La Quinta at Quail Valley Golf Course
|Gold (W)||72||5682 yards||72.6||132|
|Red (W)||72||5486 yards||71.5||130|
|Black M: 73.8/140||500||437||408||370||147||411||563||180||414||3430||406||533||432||173||510||470||410||153||403||3490||6920|
|Blue M: 72.7/137||495||427||400||358||135||398||550||175||407||3345||391||521||414||164||434||461||385||145||385||3300||6645|
|White M: 70.5/133||477||388||381||315||122||386||521||159||389||3138||373||506||378||139||419||396||380||143||367||3101||6239|
|Gold M: 68.5/121 W: 73.9/135||455||370||336||280||95||331||465||152||360||2844||340||452||363||118||385||364||337||131||348||2838||5682|
|Red W: 72.5/130||450||360||326||275||90||321||455||137||358||2772||336||442||351||109||396||340||329||107||304||2714||5486|
Bad day at the golf course
The condition of the course has horrible. The course always has some drainage issues with rain but this was the worst I have seen. The course should have been closed. Standing water and boggy conditions even in fairway. We actually lost balls in the water. It was difficult l to find any playable places on the course. I would not recommend playing this course when it rains and not until summer so that greens and fairways have a chance to be repaired.
The course was very wet and cart path only. I as surprised they let anyone play with fairways under water everywhere. I will return later this year when it will be dry. Loved the layout.
We're working on it. Apologies for the wet conditions after a rainy winter. Hope you make it down from Humble again. We'll do our best to help you have a fun day here.
Dint okay this course after Rain.
This course doesn't drain well. It rain two days before and it was still soaked. Puddles everywhere, muddle and poor conditions. Paying for the entire course at about $60 for cart path only was a waste. Make sure you ask if cat path only or not.
In my opinion not worth it for this pricing. Just my 4 sentence.
It's been rough with all the rain this year. Hope you make it back so we can improve on that rating.
Don, our apologies that your experience was not up to par. If you have a moment, please visit our website. WE have a quick 10-question survey to get a little more detail from you. Thank you.
We want to do better than that. Hope you make it back in better weather. Thank you.
Nearly a week in houston before we found anything like a good golf course. At checkin we were asked if we would like to swap to the El Dorado as this was in better condition. Inspired choice, great layout all to ourselves. Round in 3 hours and would definitely recommend. Remember, this review is for the El Dorado.
Thank you very much and hope you make it back again.
Bad Drainage avoid playing when wet
Played day after Thanksgiving and notified it was cart path only but got a hot deal so since it was paid for had to go ahead and play.
I am unsure how much rain they have had but area has been fairly dry for 5+ days and there was still standing water in many fairways and the rough by cart paths was like a marsh. Pace of play was poor because of conditions and took almost 5 1/2 hours.
Nice moderately priced course under good conditions but avoid if wet and cart path only. Not even worth the hot deal price under these conditions, looks like needs another week to dry out.
We apologize that the conditions weren't optimal, even for the hot deal that you scored. It's been a consistently wet fall here, and we had a decent amount of rain on the courses leading up to Thanksgiving. La Quinta is a traditional, flat layout so it does indeed hold water. We hope you make it back for another try when it warms up and dries out or play El Dorado, which is a newer, more-modern design that drains faster.
Still wer, car path only
Due to the past rain the course is still wet. Car path only.
Thank you visiting up from Germany!
WHAT THE HECK WITH THE GREENS?
The greens were in horrible shape. The worst I've ever seen them. This is one of my favorite places to play but was not happy this round. With all the rain we've gotten and then being elevated, they should have been in great shape.
Johnny we apologize the greens aren't up their their usual standard. We're working on enlarging the green complexes (edges) and all the rain has wreaked havoc on our mowing schedule. Although elevated, often the greens are too soft to mow or even roll. When we do get at them, they are rolling great these days, so we hope you make it back.
Fairways are in very poor condition due to rains. Poor drainage on almost all holes made it very difficult to find a dry lye to play from. Cart path only, combined with a couple very slow groups combined for a 5+ hour round.
We apologize for the wet conditions from all the rain we've been getting. It doesn't speed up play either. The traditional design of La Quinta is flat to reduced water usage. Nonetheless, we hope you make it back if/when the season dries up to give La Quinta another try or play El Dorado (new/modern design). Thank you for coming out.
Thanks for playing Quail Valley again and see you next time!
Just an all round (excuse pun) pleasant experience everytime we play there. If anyone moans about this course, they should never come back!
Many thanks! By the way, we don't mind any guests offering up critiques... it's how we keep the value of Quail Valley up by focusing on the important things. Thanks again!
Greens were in bad shape
We played foursome. It took almost 5 hours. Fairways were in good shape; however all green were bumpy and in bad shape.
Weekends are very here, so we apologize for the slower play you experienced on Saturday. We do our best to help keep playing moving along without infringing on our guests fun. We know an advanced player like yourself needs perfect greens so we hope you make it back after the top dressing is complete. Thank you for giving us a shot, and we hope to see you again.
This is the 2nd time Ive played the La Quinta course at Quail Valley, Ive played the El Dorado course a lot more. Even though it rained Saturday and it was cart path only the course was in excellent shape, from the tee box to the green. The bunkers for the most part had water but most were playable. Would definitely play thw course again amd recommend it!
Muchas gracias! We appreciate you playing Quail Valley regularly and look forward to having you back again.
Punched greens and sanded
I wish GolfNow or the clubs would announce when they have punched and sanded greens, before you book! Even though course is nice, we would have not played it if we had known it had been punched and sanded.
We apologize that you were not notified of our recently aerated greens. That was not our intention. Hope you make it back to Quail Valley. If you do, please let us know in-person and we'll make it up to you. Thank you.
First time playing and found the course to have a nice layout with a good variety of shot experiences. The course has both trees and water so errant shots will be penalizing. Greens were sandy and being aerated at the time we played, so that was a disappointment. I look forward to playing it again under better circumstances.
Thank you for coming out to play Quail Valley. We appreciate the positive review and your understanding with our efforts to keep the greens in good shape. You should have been notified in advance. If not, please let us know in person and we'll make it up to you on your next visit.
challenging but fair
Course was in very good condition. Layout has a variety of challenges, but fair for all skill levels. Excellent cart condition, well marshalled, very good pace. Excellent clubhouse service and food. Friendly staff. I look forward to returning.
We look forward to having you back as a regular hopefully. Thank you!
Pace of play was good for a Saturday. Just over 4 hours. Course was very wet after 2 days of rain but played well except greens that were recently aerated. Weren’t too bad though. A good day.
Thank you for coming back to play Quail Valley and appreciate the understanding with our efforts to keep the greens in good shape. The recent rains have helped to speed the refresh!
The greens were in horrible condition and not noted on Golfnow. Was not worth the 45 dollars.
Apologies for your first experience being here was on recently aerated greens. That was an operational hiccup and not our intention. Hope you make it back to Quail Valley and we'll make it up to you.