Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
30 Reviews (30)
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.7
Value
3.9
Layout
3.9
Friendliness
3.9
Pace
3.6
Amenities
4.0
83.7%
Recommend this course
26 out of 30 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
1 Reviews (1)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.0
Value
5.0
Layout
4.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
5.0
StaffFriendliness
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 1 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
4 Reviews (4)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.0
Layout
3.8
Pace
3.8
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.3
100.0%
Recommend this course
4 out of 4 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Type Public
Style Executive
Par 29
Length 1556 yards
Slope 87
Rating 28.2

Lyman Orchards has been growing fruit on the same rolling farmland for over a century. Not only are there nearly 100 varieties of pick-your-own fruit, Lyman boasts a Robert Trent Jones course and a Gary Player Course. Opened in 2012, the Apple Nine is the newest addition. The par-29 layout is the perfect alternative for golfers looking for less of a challenge than the two championship courses. It's tough enough to provide a good round of practice for more advanced players who want to shave a few strokes off their game but it also allows beginners and juniors to get a hang of the game. In addition to the three golf courses, the Apple Nine wraps around a driving range that has been recognized as one of the top 50 stand-alone ranges in the country.

Book a Tee Time at
Apple 9 Course at Lyman Orchards Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2012
Architect Mark Mungeam (2012)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "Lyman Orchards Golf Academy"
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Accepted
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Food & Beverage

Bar, Snacks, Grill

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Meeting Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

3.7
30 Reviews (30)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 03/10/2020

Thank you for playing and thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 31
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Windy weather
Used cart

Rain Check

Course was wet from previous night's rain. Carts were
not allowed so didn't play & got a rain check

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Extremely Easy
Default User Image
Commented on 10/08/2019

Sorry that it had rained. Many of our golfers walk so unfortunately Apple Nine does not have continuous cart paths so there are a handful of days where carts can't go out. Hope your next round is more fun!

Played On
Reviews 31
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Executive nine

Short fun course. Good quick round less than 1.5 hours.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 31
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your review! Come back and visit us again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your review! Come back and visit us again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Great potential, but...

We arrived 20 minutes before tee time to attitude a mile long from "Scott" at the front desk. I had encountered him once before last year, and I can tell you that his attitude has not improved at all from then. I informed him that I had made a tee time online and prepaid. He immediately doubted that I had actually paid and made me prove it. Said someone else had already checked in under my name and doubted that I was who I said I was. The customer being right doesn't exist here. Then I was informed that, despite prepaying for greens fees and carts for two people, carts were not available because of course conditions. This should have been made clear at the time of booking. One person in my party has physical limitations and really needs a cart to be available. So, there was attitude from the staff about that, too, and then he acted like he was doing me a favor by letting me use one of the course's push carts. (I paid for carts!) After that fun, we asked about starting time and were told to just go to the first tee. No starter, no putting groups together. So we played as a twosome behind another twosome. Course management gets a total thumbs down. Lots of other options out there, folks. I don't think I'll be back.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

Thank you for your review and for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the delay getting back to your review, and would love if you emailed us at info@lymangolf.com to further discuss the situation. We do not condone poor customer service from our staff and do not like seeing the way you and your party were treated. We hope to hear from you and that you'll consider playing us again.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Maddog

I love this course. It makes you get to know your irons and fine tune your short game

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great beautiful course

The green is well taking care of. There are a couple par 4. It is challenging for beginner. Excellent staff here. Thank you Joe at the front for freat customer service.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Too many people playing course

Too much of players and too little space but most especially no supervision to keep things moving consistently.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

great course for a casual round

this course is great for a quick, low key round especially with kids who don't play often. I usually go late afternoons/early evenings, especially sunday evening and there is no problem with pace of play. course is in nice condition and the holes are challenging enough that you have to hit good shots to score. only things i would change are greens could be a little quicker and they need a 19th hole.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Perfect course for beginners

We have gone here before it is just perfect for my boys that are 11 and 13. They are fairly new golfers so it is just the right level for them.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Walked
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

This course is for beginners

This course is a good course for beginners and people learning to golf. Fairly easy, good layout. It was also pretty fun to play. Some of the tee box markers were missing. Grass is so so. Employees were average, nothing outstanding. One thing that annoyed me was that some holes overlap with each other. It seemed to me that the space for the course is a little small.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Walked

Much better this Sunday

Apparently Father's Day is not the best day to go here.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Walked

apple 9

I played with one of my grandsons (11 yrs old) he plays first tee it was a great course for him found it to be ok loved being able to play on a good course with him,
The only hangup was the online registration thru you was not there we had to wait for anextra 40 minutes to play

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Kids and practice

Great course to teach kids, would not recommend if you are concerned with pace..

Conditions Good
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Nearby Courses
Middlefield, Connecticut
Public
4.2621529412
210
Middlefield, Connecticut
Public
4.1110352941
116
Middlefield, Connecticut
Public
4.6374352941
128
Meriden, Connecticut
Public
4.7647058824
9
Middletown, Connecticut
Public
3.88235
35
Wallingford, Connecticut
Private
0.0
0
Wallingford, Connecticut
Semi-Private
4.3011294118
241
Portland, Connecticut
Public
4.71185
75
Wallingford, Connecticut
Private
4.0
1
Portland, Connecticut
Public
4.4476823529
228
Berlin, Connecticut
Public/Municipal
4.5372352941
204
Portland, Connecticut
Public
4.1162352941
124

Stay & Play Offers

From $646
Valid dates: Jul 01, 2020 - Dec 31, 2020
The Residences at the World Golf Village offers a home style atmosphere for your stay near golf rich activities and history at the World Golf Hall of Fame, Slammer & Squire and King & Bear.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE