Bluewater Bay Resort - Lake Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.5
340
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
153
3 Stars
81
2 Stars
23
1 Stars
21
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.9
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.8
73.1%
Recommend this course
271 out of 340 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.4
11
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.8
Layout
4.2
Pace
4.5
Amenities
3.4
StaffFriendliness
4.5
63.6%
Recommend this course
7 out of 11 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.3
57
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
7
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.7
Layout
3.9
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.4
66.7%
Recommend this course
38 out of 57 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Type Resort
Par 36
Length 3485
Slope 0
Rating 0.0
Book a Tee Time at
Bluewater Bay Resort Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 36 3485 yards
Blue 36 3137 yards
White 36 2954 yards
Red (W) 36 2785 yards
Green 36 2748 yards
Scorecard for Lake / Marsh
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out Total
Gold M: 73.1/142 380 515 420 180 425 465 195 385 520 3485 6857
Blue M: 70.7/134 W: 76.6/143 340 472 375 150 390 415 170 350 475 3137 6203
White M: 68.1/128 W: 74.0/136 319 445 355 138 355 380 160 340 462 2954 5776
Red M: 64.6/117 W: 69.5/127 280 440 345 120 350 375 150 310 415 2785 5338
Handicap 7 15 3 17 1 5 9 11 13
Par 4 5 4 3 4 4 3 4 5 36 72
Handicap (W) 5 7 1 17 9 3 13 11 15

Course Details

Year Built 1981
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tom Fazio (1981)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Reviews

3.5
340

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 22
Watching the Game 10
Amazing Food 9
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 45
Bunkers 36
Narrow Fairways 23
This course/club is great for:
Locals 28
Playing Multiple Courses 26
Seniors 23
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 28
Worth the Drive 18
In the 'Burbs 15

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

This course is well maintained.

Enjoyed my round. Greens a little faster than what I am use to but in great condition. I always enjoy playing all three nines.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Beautiful mature course

Love the lay out. Nestled in a beautiful area. Great view of the bay. A bit wet, which is keeping the ground crew from doing some needed cleanup. But still very good. Planning on playing this one again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

nice day golfing

the course was very wet due to all the rain we have had recently. greens and tee offs need work. fairways are good for this time of year. overall I enjoyed the first round of 2019

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course for the value

Very nice layout, outstanding staff very friendly. Gave course condition a 3 because they had received one and half inches of rain the night before so was very wet . Will play again.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course is in poor condition

We played this course last year but didn’t remember it being in such bad shape. The greens are brown and the fairways are either not much grass or very wet. It’s unfortunate because the layout is interesting and could be nice with some TLC. The red Ts were mostly on the fairways so I played the whites.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 12/20/2018:
Hello, on behalf of the Bluewater Bay Resort staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Friendly staff, Terrible condition

The great location and friendly staff can’t overcome the atrocious condition of this golf course. There isn’t enough grass on all three 9’s to cover just one of the 9’s. In short: it was pitiful. The teeing grounds were sand boxes and the greens were slower than your worst muni. Don’t waste your money.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 10/05/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Bluewater Bay Resort staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Could have water & cut the grass on the tee box & putting green!

Decent fairways, but dry, sandy, poorly kept tee boxes & putting greens. Lots of bugs. Good food & drinks at clubhouse. Great staff, marshals, reception & hospitality!

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 10/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Bluewater Bay

The layout is interesting. Greens are very slow. Staff very helpful. Some quirky holes, but fun to play.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not worth it

Of all th courses I've played in the area, this had to be the worst. While most of the greens were decent, the same cannot be said re: the fairways, tee boxes and bunkers. This is definitely a course for beginner. The layout is interesting as some of the holes have interesting dog legs, but, for the most part, it's just not worth the cost.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 08/08/2018:
Thank you for coming out to Bluewater Bay and for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the condition of the course, and we are sorry that we did not meet your overall expectations. Our staff here will keep working hard to have the course in shape and strive to provide great experiences, and we hope you will be able to have a better experience should you choose to come back again.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Layout

The course is fairly nice but the distance between bay and the marsh nines is a long way and not well marked. It is difficult to find your way around.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Avoid this course

I have rarely seen a course in such poor condition. From the tee boxes to the greens this course has deteriorated past "acceptable". You can tell at one time this course was probably very nice, the layout is great but they have let the course go so bad it is really bad. I would recommend you avoid this course at all costs. Even for free I would consider other options before committing to playing her.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 06/26/2018:
Hello Thomas, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Bluewater Bay Resort, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Good value and layout

First time guest on vacation. As an older club, I thought this was an excellent value and course layout for mid-high handicaps that are looking for decent conditions and forgiving fairways. The greens were a little “fluffy” and slow with all the rain, some sand traps were a little compacted, and the cart paths do show their age, but I have absolutely zero complaints for the price and overall experience! Staff was exceptionally friendly and treated me like a VIP. Highly recommended if you are looking for a fun, casual round of golf (at a friendly place) in the Destin area without paying ‘tourist prices’. If you want pristine conditions, you’re going to need to pay three times the amount of Bluewater Bay. They have done a great job in keeping this older course in good order for the casual golfer.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens. We're course, had some kind of long dead blades and very slow.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 06/01/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course offers a good value for the money

Good value for the money out of 10 the conditions are 7

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Bluewater Bay Threesome!

Bluewater Bay marsh course is a tough,b ut easy course. It will challenge your shot making as well as your putting!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very friendly

Great people, went out of their way to accommodate us.

Great lay out

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 05/03/2018:
Hello Michael, thank you for taking the time to review us, Bluewater Bay Resort in the Niceville, Florida, and for the 3 stars. We're sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback. However, we're glad you received a good value for your round and had a fun time on the course. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Don't waste your money!

Worst greens I've ever played on. Riddled with dead dirt spots and poanna grass. Like putting on a gravel parking lot. Fairway grass sparse on most holes. Obviously no money being spent to maintain the course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 04/25/2018:
Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Bluewater Bay Resort. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Niceville, Florida area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.
Nearby Courses
Niceville, Florida
3.4884
340
Niceville, Florida
3.4884
340
Niceville, Florida
4.5049294118
189
Niceville, Florida
3.9091428571
135
Destin, Florida
4.7259176471
493
Destin, Florida
4.5758705882
630
Destin, Florida
4.6041941176
243
Niceville, Florida
3.4697857143
91
Destin, Florida
4.4041235294
336
Destin, Florida
4.0833333333
8
Miramar Beach, Florida
3.0154941176
509

Stay & Play Offers

$331 Starting price
Valid dates: Mar 01, 2019 - Apr 21, 2019
Get a head start on Spring and experience true southern hospitality with championship golf and charming villas in beautiful South Carolina Lowcountry with the Spring Getaway.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE