Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
399
5 Stars
208
4 Stars
152
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
5
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.3
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.5
Layout
0
94.2%
Recommend this course
378 out of 399 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
399
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.5
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
90.0%
Recommend this course
45 out of 50 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
399
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.3
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.4
Layout
4.7
92.3%
Recommend this course
84 out of 91 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7496
Slope 142
Rating 75.2
Type Semi-Private
Situated between Richmond and Williamsburg, the Club at Viniterra sprawls across abundantly wooded hills. There is no shortage of elevation changes on this Rees Jones and Greg Muirhead-designed golf course. There is a difference of as much as 70 feet from the tee to the green on most of the holes. When combined with the mature trees, the result is a tough layout that demands accuracy. Thankfully though, there are not many water hazards to contend with but there is strategically placed bunkering throughout. The golf course also provides a scenic round with working vineyards running alongside the lush fairways. In addition to being challenging, the Club at Viniterra prides itself on their environmentally sensitive practices. The golf course saves as much as 80 percent of the water used on traditional courses thanks to the use of a drought-resistant grass hybrid.
Book a Tee Time at
The Golf Club At Viniterra
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7496 yards 75.2 142
Blue 72 7087 yards 73.1 137
Green 72 6698 yards 69.8 129
Green (W) 72 6698 yards 76.2 139
White 72 6117 yards 71.4 133
Gold 72 5504 yards 68.7 127
Gold (W) 72 5504 yards 74.9 136
Burgundy (W) 72 5122 yards 71.1 128
Pink (W) 72 4625 yards 67.9 121
Scorecard for The Club at Viniterra
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 76.0/143 570 489 429 560 455 202 440 188 438 3771 444 427 206 472 428 612 163 400 573 3725 7496
Blue M: 74.1/139 551 463 411 543 436 190 395 170 421 3580 418 413 188 439 414 559 148 381 547 3507 7087
Green M: 72.3/135 527 428 389 483 420 183 381 146 404 3361 382 400 175 417 373 559 141 364 526 3337 6698
White M: 69.6/129 W: 76.1/138 507 377 309 467 405 172 337 126 359 3059 382 326 137 329 354 559 127 340 504 3058 6117
Gold M: 66.9/123 W: 72.6/130 477 377 309 444 294 106 322 97 261 2687 339 308 124 329 305 488 112 340 472 2817 5504
Burgundy M: 65.6/119 W: 71.0/127 439 377 293 400 294 81 227 72 248 2431 339 291 114 329 305 475 84 322 432 2691 5122
Pink W: 67.3/119 380 254 297 297 291 106 229 94 260 2208 226 291 115 260 303 406 104 325 387 2417 4625
Handicap 13 1 9 7 3 15 11 17 5 8 10 16 2 4 6 18 14 12
Par 5 4 4 5 4 3 4 3 4 36 4 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 5 36 72
Handicap (W) 5 11 15 3 9 1 17 7 13 8 2 6 4 10 16 14 18 12

Course Details

Year Built 2009
Golf Season Year round. High Season: April 1st – October 31st
Architect Rees Jones (2009) Greg Muirhead (2009) Wadsworth Golf Construction (2009)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Single Allowed Yes
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire. No denim allowed

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.4
399

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 4
19th Hole Specials 2
Brunch 1
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 71
Elevation Changes 57
Forced Carries 48
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 58
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 42
Locals 37
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 64
Convenient to the City 17
Near the Airport 16
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Great Layout, In Good Condition

Visiting town from Ohio i have been playing a few different courses this weekend. This course was a phenomenal layout, above average conditions. I have heard from the local that some courses were beat up from the recent winter and rains but this course was in above average condition. Played from the blues which was about 7000 by the scorecard. Not much roll In the fairways but i ended up shooting 79. Greens were very receptive and overall in good shape, rolled very true. Overall a great course. Would absolutely play it again. Great value with the online tee time. As a couple other reviews said the clubhouse is being built so not many amenities in the clubhouse but that’s not what i go for. Overall great course, no complaints.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Challenging course in excellent condition

Only got to play the front 9 as storms moved in. Tee boxes, fairways, and greens were in excellent condition. Great price for what you get.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Beautiful course!

Regularly serviced, clean portajohns; clean, cold water in the coolers. Fairways, greens, and tee boxes all gorgeous! Staff friendly and helpful. Can’t wait to play here again!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Ventira

The weather was great, pro shop was very helpful, The coarse was in excellent condition, couldn't ask for a better public coarse. Would play there again.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

A solid (4) stars

Played Vinterra today for $38/pp. They are in the process of building their new clubhouse so check-in and off course amenities were below average . The layout of the course and its condition are great. Minimal burnout and greens were in excellent shape. Definitely recommend playing the course.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
a707b6bb-07e1-5f77-908d-98746c31c265
clubatviniterra
Commented On 07/18/2018
Thank you for playing Viniterra. We hope to see you soon. We also wanted you to know we do carry made to order food. Most of our sandwiches are Boar's Head products. Again, thank you for your support of Viniterra
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Share
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Pace pace pace

Pace of play terrible. Needs to be addressed with a Marshall on course. Stop looking for balls in the woods and play golf. The Pro rode around but said nothing to any of the slow foursome groups in front. 4 hours through hole 12. I got sick of waiting behind 2 groups on each tee box and skipped the last 8 holes. Ridiculous. It’s a shame too because the course was in good shape and the greens were reasonably fast. But I will not be back— plenty of other courses in the Richmond area in good shape with average pace of play and wayyyy cheaper greens fees.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Excellent
Default User Image
Fairways18
Commented On 07/18/2018
“Unfortunately” I was grouped with a threesome, perhaps the starter would do well to not ungroup threesomes and create singles with foursomes both in front and behind. Also, properly mark your fairways as to where you would like the carts to exit. I was nowhere near the green— still in the fairway. Several “no cart” signs were non-existent, or had one sign missing on half of the fairway. Maybe if you monitored pace of play as closely as you monitor where in the fairway people have their carts, the course would have “flowed great” on that day. Play here, but only play 9, as you will have time to play 2-3 balls from tee to green on each hole!
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Share
a707b6bb-07e1-5f77-908d-98746c31c265
clubatviniterra
Commented On 07/18/2018
Thank you for your interest in playing Viniterra. As you may know we were extremely busy that day and unfortunately you were playing as a single that day. Playing as a single will always be faster than playing in a foursome. Also riding your cart up to the collar of the greens would allow you to play quicker as well, which we do not allow. I did speak to the group that was four groups ahead of you to speed up play but unfortunately they picked up the pace a bit too late in the round. They did catch up on the 15th hole but again the damage was done. We do apologize about the pace, usually the course flows great. We hope you will give Viniterra another chance when you can. We thank you for your patronage.
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Share
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
3.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

The best public near RVA, but low bar

Was excited to play my first Rees Jones course on the first cool(er) day of the week. Played horribly, which was compounded by the 1.5-2 club wind that was blowing all day. This made the 7100 yards from the Blue tees even more challenging. My biggest complaint about the course was that the greens were SLOW and inconsistent. Large parts of the fairway were either burnt out or damaged, but not a total deal breaker. I understand that this is meant to be a large golf community, but I cannot stand courses that are entirely unwalkable. Gas carts are an interesting choice for what is marketed as an upscale public course, but more for the fact that they have to burn more gas (and $$$) by forcing those carts up and the large hills across the course. I guess I would go back to give it another try, but I did not fall in love with this course.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Fair
a707b6bb-07e1-5f77-908d-98746c31c265
clubatviniterra
Commented On 07/18/2018
Thank you for playing Viniterra. We are sorry you felt our greens were inconsistent as many feel our greens are some of the best around. As you may know most courses up and down the East coast were decimated by the Winter weather but Vinterra actually held up better than most to the winter kill, mainly because of the practices by our superintendent over the Fall and Winter. The course is stretched out over 9 1/2 miles with lots of elevation changes. The ravines and hills dictated the design of the course so that is why we are stretched out. As for the carts. We felt that gas was the way to go as we had battery carts for our last fleet but the hills took a toll on the batteries . Again, thank you for your interest in Viniterra and we hope to see you again soon.
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Share

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE