Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.0
43 Reviews (43)
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.2
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.7
84.7%
Recommend this course
37 out of 43 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
13 Reviews (13)
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.4
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.4
84.6%
Recommend this course
11 out of 13 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
14 Reviews (14)
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.4
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.4
85.7%
Recommend this course
12 out of 14 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Type Public
Style Executive
Par 29
Length 1556 yards
Slope 87
Rating 28.2

Lyman Orchards has been growing fruit on the same rolling farmland for over a century. Not only are there nearly 100 varieties of pick-your-own fruit, Lyman boasts a Robert Trent Jones course and a Gary Player Course. Opened in 2012, the Apple Nine is the newest addition. The par-29 layout is the perfect alternative for golfers looking for less of a challenge than the two championship courses. It's tough enough to provide a good round of practice for more advanced players who want to shave a few strokes off their game but it also allows beginners and juniors to get a hang of the game. In addition to the three golf courses, the Apple Nine wraps around a driving range that has been recognized as one of the top 50 stand-alone ranges in the country.

Book a Tee Time at
Apple 9 Course at Lyman Orchards Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2012
Architect Mark Mungeam (2012)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "Lyman Orchards Golf Academy"
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Accepted
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Food & Beverage

Bar, Snacks, Grill

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Meeting Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

4.0
43 Reviews (43)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Irv

Covid had a lot to do with the starting situaltion.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Walked

Played one hole

We only played the first hole because there were two groups of clinic golfers in front of us that were getting lessons and hitting multiple balls each.
That said, any course description is skewed, because we didn't see anything except the first hole.
To be fair, I called the manager who subsequently refunded our money.
Just a wasted afternoon, which made me very unhappy.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Golf

Great course overall but they turn the sprinklers on greens while we were playing them

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 09/25/2020

Thank you for playing and thank you for the review. We apologize about the sprinklers, some times we just have to get water out at specific times of day, but we always do our best to avoid golfers. Hope to see you back soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 09/16/2020

Thank you for playing and thank you for your review. Hope to see you back again soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 09/16/2020

Thank you for playing and thank you for your review! Hope to see you back again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Walked
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 08/31/2020

Thank you for playing and thank you r review. Hope to see you back again soon!

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 09/02/2020

Thank you for playing and thank you for the 5 star review! Hope to see you back soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 5
3.0
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Good fun fl

I took my 78-year old mom who is visiting to play Sunday morning and we had a great time. Course is in great condition. Thanks.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/17/2020

Thank you so much for coming out to play and for the 5 star review! Hope to see you back again soon.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 03/10/2020

Thank you for playing and thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Thank you for playing and thank you for the review. Hope to see you back soon!

Played On
Reviews 31
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Windy weather
Used cart

Rain Check

Course was wet from previous night's rain. Carts were
not allowed so didn't play & got a rain check

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Extremely Easy
Default User Image
Commented on 10/08/2019

Sorry that it had rained. Many of our golfers walk so unfortunately Apple Nine does not have continuous cart paths so there are a handful of days where carts can't go out. Hope your next round is more fun!

Played On
Reviews 31
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Executive nine

Short fun course. Good quick round less than 1.5 hours.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 31
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your review! Come back and visit us again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your review! Come back and visit us again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Great potential, but...

We arrived 20 minutes before tee time to attitude a mile long from "Scott" at the front desk. I had encountered him once before last year, and I can tell you that his attitude has not improved at all from then. I informed him that I had made a tee time online and prepaid. He immediately doubted that I had actually paid and made me prove it. Said someone else had already checked in under my name and doubted that I was who I said I was. The customer being right doesn't exist here. Then I was informed that, despite prepaying for greens fees and carts for two people, carts were not available because of course conditions. This should have been made clear at the time of booking. One person in my party has physical limitations and really needs a cart to be available. So, there was attitude from the staff about that, too, and then he acted like he was doing me a favor by letting me use one of the course's push carts. (I paid for carts!) After that fun, we asked about starting time and were told to just go to the first tee. No starter, no putting groups together. So we played as a twosome behind another twosome. Course management gets a total thumbs down. Lots of other options out there, folks. I don't think I'll be back.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

Thank you for your review and for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the delay getting back to your review, and would love if you emailed us at info@lymangolf.com to further discuss the situation. We do not condone poor customer service from our staff and do not like seeing the way you and your party were treated. We hope to hear from you and that you'll consider playing us again.

Nearby Courses
Middlefield, Connecticut
Public
4.1672352941
245
Middlefield, Connecticut
Public
4.1728647059
142
Middlefield, Connecticut
Public
4.4379647059
159
Meriden, Connecticut
Public
4.6176470588
9
Middletown, Connecticut
Public
3.38235
39
Wallingford, Connecticut
Private
0.0
0
Wallingford, Connecticut
Semi-Private
4.2007470588
277
Portland, Connecticut
Public
4.7535166667
76
Wallingford, Connecticut
Private
4.0
1
Portland, Connecticut
Public
4.2695941176
242
Berlin, Connecticut
Public/Municipal
4.5170117647
244
Portland, Connecticut
Public
4.2343235294
178

Stay & Play Offers

From $325
Valid dates: Feb 28, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
UNLIMITED rounds of golf over three days, and two nights lodging in one of our 4-bedroom Stay & Play luxury townhomes, including access to fine dining for dinner at Champs and Rockers.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE