Tanners Brook Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.0
53
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.2
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.9
87.0%
Recommend this course
43 out of 53 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.3
16
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.6
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.3
93.8%
Recommend this course
15 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.3
16
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.6
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.3
93.8%
Recommend this course
15 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6887
Slope 129
Rating 73.6
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Tanners Brook Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6887 yards 73.6 129
Blue 71 6725 yards 72.9 128
White 71 6283 yards 70.5 128
Gold 72 5753 yards 68.1 123
Red (W) 71 5332 yards 70.9 122
Scorecard for Tanners Brook
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 73.6/129 432 381 197 556 432 382 405 215 570 3570 453 198 398 180 447 389 591 155 506 3317 6887
Blue M: 72.9/128 399 381 197 556 413 382 405 215 570 3518 453 198 398 180 409 389 529 145 506 3207 6725
White M: 70.5/128 374 344 173 512 395 364 367 194 538 3261 423 179 370 155 389 367 505 144 490 3022 6283
Gold M: 68.1/123 W: 68.1/123 343 307 150 498 330 358 362 152 451 2951 416 148 296 152 330 355 494 128 483 2802 5753
Red W: 70.9/122 339 303 150 425 322 293 294 148 446 2720 412 144 296 127 327 330 435 113 428 2612 5332
Handicap 5 11 15 3 7 13 17 9 1 4 12 10 14 2 16 8 18 6
Par 4 4 3 5 4 4 4 3 5 36 4 3 4 3 4 4 5 3 5 35 71
Handicap (W) 3 15 9 5 11 7 17 13 1 8 10 14 16 2 12 4 18 6

Course Details

Year Built 2000
Fairways Blue Grass
Greens Bent Grass

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Single Allowed Yes
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

4.0
53

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Thick Rough 6
This course/club is great for:
Seniors 7
Locals 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great shape for October

Excellent pace of play and fun course. Almost 6300 from the White tees so it’s a challenge.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 10/23/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club! We're glad to hear you had fun and the pace of play was excellent. Be sure to come back for another round soon before it gets too cold!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 10/04/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club, Robert! Book another tee time with us soon.
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 09/20/2018:
Thank you for your 5-star rating, Robert! Come back soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 09/20/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club! We're glad to hear how much you enjoyed the layout. Come back soon!
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Our tee time was at 11:36 and at 2 pm we were on 13th hole and were told we had to speed up or skip a hole. There was 3 of us and we felt we were doing fine. We then played from the gold tees and one player didn't play. Ranger came by and said great and everybody was happy. But when we left there were 5 carts still ready to tee off. Won't go back again.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 09/18/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club. We apologize if the pace of play was not running along as smoothly as normal and took away from the overall enjoyment of your round. We hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 09/18/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club. What can we do better next time?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Fun Course

Tanners Brook is a well designed and maintained golf course with excellent staff and pro. The course superintendent is one of the best in Minnesota. I always feel welcome at Tanners Brook. I recommend it to players of all skill levels. I am a 7 handicap and have played almost all the courses in Minnesota.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 08/30/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club! Your kind words are much appreciated and thanks for recommending our golf course to others as well. Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great course for the money on Golfnow

Always a great course to play. Greens were in great shape as well as fairways. If there is any downside is the cart paths are bumpy.

One great improvement is the road is now paved from Highway 61 to the course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 08/14/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club! We appreciate your kind words regarding the condition of the greens and fairways. Come back for another round soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 08/13/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club and for the 4-star rating.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 07/31/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club, Jim. Let's hope for 5 stars next time.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Tuesday golf day

Nice links layout played blue tees plenty of challenge especially off the tee overall pretty solid course especially for $25.00 nice conditions played a little hard fast which was alright

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 07/26/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club, Matt. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our links-style layout. Come back again soon!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Tanners Brook Management on 06/26/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

The course has its own unique features.

The course was in excellent condition. It had rained all the day before so the ball didn't run as much. The greens held very well, especially from high approach shots. The greens are large and easier to hit than most courses near here. The fairways were lush and great to hit off of. This is a fun course to play. There are a lot of "rewards verses risks" situations. As an example there are a number of subtle dog legs that invite a shot to "cut" the dog leg, but if you miss there is knee high natural wild grasses lining the edges. Misses usually result in a lost ball. There is also a couple of creeks running across the fairways about 225 yards from the tee box. Another creek runs just in front of the green on hole 18. The four of us had a wonderful time. The rate of play was comfortable and the green fees are very reasonable.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 06/12/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club, Gene. We appreciate you taking the time to write this great review. Hopefully you took advantage of some of those risk/reward shots out there. Come back again soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great condition

We were able to play 18 holes for $34 including cart. Awesome value for a course that was challenging without being frustrating. Greens were in extremely good shape - very challenging. Good shots are rewarded. Pace of play was just fine. Under 4 hours on a Friday.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 06/12/2018:
Sounds like a great day! Thanks for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club. We're thrilled to hear you consider our course to be an awesome value. Book another tee time with us soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Very fun course

I had a ton of fun out on the course. The course was in great condition and the greens were quick and challenging. There aren’t a ton of risk as far as water goes but there is a ton of big bunkers and tall grass to make sure you’re hitting the ball straight.

It was an overall fun course and i hope to be back soon!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 06/12/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club! We're glad to hear you had a ton of fun playing here. Come back soon! Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Hidden Gem

Played 26May2018. Tanners Brook is a hidden gem, located approx. 20 miles north of the Twin Cities metro. The value for the course is unmatched. My experience with the staff has been great each time I've played here. The pro shop has most of what you'd find at any course. The clubhouse has a full bar, kitchen, and banquet room. There is a large putting green and full length driving range, both located near the clubhouse. The course is easily walkable with only minor elevation changes and minimal walking between holes, except at the turn and playing 17. I'll get to 17 in a bit. The front nine is primarily links style. The back nine is a mix of links and parkland. My group played the back tees, most of which were not level, compared to the white tees. Trust me, there was nothing added to the holes by playing the back tees. Speaking of the back tees, they're a combination black/blue on 12 holes, so you're playing the back tees on most of course if you play the blue tees. The fairways are mainly level and were in great shape. The rough is low, but thick. The greens were in great shape, with sufficient undulation to make putting fair, yet challenging. Getting to and from hole 17 is the only detraction on the course. Hole 17 is located in a mosquito breeding ground. Unlike all of the other holes, hole 17 requires walking approx. 100 yards through what seems like a primordial wooded area to get to the tee box and from the green to hole 18. Due to the mosquitoes 100 yards seemed like a mile. Not only is it the greatest distance between holes, it's the worst experience of the round. It would be great if the paths to and from 17 were sprayed, but you might want to bring your own spray as you'll need it here.

If you like a challenge on a great couse at a great value, this is the course for you.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Tanners Brook Golf Club on 06/12/2018:
Thank you for playing Tanners Brook Golf Club, Eric! We're thrilled to hear that you consider our course to be a hidden gem. We apologize if your experience was less than ideal on hole 17 due to the mosquitos but other than that it sounds like you had a great day. Come back again soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Beautiful Links

I loved the design. Open enough for the novice to get it around, and the better player will appreciate the variety of shots. The greens hold, the ball rolls in the fairways. Pace of play was good. Guys in the shop were friendly, and the burger and fries plate was delicious. We'll definitely go back!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 100 Contributor
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Excellent value

Enjoyable course, well laid out and excellent value. The staff is very friendly and the course is well maintained with an excellent pace of play.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average

Stay & Play Offers

$239 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 16, 2018 - Apr 30, 2019
Enjoy an overnight resort stay, soaking in our Mineral Therapy Pool, and two 18-hole rounds of golf with a cart, starting at only $239 + tax.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE