The Club At Viniterra

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
410
5 Stars
212
4 Stars
156
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
6
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.4
Layout
4.6
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.3
92.0%
Recommend this course
386 out of 408 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.2
45
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.3
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.2
StaffFriendliness
4.3
84.4%
Recommend this course
38 out of 45 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.3
82
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.4
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
4.3
90.4%
Recommend this course
75 out of 82 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7496
Slope 142
Rating 75.2
Type Semi-Private
Situated between Richmond and Williamsburg, the Club at Viniterra sprawls across abundantly wooded hills. There is no shortage of elevation changes on this Rees Jones and Greg Muirhead-designed golf course. There is a difference of as much as 70 feet from the tee to the green on most of the holes. When combined with the mature trees, the result is a tough layout that demands accuracy. Thankfully though, there are not many water hazards to contend with but there is strategically placed bunkering throughout. The golf course also provides a scenic round with working vineyards running alongside the lush fairways. In addition to being challenging, the Club at Viniterra prides itself on their environmentally sensitive practices. The golf course saves as much as 80 percent of the water used on traditional courses thanks to the use of a drought-resistant grass hybrid.
Book a Tee Time at
The Golf Club At Viniterra
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7496 yards 75.2 142
Blue 72 7087 yards 73.1 137
Green 72 6698 yards 69.8 129
Green (W) 72 6698 yards 76.2 139
White 72 6117 yards 71.4 133
Gold 72 5504 yards 68.7 127
Gold (W) 72 5504 yards 74.9 136
Burgundy (W) 72 5122 yards 71.1 128
Pink (W) 72 4625 yards 67.9 121
Scorecard for The Club at Viniterra
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 76.0/143 570 489 429 560 455 202 440 188 438 3771 444 427 206 472 428 612 163 400 573 3725 7496
Blue M: 74.1/139 551 463 411 543 436 190 395 170 421 3580 418 413 188 439 414 559 148 381 547 3507 7087
Green M: 72.3/135 527 428 389 483 420 183 381 146 404 3361 382 400 175 417 373 559 141 364 526 3337 6698
White M: 69.6/129 W: 76.1/138 507 377 309 467 405 172 337 126 359 3059 382 326 137 329 354 559 127 340 504 3058 6117
Gold M: 66.9/123 W: 72.6/130 477 377 309 444 294 106 322 97 261 2687 339 308 124 329 305 488 112 340 472 2817 5504
Burgundy M: 65.6/119 W: 71.0/127 439 377 293 400 294 81 227 72 248 2431 339 291 114 329 305 475 84 322 432 2691 5122
Pink W: 67.3/119 380 254 297 297 291 106 229 94 260 2208 226 291 115 260 303 406 104 325 387 2417 4625
Handicap 13 1 9 7 3 15 11 17 5 8 10 16 2 4 6 18 14 12
Par 5 4 4 5 4 3 4 3 4 36 4 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 5 36 72
Handicap (W) 5 11 15 3 9 1 17 7 13 8 2 6 4 10 16 14 18 12

Course Details

Year Built 2009
Golf Season Year round. High Season: April 1st – October 31st
Architect Rees Jones (2009) Greg Muirhead (2009) Wadsworth Golf Construction (2009)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Single Allowed Yes
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire. No denim allowed

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.3
410

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 71
Elevation Changes 57
Forced Carries 48
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 58
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 42
Locals 37
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 64
Convenient to the City 17
Near the Airport 16
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

How Slow Can You Go

I have played Viniterra 4 times. Lovely golf course in very good condition. Pace of play today was absurd.

Front nine took two hours 45 minutes to play. When I made the turn, there were- counting my group - five foursomes on the tenth hole

One group near the green, one group in the fairway, one group on the tee box, and two foursomes standing by.

Pro Shop was notified, but never saw anyone come out to move folks along. After 4 hours on the course and only completing 13 holes, decided that I had enough for the day.

The pace of play for my previous round at Viniterra, on a Thursday, was not as slow, but still took 5 hours. Again, a nice course, but pace of play is not what one might expect on such a quality course.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Advanced Players Course

The course is picturesque but extremely hilly and challenging for the beginner to intermediate golfer. Too many hills and sand traps. Also, very confusing around the parking lot, check in and finding way to first tee. It needs more directional signs. The distance between holes is long and definitely not a course that can be walked. The price was much too high. The only positive attributes about this course are the great, friendly staff and decent sandwiches. I will not be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 100 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

One of the Best Rees Jones Designs Out There

From the proper tees, the course is not extremely difficult. The difficulty comes in the length. But the fairways are generous and well maintained. They're building a new clubhouse currently, so that should help with "atmosphere" however you define that; doesn't effect my review one way or the other. Good variety in the holes, very good conditions, very scenic. Top quality and certainly recommended.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Wow! What an Improvement!

I heard the course was in rough condition in May, but it has come back! The course was in excellent shape from tee to green. The fairways were in superb condition, as were the greens...and very fast. The fairways are generally wide, but you still have to evaluate if mounding or slope will make your ball take a bounce. The course is a challenge, because you have to look at each hole and strategically position your shots. If you just grip-it-and-rip-it, you're going to get in trouble pretty fast. There are lots of trees, extreme rough, and slopes that fall away from the fairways and landing areas. The greens are generally large, but there are some subtle (and not-so-subtle) undulations. Bunkers had nice sand, but there are bunkers and bunker complexes strategically placed. There are some holes with blinds shots (i.e., #18). Better look before you pull the trigger on your shot (not just the tee shot). They don't have much in the way of amenities, but they are currently building a clubhouse, which will be great once it's completed...can't wait. A great course and one worth playing. We had a $39 rate with the Tee Time Book...worth every penny, and more!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Too long.

Nice course but after playing a 6 hour round on Saturday and 5 hour round on Sunday, I’m not sure we will go back.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 25 Contributor
Virginia Advisor
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Worsened Conditions Lessen This Great Value

*This is an updated review. For more thoughts on this course, see my full review from 5/28/17*

It’s been a few months since I last played here and granted it’s been an exceedingly rainy few months, but the conditions at Viniterra aren’t as good as they were before. Even a month after aerification, the greens aren’t as smooth as before and even the fairways look beat up.

It’s not terrible but it does make this course less of a value than it typically is. Hopefully the conditions improve again before winter sets in.

Everything else remains the same with good practice facilities, a great Rees Jones design, and when it’s not crowded...a nice sense of solitude from the spread-out layout.

I still recommend this course as one of the better ones in the greater Richmond area, especially for the price.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Gps doesn't work.No yard mark.

They offered 17 dollars. We don't asked.

They treat customers like a begger.

Airation special running.

Proshop guy act like a King.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Beautiful Course

I have played a lot of courses in the area and this is by far one of the best. The greens are in great conditions and so are the tee boxes and fairways. The only draw back is that it is easy to lose balls if you hook or slice into the tree line on most holes. The staff is friendly and helpful. I look forward to playing here again soon.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Great Layout, In Good Condition

Visiting town from Ohio i have been playing a few different courses this weekend. This course was a phenomenal layout, above average conditions. I have heard from the local that some courses were beat up from the recent winter and rains but this course was in above average condition. Played from the blues which was about 7000 by the scorecard. Not much roll In the fairways but i ended up shooting 79. Greens were very receptive and overall in good shape, rolled very true. Overall a great course. Would absolutely play it again. Great value with the online tee time. As a couple other reviews said the clubhouse is being built so not many amenities in the clubhouse but that’s not what i go for. Overall great course, no complaints.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Challenging course in excellent condition

Only got to play the front 9 as storms moved in. Tee boxes, fairways, and greens were in excellent condition. Great price for what you get.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Beautiful course!

Regularly serviced, clean portajohns; clean, cold water in the coolers. Fairways, greens, and tee boxes all gorgeous! Staff friendly and helpful.

Can’t wait to play here again!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Ventira

The weather was great, pro shop was very helpful, The coarse was in excellent condition, couldn't ask for a better public coarse. Would play there again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

A solid (4) stars

Played Vinterra today for $38/pp. They are in the process of building their new clubhouse so check-in and off course amenities were below average . The layout of the course and its condition are great. Minimal burnout and greens were in excellent shape. Definitely recommend playing the course.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
a707b6bb-07e1-5f77-908d-98746c31c265
clubatviniterra
Commented On 07/18/2018

Thank you for playing Viniterra. We hope to see you soon. We also wanted you to know we do carry made to order food. Most of our sandwiches are Boar's Head products. Again, thank you for your support of Viniterra

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Pace pace pace

Pace of play terrible. Needs to be addressed with a Marshall on course. Stop looking for balls in the woods and play golf. The Pro rode around but said nothing to any of the slow foursome groups in front. 4 hours through hole 12. I got sick of waiting behind 2 groups on each tee box and skipped the last 8 holes. Ridiculous. It’s a shame too because the course was in good shape and the greens were reasonably fast. But I will not be back— plenty of other courses in the Richmond area in good shape with average pace of play and wayyyy cheaper greens fees.

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Fairways18
Commented On 07/18/2018

“Unfortunately” I was grouped with a threesome, perhaps the starter would do well to not ungroup threesomes and create singles with foursomes both in front and behind.

Also, properly mark your fairways as to where you would like the carts to exit. I was nowhere near the green— still in the fairway. Several “no cart” signs were non-existent, or had one sign missing on half of the fairway. Maybe if you monitored pace of play as closely as you monitor where in the fairway people have their carts, the course would have “flowed great” on that day.

Play here, but only play 9, as you will have time to play 2-3 balls from tee to green on each hole!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
a707b6bb-07e1-5f77-908d-98746c31c265
clubatviniterra
Commented On 07/18/2018

Thank you for your interest in playing Viniterra. As you may know we were extremely busy that day and unfortunately you were playing as a single that day. Playing as a single will always be faster than playing in a foursome. Also riding your cart up to the collar of the greens would allow you to play quicker as well, which we do not allow. I did speak to the group that was four groups ahead of you to speed up play but unfortunately they picked up the pace a bit too late in the round. They did catch up on the 15th hole but again the damage was done. We do apologize about the pace, usually the course flows great. We hope you will give Viniterra another chance when you can. We thank you for your patronage.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
3.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

The best public near RVA, but low bar

Was excited to play my first Rees Jones course on the first cool(er) day of the week. Played horribly, which was compounded by the 1.5-2 club wind that was blowing all day. This made the 7100 yards from the Blue tees even more challenging. My biggest complaint about the course was that the greens were SLOW and inconsistent. Large parts of the fairway were either burnt out or damaged, but not a total deal breaker. I understand that this is meant to be a large golf community, but I cannot stand courses that are entirely unwalkable. Gas carts are an interesting choice for what is marketed as an upscale public course, but more for the fact that they have to burn more gas (and $$$) by forcing those carts up and the large hills across the course. I guess I would go back to give it another try, but I did not fall in love with this course.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
a707b6bb-07e1-5f77-908d-98746c31c265
clubatviniterra
Commented On 07/18/2018

Thank you for playing Viniterra. We are sorry you felt our greens were inconsistent as many feel our greens are some of the best around. As you may know most courses up and down the East coast were decimated by the Winter weather but Vinterra actually held up better than most to the winter kill, mainly because of the practices by our superintendent over the Fall and Winter. The course is stretched out over 9 1/2 miles with lots of elevation changes. The ravines and hills dictated the design of the course so that is why we are stretched out. As for the carts. We felt that gas was the way to go as we had battery carts for our last fleet but the hills took a toll on the batteries .

Again, thank you for your interest in Viniterra and we hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Nearby Courses
Providence Forge, Virginia
4.3185529412
41
Quinton, Virginia
3.8921529412
7
Providence Forge, Virginia
4.0947058824
52
West Point, Virginia
0.0
0
Highland Springs, Virginia
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$199 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 19, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
The package includes overnight accommodations, unlimited rounds of golf for two players, daily American breakfast for two at CORE Kitchen & Wine Bar and 10% savings offered at the Golf Shop.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE