The Club At Viniterra

4.3773000000 4.4 stars from 5 (393)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7496 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 75.2
  • Layout

  • 8647 Angel’s Share Dr, New Kent, Virginia 23124, New Kent County
  • (804) 932-3888
  • www.viniterragolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 2009
Architect(s): Rees Jones (2009), Greg Muirhead (2009), Wadsworth Golf Construction (2009)
Type: Semi-Private
Golf Season: Year round. High Season: April 1st – October 31st

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: Yes
Dress code: Proper golf attire. No denim allowed
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7496 yards 75.2 142
Blue 72 7087 yards 73.1 137
Green 72 6698 yards 69.8 129
Green (W) 72 6698 yards 76.2 139
White 72 6117 yards 71.4 133
Gold 72 5504 yards 68.7 127
Gold (W) 72 5504 yards 74.9 136
Burgundy (W) 72 5122 yards 71.1 128
Pink (W) 72 4625 yards 67.9 121

Situated between Richmond and Williamsburg, the Club at Viniterra sprawls across abundantly wooded hills. There is no shortage of elevation changes on this Rees Jones and Greg Muirhead-designed golf course. There is a difference of as much as 70 feet from the tee to the green on most of the holes. When combined with the mature trees, the result is a tough layout that demands accuracy. Thankfully though, there are not many water hazards to contend with but there is strategically placed bunkering throughout. The golf course also provides a scenic round with working vineyards running alongside the lush fairways. In addition to being challenging, the Club at Viniterra prides itself on their environmentally sensitive practices. The golf course saves as much as 80 percent of the water used on traditional courses thanks to the use of a drought-resistant grass hybrid.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 393 Reviews
5 stars:
203
4 stars:
151
3 stars:
30
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

372 out of 391 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city near the airport   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views locals   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes forced carries  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Ventira"


u620285117's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The weather was great, pro shop was very helpful, The coarse was in excellent condition, couldn't ask for a better public coarse. Would play there again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A solid (4) stars"


u000004393743's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played Vinterra today for $38/pp. They are in the process of building their new clubhouse so check-in and off course amenities were below average . The layout of the course and its condition are great. Minimal burnout and greens were in excellent shape. Definitely recommend playing the course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2018

Thank you for playing Viniterra. We hope to see you soon. We also wanted you to know we do carry made to order food. Most of our sandwiches are Boar's Head products. Again, thank you for your support of Viniterra


"Pace pace pace"


Fairways18's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace of play terrible. Needs to be addressed with a Marshall on course. Stop looking for balls in the woods and play golf. The Pro rode around but said nothing to any of the slow foursome groups in front. 4 hours through hole 12. I got sick of waiting behind 2 groups on each tee box and skipped the last 8 holes. Ridiculous. It’s a shame too because the course was in good shape and the greens were reasonably fast. But I will not be back— plenty of other courses in the Richmond area in good shape with average pace of play and wayyyy cheaper greens fees.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2018

“Unfortunately” I was grouped with a threesome, perhaps the starter would do well to not ungroup threesomes and create singles with foursomes both in front and behind.

Also, properly mark your fairways as to where you would like the carts to exit. I was nowhere near the green— still in the fairway. Several “no cart” signs were non-existent, or had one sign missing on half of the fairway. Maybe if you monitored pace of play as closely as you monitor where in the fairway people have their carts, the course would have “flowed great” on that day.

Play here, but only play 9, as you will have time to play 2-3 balls from tee to green on each hole!


Commented on 07/18/2018

Thank you for your interest in playing Viniterra. As you may know we were extremely busy that day and unfortunately you were playing as a single that day. Playing as a single will always be faster than playing in a foursome. Also riding your cart up to the collar of the greens would allow you to play quicker as well, which we do not allow. I did speak to the group that was four groups ahead of you to speed up play but unfortunately they picked up the pace a bit too late in the round. They did catch up on the 15th hole but again the damage was done. We do apologize about the pace, usually the course flows great. We hope you will give Viniterra another chance when you can. We thank you for your patronage.


"The best public near RVA, but low bar"


dmocc's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Was excited to play my first Rees Jones course on the first cool(er) day of the week. Played horribly, which was compounded by the 1.5-2 club wind that was blowing all day. This made the 7100 yards from the Blue tees even more challenging. My biggest complaint about the course was that the greens were SLOW and inconsistent. Large parts of the fairway were either burnt out or damaged, but not a total deal breaker. I understand that this is meant to be a large golf community, but I cannot stand courses that are entirely unwalkable. Gas carts are an interesting choice for what is marketed as an upscale public course, but more for the fact that they have to burn more gas (and $$$) by forcing those carts up and the large hills across the course. I guess I would go back to give it another try, but I did not fall in love with this course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2018

Thank you for playing Viniterra. We are sorry you felt our greens were inconsistent as many feel our greens are some of the best around. As you may know most courses up and down the East coast were decimated by the Winter weather but Vinterra actually held up better than most to the winter kill, mainly because of the practices by our superintendent over the Fall and Winter. The course is stretched out over 9 1/2 miles with lots of elevation changes. The ravines and hills dictated the design of the course so that is why we are stretched out. As for the carts. We felt that gas was the way to go as we had battery carts for our last fleet but the hills took a toll on the batteries .

Again, thank you for your interest in Viniterra and we hope to see you again soon.


"Best public course in Richmond area"


zobo3773's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Very good design (Rees Jones), very good conditioning. Bentgrass greens were in good shape in spite of the extreme weather, and the fairways were perfect in most places.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2018

Thank you for your review of Vinterra. We hope to see you again soon.


"To Hot"


u4187119's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unbearable heat wave in Virginia. We were the only golfers on the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent value"


u932711517's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout. For the price $38 this was a fantastic deal. Course is in pretty good shape. Greens held and were true. Loved the layout and if you like long the tips are 7400. Definitely recommend but don’t go for anything but the golf - golf shop is in a trailer- a fancy trailer - but nothing special. Food was okay but limited menu. Carts were like new and nice.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Championship layout"


u987146953's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great great great course. Very challenging and well maintained. This is the best golf course within 50 miles that I’ve played, better than anything in Williamsburg. Brand new super fast carts, beautiful scenery...only negative is that the cart boys will drive around and check to see where you are because they want to go home. W had a later tee time and around 7:15 we were driven up on by the cart boys and they told us that we the last ones out...ok...we were on 15...then they came out again and told us we had 12 minutes left...it was still very bright out...I’ve played a lot of golf and never had this happen before...but other than that the course is a must play!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Upscale course"


AlexanderA's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always a treat to play this course. One of the best layouts in central VA. Tough but fair, and in good shape considering all the rain they’ve had. They seem to do a good job of spacing the tee times because it never feels crowded on the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Viniterra"


RichLilly's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in very good condition. Greens are large, receptive and run a bit slow but true. Fairways are wide and rolling with a fair amount of bunkering.

Scenic location, welcoming staff and a fine winery next door to course.

Worth the trip for a day on a very nice golf course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"rounding into great shape"


timpfohl5's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Viniterra is in prime shape now, aside from a few spots that are still recovering from winter burn, some bunker work that's still needed, heavy traffic on/off greens etc. Now's a great time to play it!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice track. Good condition fair price"


sjgitrman's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played twice. Greens in great shape. Fairways has a few bare spots but onerall good shape. Started building clubhouse so facilities outside of golf are limited such as only porta potties on course. Recommend playing. Worth the drive.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Great Conditions And Now With New Carts!"


MizunoBen's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Virginia Advisor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Viniterra has recently replaced their golf carts with the nicest gas-powered carts I’ve ever driven to make the 9/5-miles of path even more pleasant to drive. Combine that with excellent course conditions right now and great GolfNow deals and this course is a fantastic value.

I’ve said a lot about the Rees Jones layout here in previous reviews but it’s worth repeating that this course is a lot of fun to play with all sorts of elevation changes, undulations in the fairways, fair greens, a plethora of bunkers, and multiple par-3s that have tee boxes 100+ yards apart to give you such a variety of angles.

The conditions right now are as good as I’ve ever seen them with smooth, fast green, lush fairways, and well-groomed bunkers that have sand with just the right weight. The maintenance team does a great job here and should be commended.

This is my go-to course for early morning rounds, you can often find them for under $40 which is a steal considering the value here. The new carts just add to that. I’ll be visiting here more often and you should too!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent course"


Michael1168012's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a very well cared for course nestled among the wine vineyards of New Kent -East of Richmond. Sand trap placement can offer excellent challenges and water will get you if you let your guard down. Multiple tee box option to accommodate both big hitter, low and high handicap players. Outstanding practice facilities and they just recieved a new fleet of golf carts equipped for charging smartphones. I look forward to returning.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Group"


daniel4050658's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Had a great time as always playing this course. I purposely selected a time where I would play with a group as I wanted to play with others and was put with some really really great guys to play with. Will be back as soon as I possibly can to enjoy this wonderful golf course in our state.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Super place"


Redngreyhornet's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Several tees from super hard to super easy! Me and my wife had a wonderful time. Would highly recommend


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Tract"


u000001594537's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Interesting use of terrain A difficult and demanding course that has a challenge for all types of golfers. Not a place for beginners since almost every hole had carry, lots of up & downs. A very pleasurable round of golf. Greens were in good shape. Will play again here for sure.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great course and a fine nearby vineyard"


RichLilly's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice layout meandering thru beautiful woods. Every hole has its own character. Great greens. Friendly staff. Great experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Modern Golf at its Best and Worst"


swetsb's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Viniterra is the case study of everything that is great and awful about modern golf course architecture. On the positive side, the course is aesthetically beautiful. The elevation changes, hazards, and angles all come together perfectly to thrill the eye. The problem is that these also mean you can only play the course one way: driver off the tee that avoids a bunker or two in the landing area while also carrying a good distance to get over the gorge between the tee and fairway, then an elevated shot to a green that probably has a significant dip in front that prevents employing any sort of run-it-up strategy. Plus, with the course being so spread out, you not only can't walk, but you can't play fast. I played in a threesome of decent to good players who all played fast, and it still took us over four hours to play.

Even if this type of complaint doesn't bother you, I don't really understand who is playing this course and why. Brickshire, Kiskiack, and Colonial Heritage are both nearby, and both offer similar but better designs, as well as much better conditions. Viniterra has clearly fallen prey to the same problems that New Kent and Stonehouse did: they are either unwilling or unable to hire talented maintenance staff that can effectively deal with the steep slopes and massive elevation changes. Almost every bunker was washed out, while hills often had huge dead spots. Even the fairways were sparse, as somehow the Bermuda is struggling to fill in the gaps.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed my round here. And for $37 on GolfNow, it's a bargain. But I also wouldn't return unless someone really wanted to play here. Go once for something new, but I don't think you'll want to return.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/23/2018

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback on how we can improve. You have to understand that Viniterra is a difficult course and players must not look at the yardage alone with selecting tees. Players should look at the slope and course ratings as this gives a good indication of what tees to play. Most of our normal play will play the forward tees which offers them the most enjoyable experience. As for our bunkers you must realize that we had a week of steady rain that totaled over 5 plus inches. Our Maintenance crew is very talented and is more than capable of handling the conditions of this course. Please understand that with the steady downpours last week we felt it was better not to try to fix the bunkers daily as they would wash out faster than they could push them. Our maintenance crew has 200 playable acres that they need to take care of and I can assure you that the crew is hard at work everyday making sure the course is playable for everyone. As you may know Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina golf courses were hit hard this year with Winter Kill. As you may know Winter Kill is always a problem for Bermuda. Viniterra was actually lucky as this course came out fairly well compared to other Virginia courses. We have talked to many other local courses and they have informed us that their courses suffered far greater losses. The Winter kill takes time to repair or fill in but again, we are far better than most VA courses. The pace of play is usually right at 4 hours for a foursome. We thank you for your review and hope you will give Viniterra another chance once we dry out. Fairways and Greens.


Commented on 05/23/2018

Judging from this review I would have to believe that you are not from here and that you haven’t played those other courses you mentioned this year. I strongly disagree with this review as I play Viniterra, Brickshire and kiskiack quite often.


"Course conditions"


u000003454728's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played on a day with cart path only, this made for a tiring round.. course was not in the best condition, has the potential to be a wonderful course, was hoping that after 10 years it would be more lush.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed