Black Mountain Golf & Country Club

3.1421235294 3.1 stars from 5 (309)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6579 yards
  • Slope: 124
  • Rating: 70.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6579 yards 70.6 124
White 72 6279 yards 69.2 121
Legend 72 5681 yards 65.9 109
Legend (W) 72 5681 yards 72.5 118
Red (W) 72 5319 yards 70.2 114

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.2 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 309 Reviews
5 stars:
43
4 stars:
123
3 stars:
70
2 stars:
42
1 stars:
31

recommend this course

209 out of 308 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals seniors walkers   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Memories"


dgwoods13's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have alot of great memories of this course, it is sad to see this course fail. The greens are excellent and fast. The only real problem is they did not over seed the fairways. However, you just play winter rules, works fine. Had a great time and for the price on sat of $20.00 you can't beat it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Black Mountain"


Greg7608503's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Course is in pretty rough shape with lots of dead grass and weed. Greens were fairly decent and ran true. Reasonable layout and staff was friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 02/13/2018:

Hello Greg, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Black Mountain Golf & Country Club, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we hope this improved your overall experience with us. Thank you for your choosing our course, in the Henderson, Nevada area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"For the value golfer"


temporaryusername's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Everything lacked in quality, but the staff were very friendly. They stayed calm although they ran out of carts on a busy Saturday. The course didn’t have any grass. Fairways were dried up and the rough was dead crab weed. One positive is that the greens were kept in decent condition. It’s okay for the price.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 02/06/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Black Mountain Golf & Country Club, in the Henderson, Nevada area. We appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years but are very sorry to hear your recent experience with us may have been poor due to the course conditions. We greatly value your feedback as we work towards any necessary improvements, and hope you will notice some of these improvements during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Brown!"


Dominick6635065's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Brown with patches of crabgrass! As of Sunday no longer serving food, no cart person on course! This should be a $10 practice round course, or where the hackers go!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 02/02/2018:

Hello Dominick, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Black Mountain Golf & Country Club, in the Henderson, Nevada area. We appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years but are very sorry to hear your recent experience with us may have been poor due to the course conditions. We greatly value your feedback as we work towards any necessary improvements, and hope you will notice some of these improvements during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 02/01/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. We still hope that you enjoyed your round. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are always looking to improve and would welcome some feedback.

"Greens like ice"


u803303926's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways dry for this time of year but the greens were firm and very fast but some pars and a birdie had a great time.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"stay away"


Erik7760156's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

please dont play this course. $45+ fee was waaaaaay to much. $10 would be too much. no grass, all dormant, supposedly. gray dead grass and ugly.

saw the bev cart at the clubhouse when we teed off and again when we were at the clubhouse on the turn-not once on the course. when i called to inquire about the bev cart, was told she was no longer on the course- at 2pm.

poorly ran and lousy establishment


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 01/30/2018:

Hello Erik, thank you for taking the time to review our course,Black Mountain Golf & Country Club, in the Henderson, Nevada area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.

"Dead fairways"


jsnorm1977's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They let the grass die. The course is yellow. I guess they don’t want to spend the money to water because the course is closing. I didn’t replace any divots


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 01/30/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Black Mountain Golf & Country Club, in the Henderson, Nevada area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.

"Decent Golf Course"


u093869457's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have golfed here several times before. Greens were in good shape, fairways were dry for the winter even though we just had a record rainfall two days before. Had an enjoyable round. Staff was very friendly. Would recommend the course for the money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Do not recommend"


ReedMNelson's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/22/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Course condition was very poor. It almost seems the course is about to go under. Course was mostly brown (no over seeding with rye). Greens were littered with pitch marks. There was no sand in the sand traps. General upkeep of the course was poor. Cart paths were crumbling and there were numerous items that needed attention. My mom and I were able to play it for $10 each due to a hot deal. Even at that price, it was barely worth it. The only positive thing I could say was the pace of play was great as there were very few people out there. We played in 3.5 hours. Reasonable price on Michelob Ultra beer ($2 a can). Staff friendly enough.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain on 12/26/2017:

Hello Reed, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Black Mountain in the Las Vegas area. We're very sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best conditions on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback regarding the greens and cart paths so we may work on any future improvements. However, we're glad you and your mom were able to have a smooth, quick, round and a positive experience with our staff. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope we will have an opportunity to improve your next round with us.

"Nice course"


Wayne8993323's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course and played fast. Fairways were a little brown in spots but greens putted well and had fun.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



tgoingplaces's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 12/18/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Black Mountain Golf & Country Club in Las Vegas, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see the course may not have been in the best conditions on the day of your round and that your round may have been affected by a slow pace of play. We appreciate your feedback so we can work towards improvements for your future experience with us. However, it looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff so we hope this improved your recent round. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we hope to see you again soon.


franklin1201898's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain on 12/04/2017:

Hello Franklin, thank you for taking the time to review us, Black Mountain Golf & Country Club. We're very sorry to see that you may not have had the best customer experience with us recently, and any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for golfing with us in the Las Vegas area, and we hope to see you again soon.


Rbolivar's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in winter condition, some dead grass of the failrways.

The greens had a lot of sand traps on approach which made for some challenging shots


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Not as advertised"


spiccia's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Golf was in poor condition. What grass they had was burned out and poorly maintained. Cart paths were not well maintained and course was not well marked.The greens were in good shape. Teed off 20 minutes later than scheduled time and pace of play made for a five hour round.

Staff was very nice and helpful.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 11/28/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Black Mountain Golf & Country Club. We're very sorry to hear you may have had a poor experience with us recently due to the course conditions and slow pace of play on the day of your round. We greatly appreciate your feedback so we may work on the necessary improvements for your future experience with us. However, we're glad our staff provided a friendly and helpful experience for you. Thank you for golfing with us in the Las Vegas area, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Big Detraction"


Boone007's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No alcohol on course? Really? In case you guys weren't aware, this is Las Vegas.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course



u000003793522's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 11/27/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Black Mountain Golf & Country Club in the Las Vegas area, and for the 3 stars. We're glad to see you had a smooth round and a friendly experience with our staff. Any additional feedback is appreciated so we may improve your future experience with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Becoming my favorite"


RBARNHARDT22's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff is always very friendly and polite. They accommodate anything you need. Whether it's the pro shop or the bar restaurant area, everybody that I've ever encountered there is always extremely friendly and very helpful. That is one thing I appreciate and look for so much in a golf course is the staff being nice and accommodating. I golf a lot and I fully see what it takes to work at a course! So this course I love it, appreciate the staff and will continue to come back as much as I can! The course itself is beautiful! With beautiful views of our beautiful valley! The greens are very well kept, so beware can be a little fast! It's fun to play for sure. Only thing I would like to see is maybe more of a Marshall going around, just once in awhile when it's super busy stacked. Just to keep things flowing. I feel like with how the whole course is set up with two distinct 9s, that it can get a little frustrating when things get backed up. If there was a marshal or just employee to go around and check on things and then let the golfers know what was going on, group wise, and stuff would help alot. Oh and the hot dogs are delicious! The beautiful ladies in the bar/food area are so sweet! Also I must say the gentleman that works in or manages the pro shop is so so wonderful! Thank you and can't wait to come play again!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"drying up"


SLOflipo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

fairways are browning but greens are still good. pace of play was good finished in less than 4 hrs. Staffs are nice and friendly. it’s a good golf course to practice your game.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Black Mountain Golf & Country Club on 11/16/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Black Mountain Golf & Country Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that the fairways may not have been in the best shape when you played, but we are glad to hear that you still enjoyed the greens and that our course was good practice for you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for choosing our course, in the Las Vegas area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Black Mountain"


u6241858's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course in the heart of Henderson. Really nice staff and they usually keeps a nice pace going on the course. The greens and fairways are always in excellent shape. This is one of my favorite backup courses we play locally when we need a break from our regular course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed