Iron Horse Golf Course

3.9995000000 4.0 stars from 5 (338)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6679 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 72.6
  • Layout

  • 6200 Skylark Circle, North Richland Hills, Texas 76180, Tarrant County
  • (817) 485-6666
  • (817) 485-0249
  • www.ironhorsetx.com
Write Review

Year built: 1989
Architect(s): Dick Phelps
Type: Public
Greens: Champion Bermuda grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6679 yards 72.6 127
Green 70 6264 yards 70.3 124
White 70 5713 yards 68.3 115
White (W) 70 5713 yards 74.0 138
Front (W) 70 5083 yards 70.1 121
Front 70 5083 yards 65.5 109

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 338 Reviews
5 stars:
110
4 stars:
154
3 stars:
55
2 stars:
14
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

307 out of 337 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards narrow fairways   Great for drinks brunch amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Knowing In Advance"


u6607244's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Having played Iron Horse several times before this round, we were extremely disappointed that we were not told, until we were at the course for our tee time, the course was hosting a charity golf event. While we did get our selected tee time, it took over 5 hours (given the two foursomes ahead of us playing a scramble format) to reach the 17th tee. As it was then 6 PM CDT, we simply carted to the parking lot, packed our clubs and left.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Fun course"


u000006505041's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is great! The only negative I could think of is the “cart path only” rule on a few of the holes. I’m handicapped, so walking gets more and more difficult throughout my round. I actually had to leave after 13 because my ankles were so swollen from walking so much. Other than that, I enjoyed it!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Some tough greens"


shelton8061159's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed every minute of the round. The weather was nice and the greens were mean..!!! Put the drivers away and sharpen those irons because they will be used for the majority of the round. Thanks to all of the staff for ANOTHER wonderful experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000007935348's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Course is in excellent shape, great round!!"


swakars94's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My husband and I have played here before and love the course so booked a foursome with our son and daughter-in-law. Even though the weather was so cold, we played and had a blast. Such welcoming and friendly staff and the course and greens were awesome!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"nice shape"


rictex48's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course was in very good shape

greens were not as fast as they are at times


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



None's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Iron Horse"


u000004661901's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I'm always amazed at how well the staff handles busy days at this course. Two outings and then regular t times. They always seem to pull it off smoothly with out any inconvenience to their customers. Top notch management and top notch service at a great course to play!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Enjoyed the Round"


halvorson500's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played on Monday afternoon. Pace was really slow, however I appreciate the marshal offer to let us skip over the slow groups and move up a few holes. Didn't do it though- wanted to play every hole. Staff is always really polite. Course is in pretty good shape for this time of year. Some bare rocky patches if you get a little off the fairway- had to kick it around a bit so that I didn't scratch my clubs to bad. For sure I'll play there again soon.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good course"


u404461098's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No issues. Good pace, well laid out with fairly long holes. Worth doing again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000004367138's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"still a gem"


shepfbm's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

I have played at Iron Horse for over 25 years. The course has improved over the years. The current pro is the best in the area. The staff is the friendliest in the area. I played after 8 days of rain which would have flooded the course in previous years but that has been corrected. The greens are perfect but challenging. The fairways are overseeded so it is fun to play on the green grass. Only criticism is some of the tee boxes need to be redone, especially 7, 14, 17. I use this course as a baseline on how I am playing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good layout and fairway dirt conditions. Cart path only along with 5-somes allowed definitely produces LONG 5 HR. ROUNDS"


pafournier's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cart path only along with 5 somes allowed means long 5 hour rounds. Golfers looking for a quick 9 holes...Stay away.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Friendliest staff in the area"


asviray's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging and fun layout Greens and fairways in excellent condition. Proshop staff very friendly and helpful.

Vintage train cars along some greens/tee boxes add an interesting touch.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



dallasbear2003's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens good, fairways barren on a few holes in landing areas, tee boxes hacked up!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u408005176's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Perfect Day"


u5833178's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Could not have picked a more perfect January day to play golf. Played in 3.25 hours and the greens were in great shape for this time of year. Maybe to hard on the cours due to the rains, many bunkers were muddy and on 3 fairways, bare ground.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Solid course"


zach9432712's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I hate seeing very short, lack of detail reviews so here is a reasonable review.

Played for a smoking hot deal of $15 and it was well worth it. Free range balls and a nice putting green. Think my biggest complaint is how horrible the tee boxes are. You can tell which ones they have taken the time to fix but there are some like number 13 (black tees) that literally have zero even ground. My front foot was sloped down, back foot was pointed up and I had to strike my ball at a very weird angle to avoid hitting the ground before the ball. To be fair, it was about half and half on good and bad tees. The good ones were very flat and nice for what the course is. It’s a public course situated with a lot of houses around it so for a decent amount of holes, expect the typical country club feel. Another thing is the pace of play was on the slower side. I played by myself until I was forced to join with 3 other guys because I had nowhere to go past them. For the last of the bad things, I was playing this immediately following a bad freeze/winter so the course wasn’t in peak shape which is understandable.

Now onto the goods. I absolutely hate showing up to a public course and going to putt, then basically having to hit driver for the ball to go anywhere. Then on top of that, you can’t aim because they dont even roll true. Iron horse was a welcome sight. The greens here were in really good shape for winter and especially a public course like this. The pro shop guy said they were rolling 14’s which is false (I play at trinity forest which are 14’s), but they were definitely around a 9 or 10. 90% of the time they rolled true which is extremely nice compared to other public courses. The pro shop guys, cart girls, and other staff all smiled and seemed like they were happy to help and be working there. The layout of the course was actually very nice and presented some solid strategic shot arrangement or you were in trouble. Course isn’t very long (I believe around 6400 yards from the tips) but I was able to pull out the driver on the par 5s which is nice.

Overall I would recommend this course in a heartbeat, and if there’s a hot deal, choose iron horse first.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



GGanster's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course was in great shape as always!"


Darrell8681108's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I play Iron Horse often. Fairways were green and greens rolled true. This was especially nice given it’s January. The cart girls came around regularly and were friendly. Only critique is there was no marshal on the first tee which caused some bunching up. Great day!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Muddy"


Matthew1960's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing course. Major mud everywhere. Many bunkers were flooded. It rained 2 days earlier but I believe they also watered which was definitely not needed. Cart path only, most of my shots on other side of fairways. Did plenty of walking. Saw cart girl several times. Greens were awesome, but very fast. Most downhill putts very tricky. I wish I knew they had several creeks behind the tree lines. Despite the mud I had a good time and will be back. GPS was fantastic !


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed