Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
507 Reviews (507)
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
234
3 Stars
108
2 Stars
58
1 Stars
22
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.7
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.1
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.5
69.9%
Recommend this course
394 out of 507 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
48 Reviews (48)
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.3
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.3
93.8%
Recommend this course
45 out of 48 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.3
113 Reviews (113)
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
19
1 Stars
10
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.5
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.0
64.6%
Recommend this course
73 out of 113 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Style Links
Par 72
Length 6914 yards
Slope 127
Rating 73.2
Book a Tee Time at
Southwyck Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1988
Greens Champion Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ken Kavanaugh (1988)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

3.4
507 Reviews (507)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 24
Brunch 10
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 55
Water Hazards 53
Forced Carries 29
This course/club is great for:
Locals 49
Advanced Golfers 25
Seniors 17
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 46
Worth the Drive 31
In the 'Burbs 29

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Pleasantly surprised

The course was 90* today. It’s in really good shape. The fairways and greens were better than the last time we played it. However the tee boxes would benefit from some TLC.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 01/22/2020

Hi Sfno12, thank you for taking the time to review the course and rate us. We're going to pass along your feedback to the staff so they can work to make further improvements, but we're glad to hear you enjoyed your recent round. Thanks for visiting us at Southwyck Golf Club!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 01/08/2020

Thanks for the 5-star review and choosing Southwyck Golf Club! Come back soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 12/30/2019

Hi Gscoligan, thank you so much for the 4-star review. We're glad you enjoyed your recent experience with us, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Southwyck Golf Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 12/19/2019

Thank you for visiting us at Southwyck Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star review! We hope you join us for another round soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 12/23/2019

Thank you for visiting us at Southwyck Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star review! We hope you join us for another round soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 12/11/2019

Thank you for your 4-star rating, QUINTIN2188161! We're glad you enjoyed your round. Please book another one with us soon, and thanks for choosing Southwyck Golf Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Gorgeous greens

Compared to past years it’s noticeable improvement, I really enjoyed the water that in play on many holes, risk and reward demanding your full attention or else. Highly recommended.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 12/02/2019

Thank you for visiting us at Southwyck Golf Club. We truly appreciate your 4-star review and feedback on our course improvements! We hope you join us for another round soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Bad Experience

My 12 yr old son and I decided to try and squeeze in some holes and got to the course around 3pm on 11/30. I'd seen the online rate of $18 per person but was quoted more at the course, so I stood there and booked online on my phone through the course website. My total said $41.32, with $5.32 paid online and the confirmation said "total due at course $36". Once the online reservation showed up on the computer at the course, the attendant told me I owed $38-something (can't remember exact). I showed her my phone and she said that didn't include tax. But I showed her the line item that said "Taxes and fees $5.32". She was confused and went to get the manager. The manager tried to tell me it was a Golf Now Hot Deal and that I still had to pay tax, which it most certainly was not. Either way I tried to ask for an explanation as to how it says "total due at course" but that I can still be charged more at the course. She said it was my responsibility to take it up with Golf Now and that what was she supposed to do, discount my fee and then have to do it for everyone else? Needless to say I was stunned at being treated like this. I asked if she was willing to lose a customer over less than $3 and she just smirked and didn't say anything. I told her she should not discount my fee but that I should be allowed to play for what my confirmation says I owe, which was $36 and not a penny more. We walked out and I've now sent an email to the courses and the management company and am now leaving this review on Golf Now so that others can be warned that just because you're given a total charge online, they will try and charge you more once you get there. I sincerely hope that Southwyck will make this right.

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 01/07/2020

You must have dealt with The Hot dog manager. She smirks alot and leaves alot of people unhappy, despite the numerous complaints from employees and customers, she is still there, making customers unhappy. Bad management.

Was this comment useful to you?
Default User Image
Commented on 12/02/2019

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, however, we're truly sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. On behalf of our staff, we apologize for any misunderstanding and poor customer service as this is by no means the experience we aim to provide. Your comments have been passed along appropriately as we've addressed the discrepancy with GolfNow, and this should not be a concern moving forward. Your refund has been issued from GolfNow, so you should see this reflect on your account over the next few days. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to General Manager, Jennifer Spoor, in the golf shop. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back for a much-improved experience soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Default User Image
Commented on 12/02/2019

Update: The General Mgr called me the very next morning and completely rectified the whole situation. She agreed that the situation was poorly handled and invited us back to play a round on her. Top notch response and we'll definitely be back now.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice but NOT

Overall the course was in great shape, greens were in almost perfect condition. MAJOR ISSUE is it took almost 6 hours to play a round. The last 3 holes it was it was almost to dark to play. The course Marshall did not do a good job at keeping the pace of play. Even with that the course and condition along with cost this course is well worth the money.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 12/04/2019

Thank you for visiting us at Southwyck Golf Club, and we truly appreciate your 4-star review. However, we apologize for any inconvenience caused by the delay of play during your recent round. We can assure you our staff works diligently to ensure a timely pace of play for all of our guests, but we're sorry to hear we missed the mark on the day of your round. Your comments have been shared appropriately, and we hope to welcome you back for an even better golf experience soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Getting better

Greens were greatly improved from the last time I played. Every green was fair and playable. Previously this was not the case.

Bunkers were not in great shape. Fairways were not super great but playable. Layout of the course is fun. Lots of elevation changes, water and undulations make every shot different and challenging.

Not a pristine course by any means, but for +- $30 that includes cart and 2 free drinks, it’s a good value.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 12/04/2019

Hi Tex1986, thank you for taking the time to review the course and rate us. We're so glad to hear you're enjoying our course improvements as our team has been working hard, but we're going to pass along your feedback so they can continue to make changes. Thanks for visiting us and come back soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great layout

Conditions were average or below, but the layout is just really good. When the rates drop same day, this is one of my favorite courses.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 11/25/2019

Thank you for visiting us at Southwyck Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star review and your feedback has been shared with our staff for any potential improvements. We hope you join us for another round soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Solid Course

Fun course with some interesting layouts. Conditions were good for time of the year. The greens were very respectable and rolled pretty well. Staff was friendly from start to finish. Would play again

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 11/19/2019

Hi Ron2017, we appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 4-stars. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Southwyck Golf Club!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Winter round

Course was in very good shape-drains away water very well. We had 3.5 inches of water over the previous three days prior to my round, and there were few wet spots either in fairway or in the rough!
Green were in good shape for this time of year!
Staff was friendly and amenable.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 11/14/2019

Hi Greg7847013, we appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 4-stars. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Southwyck Golf Club again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good Time

This course has been getting better and better but the best are the Greens, that are súper and fast!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 11/07/2019

Thank you for your 4-star review and great feedback on our course improvements! Please book another round with us soon at Southwyck Golf Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Needs help!

One of my regular rotation courses, played it over 20 times this year and I have seen it in much better shape, the sand traps and green side bunkers are unplayable, fairways need help as well.
On the positive side, the greens were rolling true and the new golf carts are a nice upgrade.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2019

Hi Jahued, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. However, we're sorry to see that your recent experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Your feedback is very important to our staff for future improvements, and we truly appreciate your dedication to playing our course.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Beautiful day and great golf course

It was the perfect day to golf. 75 degrees. 6mph wind. And a beautiful golf course. Made 3 birdies including one on the long par 4 #3! Couldn't believe it. Made my day. The greens are in great shape. Fairways are very nice. Management is definitely doing the right thing. Bunker TLC is happening. Will play again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Golf Course

Southwyck is by far one of my all time favorite course to play on. I like everything about this golf course. I consider it my home course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/29/2019

Hi Kevin1161247, thanks for your 5-star review & dedication to playing at Southwyck Golf Club! We truly appreciate your support and can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/28/2019

Hi Colton2292, thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon at Southwyck Golf Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great experience

The course was in great shape. Never had to wait during round. Friendly employees.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 10/25/2019

beharr, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another 5-star experience. Thanks for choosing Southwyck Golf Club.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser

Kramer

Course was in great shape! Greens were amazing from earlier in the golf season.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/21/2019

Hi leroij, we appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 4-stars! We truly appreciate the great feedback on the course and look forward to having you back at Southwyck Golf Club again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?

Stay & Play Offers

From $350
Valid dates: Jan 21, 2020 - Jan 31, 2022
Stay at Solitude Inn on the Green and play one of the best course in SE Michigan, Solitude Links Golf Course. Learn more.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE