Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.8
36
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.6
Conditions
4.7
Value
4.2
Layout
0
96.3%
Recommend this course
34 out of 36 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.8
36
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.5
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
5.0
Value
4.5
Layout
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.8
36
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.6
Conditions
4.7
Value
4.5
Layout
4.8
100.0%
Recommend this course
10 out of 10 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7148
Slope 130
Rating 74.2
Type Resort
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Green 72 7148 yards 74.2 130
Black 72 6584 yards 71.7 125
Silver 72 6094 yards 69.4 119
Gold 72 5184 yards 70.0 122
Scorecard for Red
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Green M: 74.1/137 474 555 404 330 453 185 527 147 312 3387 486 434 500 535 181 474 208 403 540 3761 7148
Black M: 71.6/132 464 508 391 312 344 143 521 119 271 3073 431 408 472 508 166 453 184 384 505 3511 6584
Black/Silver M: 70.5/127 464 508 391 312 344 143 521 119 271 3073 385 403 450 451 150 402 160 343 443 3187 6260
Silver M: 69.5/124 W: 74.9/132 447 461 383 290 328 128 502 111 257 2907 385 403 450 451 150 402 160 343 443 3187 6094
Gold M: 64.7/113 W: 69.9/121 358 371 322 271 312 112 396 98 227 2467 278 377 407 427 111 291 103 317 406 2717 5184
Handicap 4 2 14 16 6 18 12 10 8 9 5 3 15 11 1 7 13 17
Par 4 5 4 4 4 3 5 3 4 36 4 4 4 5 3 4 3 4 5 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 2012
Fairways 419 Bermuda Grass
Architect Ben Crenshaw (2012) Bill Coore (2012) MacCurrach Golf (2012)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Caddies Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Fivesomes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.8
36

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 10
Amazing Food 6
Dinner 6
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 13
Undulating Greens 11
Elevation Changes 8
This course/club is great for:
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 12
A Weekend Splurge 10
Advanced Golfers 10
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 10
At a Resort 7
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Better Hope Your Driver Came to Play

The best putter in your foursome will likely favor the Black course while the precision driver will like the Red and the precision iron player will like the Blue. This course off the tee is an absolute test of someone’s ability to keep the ball in play while hitting all 9 golf shots (draw, straight, fade and then high/normal/low for each). If you find the fairway off the tee then this course becomes much more manageable as Coore and Crenshaw leave a bailout option on every green (or at least near it). Such options do not exist off the tee. Pick a line you can make and then commit and execute off the tee. This course is a phenomenal blend of architecture with birdie holes followed directly by absolute gut punches in the routing. Further, the back 9 is something like 600-700 yards longer than the front so get your birdies early and then hang on. Tip: if you aren’t taking a caddie then bring a range finder because bunkers that look in play are easily carryable and those that appear out of reach can easily be found with a driver kicking off a downslope and then funneling into bunkers.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Golf Channel
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Coore & Creshaw's Red

The Red Course was the last on the list of our "Streamsong Triple" weekend. It was described to me at the tightest driving course with the least severe greens of the trio. I would agree with all of those notes and would also include that I found it played the most difficult track from the black tees (one up from the back). The Red Course also sports some really difficult par 4 holes, including 6 holes over 400 years, most of which felt like they played uphill and into the wind. The Red has a tremendous vistas overlooking the property. I haven’t played a lot of Coore & Crenshaw designs in the past, but I’ve read and listened to a lot of podcasts on the subject of golf course architecture. I would say that the Red would be the course that you would want to take the better player or golf architecture fan if you only had one round at Streamsong. The course shares similarities with Tom Doak’s Streamsong Blue in that the round begins in the natural areas including lakes, tall grass and massive dunes (from the phosphate mining) on the front 9 and more meadow-style open back 9. This was a fitting finish to the our weekend. The course was in excellent shape and along with the Blue and the Black make for an wonderful experience and unlike anything you’ll find in Florida.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 100 Contributor
First Time Playing

A scenic, entertaining walk

The course lives up to all the praise and high ratings it has received. It’s a challenging but not outrageous layout, that mixes the scenery, elevation changes and just good solid golf hole design. You’ll see elements of their work at Pinehurst #2 with the sandy edges of fairways and very puttable approach areas around the greens. Greens are more subtle than their Blue and Black cousins, but there are more forced carries. Highly recommend taking a caddie.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Staff
Previously Played
Windy weather
After my second round on the Red Course, I am still looking for redemption. The course was in fantastic shape. I have never played in as much wind as I did that day. It was actually playing into the putts which made it difficult. I don't need any help missing putts! I always enjoy my experience at Streamsong as this was my fourth visit to the property. Hoping to play the Black course in the near future. Must see Resort! The rooms are phenomenal.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Great Golf Course with Scenic Views

I played all three golf courses at Streamsong and the Red course was my favorite. The layout and scenery is terrific and the greens are not as difficult to read compared to the Blue and Black greens. The course is a good challenge from the combination tees. Fore-caddie Bud was awesome. Highly recommend this golf resort which is out in the middle of nowhere.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Great Streamsong track

We played the Red course on Twice in our short trip. We chose the combo tees and weren’t disappointed. Even from the estimated 6300 yds it was a solid test. The architects used elevation changes and existing dunes to frame the holes and create target lines and depth. After playing the Blue and Black courses, we thought that the greens on Red were the most fair and least undulating. The nines are definitely different in their level of difficulty with the back nine being the more challenging. It was a course which, if played well, invites you back and if played poorly pulls you back for another try. Kudos go to the golf staff, caddies, bag drop attendants, shuttle drivers(Mercedes vans-great touch), restaurant staff and the nicest front desk staff we have experienced. Everyone was personable and friendly and genuinely committed to serving their guests.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 500 Contributor
Virginia Advisor
First Time Playing
Hot weather

C&C golf at its finest

The Red course at Streamsong by Coore & Crenshaw is subtly different than its sister (Blue). With generous fairways golfers of all abilities should enjoy making their way around the Red course. One key difference between the Red and Blue are on the greens. My personal opinion is the Red greens are more subtle in nature than most of the Blue allowing for a few more long putts to roll in...assuming you can find the right pace and line. There is plenty to admire on the course from the massive dunes to a few enormous bunkers. The "signature" par 3 is number 16. A Biarritz green on steroids...easily 170 over water, the green is ~70 yards front to back with an equally enormous swale in the middle. Just an awesome hole.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Texas Advisor
Top 50 Contributor
First Time Playing
Hot weather

Isolation and Beauty: Red Edition

Finally got to see the legendary Streamsong! It was everything I expected, and not what I expected at all! For starters... calling this place remote is an understatement. It's a large and beautiful property, and it's not really close to ANYTHING. So don't plan multiple days here unless you are staying onsite. As you'd expect, the facilities are wonderful and the bar has an amazing selection of scotch... but you came here for golf... I started my day walking the Red course. I got paired up with a couple fellas from NYC. It was a pretty slow moving day. They told me to expect a 4.5 hour round... that was about right, but it felt slower. This course has some tough tee shots. There are some forced carries, and there are several holes where you have to really commit to the line you want to take. Bunkers are hungry for any wayward shots. I didn't think the course played super fast (like Chambers or Tetherow), but the greens are definitely tricky and slippery. The course is a masterful work of art. It's great to just take it all in. While the course provides good variety and challenge, I expected it to be a little more brutal. At the end of the day, it's a resort course... it's challenging enough for skilled players, but not so challenging that a player of any skill level can't enjoy it. I think that's the right way to go to make this a mainstay of golf buddy trips for a long time.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Awesome Course. Great Deal!

Took advantage of the Unlimited Summer golf package. for a single it was 199$ per night (149$ double) for 2 nights, 3 days unlimited golf, then you get a 3rd night at the hotel free! The courses themselves are very unique for florida and you feel like you are in a different place altogether. It is totally secluded and quite beautiful actually..especially in the morning and evenings. The course was in good summer shape. It was extremely hot and humid but the course was still full in the morning hours. You can tell the course was designed for winter play...'firm and fast' as the grass goes dormant. As it was in the summer the course did not roll out as much as preferred and the fairways were kept longer than usual Id suspect...but they were still in great shape. I played one day before the greens got sanded, then again right after..and honestly the sand made them easier to putt. Less of that summer grain to factor in. They probably rolled about a 10-11. The bunkers are deep and have that waste bunker feel. The sand is thicker too, and your ball will PLUG into the deep slopes (happened 3 times for me) so avoid them at all costs! The par 5s are all reachable in two, and there is a drivable par 4 as well. Only complaint that I could see..and purely from a course ratings standpoint..is to have a combo tee on the card between the tips and the next tee. As is the tips are 7200 and the next tee is 6500...would be nice for a lot of good players that dont have the length to play the tips to have a rated option around 6900.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Used cart

Most overpriced golf in Florida

Spent 4 days at Streamsong. I cant believe this is a top 20 you can play. The course layout is interesting. There are some spectacular holes. The first hole--a 460 yard par 4 uphill--is amazing. But the second hole is a par 5 of the same length. Just weird. I really liked the par 5s in general. But there are also some throw away holes. The par 3s for example, are some of the most unremarkable I've ever played (except for the par 3 16th hole). The two par 3s on the front side are 120-140 yard shots straight away with almost nothing interesting about them. It also makes no sense that there are no tees for the 10-15 handicappers. Either you're an 18+ or a scratch. But nothing in the 6500 range. The conditions while we were down there was only okay--tee boxes had been let to grow out considerable, with dirt patches and clumps of patchy weeds throughout. Given the price, I was expecting immaculate conditions, and I was wrong. What really got me was the staff friendliness (or lackthereof). We were treated like unwelcomed guests at a country club. Most of the staff were friendly enough, but we certainly were not welcomed as I expected to be. The worst part about the course is the price. This is some of the most overrated, overvalued golf in the country. Their fees for the carts are absolutely punitive, and will DOUBLE the price of your round. It's absurd. And they nickel and dime you on everything else imaginable (they wanted $5 to deliver hats we bought from the course to the course hotel--you read that correctly). This is a fun place to play golf, but not at the price they charge. It also doesn't even compare to comparably ranked courses. If I were to plan a golf trip, I'd pick a number of places over Streamsong.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Good
Request A Vacation Quote From Streamsong Resort
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Streamsong Resort will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE