Iron Horse Golf Course

3.9301764706 3.9 stars from 5 (325)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6679 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 72.6
  • Layout

  • 6200 Skylark Circle, North Richland Hills, Texas 76180, Tarrant County
  • (817) 485-6666
  • (817) 485-0249
  • www.ironhorsetx.com
Write Review

Year built: 1989
Architect(s): Dick Phelps
Type: Public
Greens: Champion Bermuda grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6679 yards 72.6 127
Green 70 6264 yards 70.3 124
White 70 5713 yards 68.3 115
White (W) 70 5713 yards 74.0 138
Front (W) 70 5083 yards 70.1 121
Front 70 5083 yards 65.5 109

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 325 Reviews
5 stars:
104
4 stars:
148
3 stars:
54
2 stars:
14
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

294 out of 324 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards narrow fairways   Great for drinks brunch amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Suicide with a tee?"


barryd2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Used to play here all the time, haven't played here for while, won't be coming back anytime soon. Started 45 min after scheduled tee time thanks to starting a 50 plus group ON THE #1 tee? Sunday morning? If you want a 5 1/2 hour round, standing around waiting, play here on any weekend.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



dallasbear2003's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens good, fairways barren on a few holes in landing areas, tee boxes hacked up!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u408005176's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Perfect Day"


u5833178's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Could not have picked a more perfect January day to play golf. Played in 3.25 hours and the greens were in great shape for this time of year. Maybe to hard on the cours due to the rains, many bunkers were muddy and on 3 fairways, bare ground.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Solid course"


zach9432712's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I hate seeing very short, lack of detail reviews so here is a reasonable review.

Played for a smoking hot deal of $15 and it was well worth it. Free range balls and a nice putting green. Think my biggest complaint is how horrible the tee boxes are. You can tell which ones they have taken the time to fix but there are some like number 13 (black tees) that literally have zero even ground. My front foot was sloped down, back foot was pointed up and I had to strike my ball at a very weird angle to avoid hitting the ground before the ball. To be fair, it was about half and half on good and bad tees. The good ones were very flat and nice for what the course is. It’s a public course situated with a lot of houses around it so for a decent amount of holes, expect the typical country club feel. Another thing is the pace of play was on the slower side. I played by myself until I was forced to join with 3 other guys because I had nowhere to go past them. For the last of the bad things, I was playing this immediately following a bad freeze/winter so the course wasn’t in peak shape which is understandable.

Now onto the goods. I absolutely hate showing up to a public course and going to putt, then basically having to hit driver for the ball to go anywhere. Then on top of that, you can’t aim because they dont even roll true. Iron horse was a welcome sight. The greens here were in really good shape for winter and especially a public course like this. The pro shop guy said they were rolling 14’s which is false (I play at trinity forest which are 14’s), but they were definitely around a 9 or 10. 90% of the time they rolled true which is extremely nice compared to other public courses. The pro shop guys, cart girls, and other staff all smiled and seemed like they were happy to help and be working there. The layout of the course was actually very nice and presented some solid strategic shot arrangement or you were in trouble. Course isn’t very long (I believe around 6400 yards from the tips) but I was able to pull out the driver on the par 5s which is nice.

Overall I would recommend this course in a heartbeat, and if there’s a hot deal, choose iron horse first.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



GGanster's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course was in great shape as always!"


Darrell8681108's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I play Iron Horse often. Fairways were green and greens rolled true. This was especially nice given it’s January. The cart girls came around regularly and were friendly. Only critique is there was no marshal on the first tee which caused some bunching up. Great day!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Muddy"


Matthew1960's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing course. Major mud everywhere. Many bunkers were flooded. It rained 2 days earlier but I believe they also watered which was definitely not needed. Cart path only, most of my shots on other side of fairways. Did plenty of walking. Saw cart girl several times. Greens were awesome, but very fast. Most downhill putts very tricky. I wish I knew they had several creeks behind the tree lines. Despite the mud I had a good time and will be back. GPS was fantastic !


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u408005176's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Disappointed"


voskuildave's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love this course and the staff as well. Play here often as live close, BUT I am writing to tell the management to pay attention. The greens remain superb, but the fringe around the greens for 3 feet was soaked and muddy-even maintenance tire tracks!. Land the ball short and plugs-land on the green and watch it roll of. Puddles of water everywhere, in the fairway, next to the greens, along the cart paths. Hit drive down the middle and plugged a few times-and it hasn't rained for 4 weeks! I realize watering, sodding, and repair is necessary, but the course was soaked from too much watering! Tee boxes must be addressed soonest as besides playing off a side hill lies 50% of the time, many are chewed up from no one sanding divots-players or maintenance. The sand traps are wet sand due to over watering and club skids through the wet sand when playing out of them. As an aside, cart paths have no shoulders as we know and parking brake on many carts shot...We need a little TLC for our NRH gem!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging Course"


halvorson500's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I play this course a few time a year to find out were my golf game is really at, it's a very challenging golf course especially for high handicap. I'm a 10 handicap and shot 95. One guy I got paired up with shot a 140. The Greens are in great shape, but be warned- lighting fast, 3+ putts are common place here. The fairways are good down the middle, gets a little patchy around the edges. I recommend playing this course when you are playing well.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair


I recommend this course



u7399643's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Awesome Greens"


SeanR87's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played on Friday afternoon, Arcis prime rate was $18.

Course was in great shape, the greens are near perfect and very fast.

It appears they overseeded the tee boxes and fairways, so they are lush and green, however, there was some standing water in places. This course has a great variety of holes and is always one of my favorites.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u408005176's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good test"


u000007862762's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice track especially if you like residential courses. Need to play ball position. Try to play couple times a year via GolfNow deals. Mediocre value at rack pricing....better than average fairways, greens & challenge.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"just ok"


deleonjs's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course was in very poor condition. A lot of spots have lots of water on them. There are a lot of mud around hole 18 couldn’t even get to the bar without stepping in mud. Greens were just too fast. Most of the course was cart only.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Course as seen better days"


u000004102200's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I went to this course because it was in a Blog article as being one of the top 10 public courses in the Dallas area. I think it must have been an old post. The course had ground under repair on almost every hole. I would not recommend to a friend as there are many better options in the Dallas area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Value"


voskuildave's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Conditions were great and only exceeded by the quality of the greens-they were perfect! Course in good shape as well, save the tee box's. When they are renovated and leveled, the course matches with most all privates. One of the best publics around!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Knowing In Advance"


u6607244's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Having played Iron Horse several times before this round, we were extremely disappointed that we were not told, until we were at the course for our tee time, the course was hosting a charity golf event. While we did get our selected tee time, it took over 5 hours (given the two foursomes ahead of us playing a scramble format) to reach the 17th tee. As it was then 6 PM CDT, we simply carted to the parking lot, packed our clubs and left.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Public"


voskuildave's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Still one of the best public course values in the Metroplex. Although gets heavy play, fairways in good condition despite the lack of rain, and greens in great shape. Great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed