Iron Horse Golf Course

3.9526000000 4.0 stars from 5 (348)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6679 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 72.6
  • Layout

  • 6200 Skylark Circle, North Richland Hills, Texas 76180, Tarrant County
  • (817) 485-6666
  • (817) 485-0249
  • www.ironhorsetx.com
Write Review

Year built: 1989
Architect(s): Dick Phelps
Type: Public
Greens: Champion Bermuda grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6679 yards 72.6 127
Green 70 6264 yards 70.3 124
White 70 5713 yards 68.3 115
White (W) 70 5713 yards 74.0 138
Front (W) 70 5083 yards 70.1 121
Front 70 5083 yards 65.5 109

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 348 Reviews
5 stars:
111
4 stars:
159
3 stars:
58
2 stars:
15
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

315 out of 347 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards narrow fairways   Great for drinks brunch amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Awesome Greens"


SeanR87's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played on Friday afternoon, Arcis prime rate was $18.

Course was in great shape, the greens are near perfect and very fast.

It appears they overseeded the tee boxes and fairways, so they are lush and green, however, there was some standing water in places. This course has a great variety of holes and is always one of my favorites.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Father’s Day round"


Chuck9140205's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in very good shape, and the pace of play was pretty good.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



bhightowerster's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Tight Course"


RickBreck's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played from the green tees. Course is tight with creeks and trees.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Magoo11ecu's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



osampei's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Jacob9903156's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



jegenderj's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Needs Some TLC"


sgray28's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course could be so much nicer. There were multiple fairways that were thin, had brown spots or had patches of dirt. For the money we paid, there are a number of DFW courses in better shape. The staff is excellent. It is shame they don't have a course to match.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Fun layout, confusing cart paths"


RAGINCAJUN78's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Overall fun layout. Played with family who aren’t all that long, so played from white tee boxes. Found myself hitting allot of 5 irons, but kept me out of trouble with 100 yard wedge in on many holes. Pretty narrow, so not a place you want to spray it off the tee. Cart girl was awesome...Ryleigh I think her name was. Super sweet and bubbly. Only complaint (aside from heat,) was the lack of signs between holes. Really confusing for first time player...that’s been drinking. Not a big deal, but worth the mention. Looked like there was some damage to a few fairways/rough on back nine, but looks like they are working on it. Go play if you get a chance!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



stevegrant's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Fun course"


u000006505041's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is great! The only negative I could think of is the “cart path only” rule on a few of the holes. I’m handicapped, so walking gets more and more difficult throughout my round. I actually had to leave after 13 because my ankles were so swollen from walking so much. Other than that, I enjoyed it!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Some tough greens"


shelton8061159's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed every minute of the round. The weather was nice and the greens were mean..!!! Put the drivers away and sharpen those irons because they will be used for the majority of the round. Thanks to all of the staff for ANOTHER wonderful experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000007935348's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Course is in excellent shape, great round!!"


swakars94's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My husband and I have played here before and love the course so booked a foursome with our son and daughter-in-law. Even though the weather was so cold, we played and had a blast. Such welcoming and friendly staff and the course and greens were awesome!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"nice shape"


rictex48's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course was in very good shape

greens were not as fast as they are at times


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



None's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Iron Horse"


u000004661901's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I'm always amazed at how well the staff handles busy days at this course. Two outings and then regular t times. They always seem to pull it off smoothly with out any inconvenience to their customers. Top notch management and top notch service at a great course to play!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Enjoyed the Round"


halvorson500's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played on Monday afternoon. Pace was really slow, however I appreciate the marshal offer to let us skip over the slow groups and move up a few holes. Didn't do it though- wanted to play every hole. Staff is always really polite. Course is in pretty good shape for this time of year. Some bare rocky patches if you get a little off the fairway- had to kick it around a bit so that I didn't scratch my clubs to bad. For sure I'll play there again soon.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good course"


u404461098's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No issues. Good pace, well laid out with fairly long holes. Worth doing again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000004367138's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed