. Today the course was dried and fairways in poor condition. What happened?

Conditions Poor
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 10/19/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Black Mountain Golf & Country Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Don't play , it's closing soon.

Too bad housing developer will bull doze the course. Once upon a time it was a very good 27 hole track. Other reasonable cost las Vegas course options are plentiful....

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 10/05/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Black Mountain Golf & Country Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

You get what you pay for!

My twosome paid $40 total for our round. The fairways and yes boxes need some serious TLC.
The greens were in very good shape. My impression was a course that has seen its glory days go by.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Black Mountain on 10/03/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Black Mountain, in the Henderson area. We appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years but are very sorry to hear your recent experience with us may have been poor due to the course conditions. We greatly value your feedback as we work towards any necessary improvements, and hope you will notice some of these improvements during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Maybe Once Upon a Time

For less than $20 it was a great value. The greens were actually pretty good. However, the fairways and tees were dried out with little grass. I’m sure back in the day it was a terrific course. Now it is a budget place with not so great course conditions. The staff was terrific - just a few of them doing it all.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 09/27/2018:
Hello, on behalf of the Black Mountain Golf & Country Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good shape

Course is getting better. Greens are in good shape and fast. Challenging.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Poor course condition

Course maintenance of tee boxes and any other manicured area is non existant. The greens are great though. Pro shop is closed, check in at the bar. I suspect the course will be closing soon.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 09/13/2018:
Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Black Mountain Golf & Country Club. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Clark County area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 06/11/2018:
Here at Black Mountain we are always looking to improve and appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the condition of the course, but we do appreciate that you liked our greens. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 06/07/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the condition of the greens. We can assure you our staff works tirelessly to keep the course in tip-top shape!
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Just seemed like the course is getting ready to shut down. For being early in the season, the grass is dry

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 06/04/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the condition of the greens. We can assure you our staff works tirelessly to keep the course in tip-top shape!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Stay away - it's a dirt track

I hadn't played this course in several years, but the price was good so I thought I'd try it. Bad move...

The course is not being watered properly - even the tees were dead grass and dirt. The only bright spot were the greens - they are in great shape. However, there is almost no green grass to be found anywhere else.

Whoever owns this course is trying to cut costs everywhere. There is no real pro shop, and they don't sell new balls according to what I heard the bar and grill employee (who doubles as the prop shop guy and tee time checker) tell another golfer.

I don't see this course staying in business much longer if they don't start watering it.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 05/31/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review. We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff at Black Mountain Golf & Country Club and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Golf after the Apocalypse

This was the worst course I have ever seen - and I've been to North Dakota. The entire course was dead grass except for the greens. It cost $9 but I should have given that money to a homeless man near the entrance.

I won't go back unless I become wheelchair-bound. The dead grass created a nice, smooth surface for wheels.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 05/30/2018:
On behalf of the Black Mountain Golf & Country Club staff, we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Not the best I have played

Price was very good, we thought. Upon arrival, we noticed the fairways were basically semi-desert. Greens were okay.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Desert and dry

I have played this course when they had three 9 holes. It was a great course and shape was good. I go back once in a while and this place is a last resort stop if you can’t find a place to play. The staff is amazing. The course is another thing. Dead the grass is so dried out that it looks like dust flying from the cart when driving. I do believe they are closing this place so that may be the reason but it’s been this way for a while. Never really in great shape. If you pay more then 20 bucks get your money back. If closing then it’s sad to see this place go.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 05/29/2018:
Hello James, on behalf of Black Mountain Golf & Country Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

they are closing

Course was dry, they will be closing it in June....

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 05/15/2018:
Hello, on behalf of the Black Mountain Golf & Country Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Life support golf course

Course is dead, not sure why it’s still open, as everything is dead.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 04/30/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the condition of the greens. We can assure you our staff works tirelessly to keep the course in tip-top shape!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Sad times

It's to bad they are closing. Without water the course is nasty dry. The staff were awesome and enjoyed everything else

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country on 04/27/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff at Black Mountain Golf & Country Club. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the golf experience that you deserve.
Nearby Courses
Henderson, Nevada
2.0857142857
6
Henderson, Nevada
4.3772529412
688
Boulder City, Nevada
4.9558823529
14
Henderson, Nevada
4.3406764706
344
Henderson, Nevada
4.3552588235
195
Henderson, Nevada
5.0
1
Henderson, Nevada
3.2539470588
326
Henderson, Nevada
4.4081470588
73
Las Vegas, Nevada
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$199 Starting price
Valid dates: May 23, 2019 - Jun 30, 2019
2 Nights lodging at the Best Western Plus of Santee (or comparable lodging partner) and play 3 Rounds of golf on Santee Cooper Resort’s two courses.
Stay and Play
Stay & Play in Golf’s Little Big Town!
$466 Starting price
Stay and Play
Summer Golf Getaway in Santee!
$240 Starting price
Stay and Play
Come play in the Olde English District!
$576 Starting price
Stay and Play
Summer Special in Greenville, SC
$554 Starting price
500 Greenway Rd, Henderson, Nevada 89015, Clark County
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE