Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
573 Reviews (573)
5 Stars
110
4 Stars
260
3 Stars
116
2 Stars
63
1 Stars
24
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.9
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.5
76.9%
Recommend this course
451 out of 573 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
67 Reviews (67)
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.3
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.5
86.6%
Recommend this course
58 out of 67 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
118 Reviews (118)
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.3
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.4
89.8%
Recommend this course
106 out of 118 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Style Links
Par 72
Length 6914 yards
Slope 127
Rating 73.2
Book a Tee Time at
Southwyck Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1988
Greens Champion Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ken Kavanaugh (1988)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Food & Beverage

Food & Beverage

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Meeting Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Available Sports

Fitness

Reviews

3.7
573 Reviews (573)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 24
Brunch 10
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 55
Water Hazards 53
Forced Carries 29
This course/club is great for:
Locals 49
Advanced Golfers 25
Seniors 17
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 46
Worth the Drive 31
In the 'Burbs 29

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Default User Image
Anonymous
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Southwyck Rules

Links course in very good condition. Friendly staff, well laid out and plenty of challenge.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

Conditions are deteriorating

No traps. Greens recently sanded for the second time in 6 weeks. Need water on fairways soon

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 07/07/2020

Hi u000004658024, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. However, we're sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We appreciate your patience & understanding as our staff works hard to keep the course up to par, but your feedback has been shared with our team for any improvements. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

Played On
Reviews 10
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

From Tee to Green

Fantastic layout. The greens on every hole is great! I can’t wait to play this course again. I shot my best round here of 81, and I’ve only been playing golf for 8 years.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/06/2020

Thank you for your 5-star rating and great feedback, Kevin1161247! We're so glad to see you enjoyed your last round. Please join us again soon, and thanks for choosing Southwyck Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 4
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/06/2020

Thank you for your 5-star rating, TKhalidi! We're so glad to see you enjoyed your last round. Please join us again soon, and thanks for choosing Southwyck Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 06/30/2020

Thank you for your 5-star rating, Bemywishm3! We're glad you enjoyed your last round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Southwyck Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 37
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Much Better

Haven't played here in over a year and was glad to see the conditions were much improved.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 06/26/2020

Thank you for your 5-star rating & great feedback, swstringham! We're so glad you enjoyed your recent round. Please join us again soon, and thanks for choosing Southwyck Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Great course/Great value

The course is always fun and in great shape. The staff is friendly. The course layout is good and the greens are the best in the area.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 06/23/2020

Hi u7391832, we're so glad that you enjoyed your time at Southwyck Golf Club. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you at the course soon for another great golf experience!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Need Raincheck or Refund due to lighting

We only played one hole and had to cancel the round due to thunder and lighting storms. Was told by the course that raincheck would have to be provided through GolfNow. Please advise on the process since I can not find anywhere to do so on the website for the past day.

The confirmation number is Confirmation #334105804.

Thanks in advance for your customer service and support.

MA

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 06/25/2020

Hi u000007762552, we're sorry to hear your last round with us was affected by the poor weather. Regarding a raincheck, GolfNow would be happy to rectify the situation since your reservation was made through their system. We ask that you contact GolfNow customer service at 1 (800) 767-3574 for clarity, and please have your confirmation number handy. Thank you for playing Southwyck Golf Club. We hope to welcome you back on a better day soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Awesome Course - Great Value

Fun and challenging course just south of downtown. The course was in excellent condition (other than the green on #1, which was in fairly rough shape). Will definitely come back and play again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 06/22/2020

Hi u2150667, thank you so much for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Southwyck Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

Disappointed!

Grew up playing this course, and it is by far in the worst condition it’s ever been. Staff is very friendly but no one managing pace of play. Tee boxes are rock hard, fairways are dry and cracked in some spots, and greens are rough on some holes. I love this course, when it’s in good shape it plays well but I don’t know what’s going on as of recently. Hopefully they get it back in order.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 06/23/2020

Hi gcastillo2009, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. However, we're very sorry to hear your latest experience with us did not meet our usual standards. We take single star feedback very seriously at our course and can assure you your comments have been escalated to our staff for improvements. Please feel free to reach out to our team in the golf shop if you would like to discuss any concerns furthers as we always welcome the feedback. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back for a much-improved golf experience soon.

Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 06/16/2020

Thank you for your 5-star rating, Chris6503685! We're glad to see you enjoyed your last round. Please join us again soon, and thanks for choosing Southwyck Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 12
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Rough conditions course

Surprised how bad the conditions were on this course. All greens have ground under repair areas. Looks like a low budget municipal. This course was known as one of the best in the Houston area. What has happened here?

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 06/16/2020

Hi LP2011, thank you for reviewing the course, however, we apologize for the poor experience you had during your recent visit. Your feedback about the course is very important to us as our team is always working to get everything up to par. Your experience is by no means the standard we strive to achieve, and we encourage you to contact our pro shop staff directly so we may address any specific concerns with you directly. We will continue to work towards an excellent golf experience by using your comments for guidance and hope we can welcome you back for a better round soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Best Value in Pearland

I had a great time on Sunday playing a round of golf. I reserved my tee time using the Golf Now app. I was paired up with a couple. They were really nice folks and I enjoyed talking with them and playing my round. I'm new to the Houston area and golf is a way for me to meet new people. This time, there was no wait for golf carts. The staff does a great job of disinfecting the golf carts before you use them. The staff is very friendly and professional. I used the Southwyck GC app to track my scores and use the range GPS. The course itself is very nice and somewhat challenging. The only downside to playing here is the sand traps are not maintained. This is the reason I cannot give the course 5 stars. Otherwise, it's a great place to play and meet new people.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 06/16/2020

Hi u000005767223, we truly appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us 4-stars. We're so glad to hear you had a great time with us but as we aim for a 5-star golf experience, we always welcome this kind of feedback for potential improvements. Thank you for playing Southwyck Golf Club and come back soon!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 06/15/2020

Hi u8284319, we truly appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us 4-stars. Thank you for playing Southwyck Golf Club and we hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Slowest pace of play in Houston, NO MARSHALL AND UNPROFESSIONAL STARTER

Had a tee time for 2 at a twilight rate. The male starter there informs me the twosome we were paired with wants to play by themselves, and makes us wait as they tee off first. This is the first time I've ever run into this situation in my 20 years of golf. We ended up waiting 15 minutes on every hole as the course was backed up, our round took over 5 hours and we did not even get to finish before dark. The audacity this starter had to do this at a twilight time and back up everyone behind us just does not make any sense. There is no Marshall on the course, and everytime I play here the round takes over 5 hours. I will never be returning.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 06/17/2020

Thank you for reviewing the course, however, we truly apologize for the delay of play during your last round and any inconvenience you may have experienced as this is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We work hard to accommodate everyone who visits our course and allow our guests the chance to complete their rounds. With that in mind, we are working to best control pace and allow everyone to finish in a reasonable amount of time. We will continue to look for ways to improve by using your review for guidance, but we encourage you to reach out to our pro shop staff directly so we may address your concerns with you further. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back for a much-improved golf experience soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 06/15/2020

Hi u314160168599, we truly appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us 5-stars. Thank you for playing Southwyck Golf Club and we hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 06/12/2020

Hi u314160178345, we truly appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 5-stars. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Southwyck Golf Club soon!

Nearby Courses
Pearland, Texas
Semi-Private
4.1212882353
610
Houston, Texas
Public
3.9269823529
518
Houston, Texas
Public
4.4553823529
127
Pearland, Texas
Private
0.0
0
Houston, Texas
Public
4.4260941176
338
Missouri City, Texas
Semi-Private
3.7706117647
321
Missouri City, Texas
Semi-Private
3.8189647059
213
Friendswood, Texas
Public
3.1176470588
18
Friendswood, Texas
Public
3.1176470588
18
Friendswood, Texas
Public
3.1176470588
18
Missouri City, Texas
Semi-Private
4.1918823529
207

Stay & Play Offers

From $646
Valid dates: Jul 01, 2020 - Dec 31, 2020
The Residences at the World Golf Village offers a home style atmosphere for your stay near golf rich activities and history at the World Golf Hall of Fame, Slammer & Squire and King & Bear.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE