Hazel Grove Golf Club

4.6405294118 4.6 stars from 5 (22)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6234 yards
  • Layout

  • Hazel Grove, Stockport, Greater Manchester, SK7 6LU, United Kingdom
  • +44 (0) 161 4837272, +44 (0) 161 4833978
  • www.hazelgrovegolfclub.com
Write Review

Year built: 1914
Architect(s): Alister MacKenzie, Ken Moodie (2003)
Type: Private
Style: Parkland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Maestro, Switch

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 71 6234 yards N/A N/A
Yellow 71 5933 yards N/A N/A
Yellow/Winter 70 5699 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 71 5249 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 22 Reviews
5 stars:
16
4 stars:
5
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

21 out of 22 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"nightmare"


u2276842's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played on here on Monday, all started off OK, a bit slow, but not to bad and then I got to the fourth hole, play had ground to a halt an extremely slow 4 ball holding up the two ball behind them, very frustrating, but that was just the start, I then had 3 ignorant members teeing off while I was waiting to take my second shot, one narrowly missing me and then going for the green with me on it, I was fuming, it was taking 15 minutes a hole because of the four ball. A lot of things happened, two of the temp tees on the back nine were so spongey that when I went to tee off the ball rose up while I sunk and to top things off on the 18th I had a short chip and putt to go, was just about to chip on when the greenkeepers decided to drive on the green rather than wait 30 seconds, there was no one behind me for about 4 holes after I skipped a hole to get in front of the four ball. I had lost all interest by this point, picked up my ball and sarcastically thanked the ignorant greenkeepers, I won't be going back, although not all staff and members are bad, the two members ahead of me were nice blokes and down to earth, shame about the others.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/17/2018

Good morning,

Thank you for your recent review. We do apologise for the pace of play on the day you visited us. As golfers we do rely on the etiquette of others and hope everyone plays within the spirit of the game.

The tee mats have been a necessity throughout the winter months with terrible weather, we were hoping to be back on the grass tees by the end of March but mother nature thought otherwise!

We will mention the incident on the 18th to our green staff to understand why this happened.

We hope to see you again in the summer months. If you would like to discuss this matter further please call James Rowlands

PGA Professional on

0161 4837272


"MR"


Dr123456's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/23/2017
Previously played Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course, will challenging holes at the start & finish that can ruin your card. Unfortunately the day we played, as a number of the previous days had been subject to heavy rain the course was very wet (probably should have been closed) & as a consequence we did not have an enjoyable round. We look forward to returning when the weather has improved


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great challenging mixture of holes."


Kelvin3377291's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good condition. Greens emaculate for this time of year. “VERY TIDY COURSE”.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wet conditions"


t790288291's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Heavy going at times but there had been a lot of rain. Greens very good. Very enjoyable game despite the conditions


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Despite the rain...."


Floydie52's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Despite the rain we have had and the amount of water on the course, the greens were in very good condition. This is a splendid track with a great mixture of par 4,5 and testing par 3,s.

All staff very pleasant and helpful.

Will definitely be back when hopefully the course has dried out !!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"As a corporate venue this was ideal for our purposes"


Tadeusz99's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Walked Wet weather

Reviewed on

We played our RCSL National Matchplay Team Finals over 2 days. We have nothing but praise for James, the Professional and his team, for looking after our needs. We were 4 teams made up of 6 players in each team from all across the UK. The package arranged by the organiser included all golf, meals, free practice balls on the Pitching practice area and a private function area set aside for our meals and presentation.

We were so impressed with the level of service and customer experience that we have booked to come back in 2018 for the same event.

The course off the whites was a good test of golf and there were may holes where risk and reward paid off. Split tees on the second day made sure we all finished in 4 hours. Great course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Dr123456's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
First time playing Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Yattey5's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed a good mixture of holes, found the greens challenging


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Pleasant Surprise"


u258667833's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Having lived in the area most of my life and played many courses in the area this was my first visit to Hazel Grove and I will be returning.

As we had an early tee time the pro allowed us tee off early, we had the course to ourself, with a ladies match following us. The course was in excellent presentation, a few holes in we came across people maintaining the plants and trees that surround the course and set the scene of the course well. While green keeping staff focused on the course itself.

There is a number of tricky holes that make you think about club and shot selection. The greens were in perfect order and fast. I personally took a while to get used to the green pace.

The members were very plesant and said hello as we passed them.

Overall a very good experience.

I would recommend this course to anyone looking for a very good quality course at a reasonable price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Cracking Golf Course"


u412344887's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

What a great place to play golf. Some brilliant holes. Undulating greens. Water in front of the green holes. Would I play again? Sure would !!! Clubhouse is a little dark, but that's to be expected of golf clubhouses. I didn't use the changing room so cannot comment on this. Lad in the shop was ok but could have been a bit friendlier, you're representing the club when you're in their mate. It's not about acting cool.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Beautiful day for golf!"


aldangeo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Visited HCGC on Wednesday 10 May for a two ball tee of time of 10.10am. Very friendly in pro shop who informed us that the Seniors were playing a competition and that the round would be affected by this. No issues as weather was superb with the pace of play pretty good despite the comp. Although not a long course (just over 6,200 from yellows), course needs careful thought as fairways are very tight, there are many trees and several water hazards waiting to catch the wayward shot and the greens are very undulating and quick!

A really good test of golf which I would recommend to anyone! Will definitely be back as my back nine score was the best I have ever had!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



t1675676301's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course the staff and members were friendly and helpful, will definitely play there again in the future.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Second time in winter and it's excellent"


u675246843's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Mats for tee off but the rest of the course open like normal (just the 15th fairway place in rough) and in great condition. Excellent fees and staff very friendly and helpful. If my golf course was not 1/2 mile from my home I would definitely join.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wet but superb"


u383877179's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Although very wet underfoot, th course was in immaculate condition. All greens were superb, and though playing from winter tees, this did not affect the yardage too much. Some very challenging holes throughout and a must if you've never been before. Be back again soon


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"bitterly cold winters day"


cheshireman1uk's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/19/2017
First time playing Walked Cold weather

Reviewed on

course in great condition for the middle of winter except for bunkers,they were in a very poor condition

not raked and some being worked on with no gur notices

staff very friendly


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Mr PRAKASH BHOJANI"


prakashbhojani1947's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2016
First time playing Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

there are fine and 4 adults played well golf all holes and there were wet no much. no worses times.

thanks prakash


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice course with USA greens"


u898926781's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Considering the wet weather the week before course was in excellent condition. Greens looked magnificent but a little slow probably due to time of year . Hope to play here again next summer if they have an open competition. For winter golf this is definitely one course you must play. Staff in pro shop very pleasant


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hazel Grove"


Wheelygolfer's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

On arrival I was informed that work was being carried out on the greens, which limited my round to 12 holes. Of the holes I did play, the greens were in good condition, but off fairway some holes were quite wet. The course is well set out, and relatively flat, with some very challenging holes. Hope to complete a full round there soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Warm and friendly"


Kingsman03's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

An absolute gem.... love it will be returning.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hazel Grove GC"


u627590408's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course friendly staff and fellow players.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed