Streamsong Resort - Blue Course

4.6941176471 4.7 stars from 5 (30)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7176 yards
  • Slope: 131
  • Rating: 74.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Green 72 7176 yards 74.1 131
Black 72 6698 yards 72.0 127
Silver 72 6285 yards 69.7 123
Gold 72 5531 yards 71.6 122

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 30 Reviews
5 stars:
20
4 stars:
9
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

28 out of 30 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort   Great for walkers a bucket list/top 100 pick playing multiple courses   Challenges include elevation changes undulating greens bunkers   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Nothing special"


francosky's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Was expecting a more special experience. The course was not very interesting to play and not picturesque to view. I enjoyed the caddies, but the young ladies that greeted you at the bag drop could not have been less enthusiastic or helpful.

For the cost to play here and how long of a drive to get there, I would rather play Sarasota National at less than half the price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course



BrandonTuckerGA's avatar
Golf Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This was my first round on the Blue since a month before Streamsong opened, and it was great to see the product fully operational and matured.

We caught a great day on the Blue, with about a 2-club wind or so. I also happened to bring a pretty decent swing to the first tee, which made the round even more fun. You can really swing away on some of these holes. I did not however, bring a reliable short game (I'll blame the 5:30 am flight), and the greens really did a number on me. The greens are pure and firm and fast, and there are some runoff areas that can jump up and bite if you're not careful.

That said, I think what I like most about Doak's effort is there is some great flow between really dramatic holes, and some more mellow ones. No. 17 is a par 5 that feels like it goes on forever, and the 18th has a great reveal once you get over the crest of the fairway to your drive. The par-3 7th hole is likely the signature hole of the three courses at Streamsong. It's a wonderful tee shot, even if a playing partner of ours putted it into the hazard.

One interesting note: we wrapped up around 5pm and the restaurant only had their dinner menu, which is by no means casual bar food. It's all pretty high-end. If you want something a little more casual, go to the hotel or the Black clubhouse. ALso, look out for the taco stand at the turn. Nice touch there!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Unlike anything else in Florida"


Bronco623's avatar
Golf Advisor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/22/2018
First time playing Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

As a native Floridian, I thought that I had had played it all in the Sunshine state. That was true until I made the 1 hour and 45 minute drive from Orlando to Streamsong Resort.

From the moment you drive on to the property, you know you're not at an everyday FL golf course, the landscape, architecture, mounding are unique and set you up for a memorable day on the golf course.

We walked Blue on a 75 degree January day, I can't imagine making the same walk on a 95 degree August day. From the elevated first tee box, you get a preview of what you're in for, rolling hills, plateaus, sand and you're left with curiosity about what is over the next hill or around the next corner. The greens were the fastest I've ever played.

I would highly recommend a trip to Streamsong. Make sure you're ready for a six mile walk, hydrated well and plan to eat tacos when you make the turn at the Taco Shack.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



"Putt with caution on the Blue"


JasonDeeganGA's avatar
Golf Advisor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/22/2018
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

One putt changed my perception of the Blue. I still gave it five stars, but when you hit a decent (if not good) putt on the seventh green and it rolls down a severe drop-off into a bush just feet from the water ... well, that's where I draw the line on a green being overcooked by the architect. The Blue greens are the fastest on property and quite dangerous. I learned the hard way.

Funny thing is, I still think the Blue has some of the best holes at Streamsong - the first, the fourth, the sixth, the 13th, etc. You'll enjoy your round. Just make sure your flat stick is ready.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



"Best of Streamsong"


RavensGolfer's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/22/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Take all the things you like about the Red and the Black and eliminate the shortfalls and you end up with the Blue. Scenic, visually stimulating, challenging, etc. the Blue has it all. A great mix of long and short holes with often a variety of ways to approach the hole. The greens are more interesting than the Red without approaching the extremes of the Black. The green on the par 3 fifth has to be the longest,narrowest green I’ve ever seen. Great use of the dunes for blowout bunkers.

While the entire Streamsong experience rivals those at Pinehurst, Kohler and Bandon Dunes, the Blue is the course that most makes us want to return.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Doak being Doak"


EthanZimman's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Virginia Advisor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/29/2017
First time playing Walked Hot weather

Reviewed on

The original sister course to the Red, this Tom Doak course gives you everything you'd expect from one of today's best architects. It offers multiple lines of play from tees for those thinking their way around the course, but has generous fairways for the average golfer just looking to hit it around the course without losing a ball. The green complexes are a bit more severe than those on the Red, but not as crazy as the Black.

With multiple tee boxes, holes set up entirely differently depending on skill level of the golfer. The further up you go the fewer forced carries and trouble directly in front of the golfer with those hazards testing the better player.

Look for other Doak items like creative bunkering and strategic elevation change. The course begins atop a massive dune for maybe the best view on the entire property...especially nice during sunrise.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Blue Course certainly doesn't give me the blues"


MikeBaileyGA's avatar
Golf Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
Previously played Walked Hot weather

Reviewed on

After playing all three courses at Streamsong, I'm torn on which one is my favorite, but the Blue Course is definitely a candidate. Designed by Tom Doak, I love the way this course flows from the elevated tee shot on 1 to the difficult par-4 18th and everything in between. It definitely has a "miminalist" links feel to it with beautifully sculpted greens complexes, a great variety of par 3s and never a dull moment. You can play bump and run or fly it to the hole, which means there are endless possibilities.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



"Isolation and Beauty: Blue Edition"


toothysaw2's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Texas Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2017
First time playing Walked Hot weather

Reviewed on

Finally got to see the legendary Streamsong! It was everything I expected, and not what I expected at all!

For starters... calling this place remote is an understatement. It's a large and beautiful property, and it's not really close to ANYTHING. So don't plan multiple days here unless you are staying onsite. As you'd expect, the facilities are wonderful and the bar has an amazing selection of scotch... but you came here for golf...

This was my second round of the day after playing Red in the morning. I hadn't expected the Blue to be available, but they mostly just do walk ups for twilight and the course was wide open after a tournament had been played during the morning. It's also worth mentioning that the replay rate makes for a great deal!

I played alone, walking. I literally didn't see another golfer on the course until I caught a foursome on 16. What a course to absorb without ANY distractions around. Like the Red, this course is a masterpiece.

Blue is a little bit more open than the Red off the tee. My only criticism of the course is that it's really just a bomber's paradise. I never even thought twice about cranking driver off every tee. I prefer more variety off the tee.

However, the Blue has much more severe undulations and elevations changes than Red. I found this led to more blind shots and tough short game shots around the greens. So the course will challenge your shotmaking... just not as much off the tee.

If I had to pick one, I'd pick Blue. I thought it was more fun and a little more challenging. However, I think you have to play both (and I guess now all three!). The property is beautiful and it's cool to see how different the courses are despite having so much in common.

Streamsong is a golfer's paradise. Go. Now. Bring your friends.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Easier of the Two"


MDLopez77's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Played both courses during the same week. The Summer Unlimited golf deal is AMAZING. If you can handle the heat then by all means DO IT! cart fee is included as well, but you will have to pay a 30$ group caddy fee for each round.

As noted in my Red Course review you can tell these courses were designed for winter Florida golf to be 'firm and fast'. There were some slightly rough spots here and there but honestly these types of courses nowadays dont always need to be perfectly green and lush and perfect...so long as the greens roll true. For Florida golf in the middle of summer the greens were excellent.

This course has HUGE fairways. There is a place to hit the ball to make the hole easier..but you can still miss your mark and end up in the fairway. Just dont get cute with your teeshot and you will be fine. Approach shots are the key to this course. The par 5s again are a lot of fun, theres one or two driveable par 4s, and the signature par 3 7th is breathtaking.

Both courses have no rough..just fairway then sandy duney waste areas. If you stray from the fairways then play a yellow ball..white is hard to see in sand ;)


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course




xkyleclark3's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

It is always a treat to be able to play at Streamsong. This was my first time having a caddie, and was he ever helpful. I had putts that I read broke one way and he told me it went the other. Very knowledgeable. One word of advice, do not short side yourself, it makes for a long day. The staff in the shop was very pleasant and the food in the bar was great. I recommend the Turkey Wrap! We were going to play the Red Course on Saturday, but ultimately got rained out. Make sure and drink plenty of fluids out here as there is not much tree cover on hot days. Definitely need to check this resort out. The rooms were top-notch!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




kubes01's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Was breezy the day I played and with no trees it was quite the challenge. its a great place in the middle of Nowhere, Fl.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Thinking course"


Clairs's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

1st, signage being so non-existent, glad we had the caddie. Bit pricey ($40 per person), but the caddie got us they the round easily. Without the caddie, the course would really back-up.

The course was created with great $$ expense. Tall dunes, pools or lakes, bunkers galore. Elevated greens, elevated tees, uphill fairways, and more bunkers.

Fairway bunkers, defensive (stay away from) bunkers, greenside (deep) bunkers. Not soft sand either but hard pack or gravelly. Fairways are tight lies mixed with uneven or sidehill lies

Gotta think of your yardage and then the hazard necessary to be considered.

You hit straight but you better consider the slope of the fairway (leading to waste land) or your roll (yep -- into a bunker).

Very long (5500yds) from forward tee so wife had to work at some shots. Course is devoted to male - low handicappers (Jan to Apr walkers only as carts are NG.).

Drivers landing is easy. Fairways, as said are tight lies (low grass) , require ball to fly not roll.

Several over water, and others over native areas. Very aerobic as walking in 30-50yds required on each hole. Up and down hills both cart path and fairways.

Greens are in good shape. Many are tiered or just undulating. Put up or down is required on each hole. Slippery in reading how the ball rolls and turns away.

Streamsong is out there where nowhere is in sight.

Developed over waste / by-product land (a former phosphate strip mine) ... Why do I mention this ? ... well as you create something, you have to bring in the services that aren't here. Ice to have it converted to golf. Fore!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Once was enough $$"


OBHit3's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2017
First time playing Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

Let's start with a few simple questions. Do you enjoy $95 golf shirts? How about $45 tee shirts? Does $255 for a walking round (+ $15 for a pull cart if you decide against forking out another $150 for a caddy and gratuity) make your eyes light up? If so, come to papa - we've got you covered.

Make no mistake, this is a nice golf course. A REALLY nice course. Yes, #7 Blue is a stunning par 3, and yes the view off #1 from the elevated tee is nice. Cutting off the water on #14 and going for the green in two is a challenge, and splitting the mounds off the tee at #18 brings the round to a fitting conclusion. The greens are huge, and they move in ways I have still not figured out. Everyone from the bag drop people to the starters are wonderful - I assume the caddies are as well.

It's a great course, it truly is. It's not Bandon Dunes or Cabot Cliifs/Links - both are better plays for the money. It's just that where it is and how long it takes to get there and what to do after the round don't add up. Again, if you think the more it costs the better it is then this place is for you. As for myself, I'll check it off the list, say I played it, and move on.

Unless, of course, the shirts go on sale. :)


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Blue .. and brown"


u000005460048's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

From the breathtaking opening tee shot up on the hill you know you are in for a treat. Being from the mid Atlantic the fairways are tight, greens are firm fast and undulated. 3 putts are very easy to obtain. Played as a twosome and rarely had to wait. Took a pullcart, caddies are available $90 a bag plus gratuity. This adds up to a hefty price per round. 3 of the fairways had brown patches everywhere which is only reason it did not get 5 stars. Would definitely play again. Will wait for black to open


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Blue is the best"


polishpal's avatar
Wisconsin Advisor
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2017
Walked Hot weather

Reviewed on

Blue is by far the better of the two course at Streamsong. It's drama starts on the first tee which appears to be the highest point on the property and the most scenic along with the picture you can take on hole #7, the course's signature hole. It is the more demanding walk than Red( Red is no slouch either) and if you're not use to demanding walks, you will feel it when you're done and the next day .

It also offers the stiffer test as the tee shots are more demanding and the approaches require a little more precision. Doak's style is minimalistic and Blue seems like it was carved right out of the countryside.

the food at Streamsong is average and overpriced. They need an average price menu if people don't feel like Italian or steak. The rooms are fantastic but the modern building just seems out of place for the area it was built.

I would recommend Streamsong to others who haven't been there, but being from Wisconsin and having been to Kohler two dozen times, they have much to improve on to make it a must visit destination.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth the Trip"


JustHaveFun's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Another great course at Streamsong. While I do slightly prefer the Red, the Blue course offers a slightly different challenge. Walk the course if you can and the weather cooperates. Played it at the replay rate which can't be beat. Go to Streamsong and you won't regret it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Golf Bucket List?"


twpatala's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2016
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Although, I enjoyed my golf experience here, the course did not meet my expectations considering all the hype . Wide open fairways,, links like design. some elevated tees are fun aspects only tempered by the slow pace of play. The Par 3 7th is their signature

hole and is a beauty, and with the exception of three or four other holes is not worth the pricey green fees.

Although we had a golf cart we still had to pay for a caddie who did nothing more than give distances. I would like to play the Red Course only if I got a special rate.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



kpkelley83's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2016
First time playing Walked Hot weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Surreal Round at Streamsong"


xkyleclark3's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2016
First time playing Walked Played 18 holes Average weather

Reviewed on

This was my second visit to Streamsong after previously playing the Red course. What a golf resort this is... We chose to walk and boy did we get our exercise. The greens were probably the fastest I have played all summer. This course will punish you if you hit on the wrong side of the flag. Unfortunately, our round was cut short due to thunder and lightning. Can't wait to go back and play the new Black course next fall!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"The Real Deal"


BrandonWebb's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
Birmingham Advisor
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2016
First time playing Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

There are places that ooze golf and this is one of them. The golf holes just flow out of this abandoned phosphate mine. I actually preferred the Blue course over the Red, perhaps because I played better than I scored on the Blue and scored better than I played on the Red. Loved the blowout bunkers Doak created. I would highly recommend using a caddy the first time around either course. I'm a big fan of short par 4s and there are some great ones here. Nos. 6 and 7 are among my favorite holes I've ever played. The Lodge is incredible. The rooms are really luxurious. The restaurant in the clubhouse was excellent. You will need a ride to and from the practice range so allow the necessary time. The 19th hole - a short par 3 adjacent to the clubhouse - is a great bet settler or cap to an afternoon. My only constructive feedback is that when we arrived to the course the second day, our clubs that had been stored were put out on the bag stand before the sprinklers came on and everything was soaking wet and had to be dried before play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed