Bluewater Bay Resort - Lake Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
330
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
149
3 Stars
80
2 Stars
21
1 Stars
20
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.9
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.9
Layout
4.0
75.5%
Recommend this course
264 out of 330 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
330
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
4
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.7
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.8
Layout
3.9
67.6%
Recommend this course
25 out of 37 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
330
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
6
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.8
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.8
Layout
4.0
73.0%
Recommend this course
54 out of 74 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Par 36
Length 3485
Slope 0
Rating 0.0
Type Resort
Book a Tee Time at
Bluewater Bay Resort Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 36 3485 yards
Blue 36 3137 yards
White 36 2954 yards
Red (W) 36 2785 yards
Green 36 2748 yards

Course Details

Year Built 1981
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tom Fazio (1981)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Reviews

3.6
330

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 22
Watching the Game 10
Amazing Food 9
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 45
Bunkers 36
Narrow Fairways 23
This course/club is great for:
Locals 28
Playing Multiple Courses 26
Seniors 23
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 28
Worth the Drive 18
In the 'Burbs 15
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not worth it

Of all th courses I've played in the area, this had to be the worst. While most of the greens were decent, the same cannot be said re: the fairways, tee boxes and bunkers. This is definitely a course for beginner. The layout is interesting as some of the holes have interesting dog legs, but, for the most part, it's just not worth the cost.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 08/08/2018:
Thank you for coming out to Bluewater Bay and for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the condition of the course, and we are sorry that we did not meet your overall expectations. Our staff here will keep working hard to have the course in shape and strive to provide great experiences, and we hope you will be able to have a better experience should you choose to come back again.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Layout

The course is fairly nice but the distance between bay and the marsh nines is a long way and not well marked. It is difficult to find your way around.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Avoid this course

I have rarely seen a course in such poor condition. From the tee boxes to the greens this course has deteriorated past "acceptable". You can tell at one time this course was probably very nice, the layout is great but they have let the course go so bad it is really bad. I would recommend you avoid this course at all costs. Even for free I would consider other options before committing to playing her.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Good
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 06/26/2018:
Hello Thomas, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Bluewater Bay Resort, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Good value and layout

First time guest on vacation. As an older club, I thought this was an excellent value and course layout for mid-high handicaps that are looking for decent conditions and forgiving fairways. The greens were a little “fluffy” and slow with all the rain, some sand traps were a little compacted, and the cart paths do show their age, but I have absolutely zero complaints for the price and overall experience! Staff was exceptionally friendly and treated me like a VIP. Highly recommended if you are looking for a fun, casual round of golf (at a friendly place) in the Destin area without paying ‘tourist prices’. If you want pristine conditions, you’re going to need to pay three times the amount of Bluewater Bay. They have done a great job in keeping this older course in good order for the casual golfer.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Greens. We're course, had some kind of long dead blades and very slow.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Average
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 06/01/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course offers a good value for the money

Good value for the money out of 10 the conditions are 7
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Bluewater Bay Threesome!

Bluewater Bay marsh course is a tough,b ut easy course. It will challenge your shot making as well as your putting!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very friendly

Great people, went out of their way to accommodate us. Great lay out
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 05/03/2018:
Hello Michael, thank you for taking the time to review us, Bluewater Bay Resort in the Niceville, Florida, and for the 3 stars. We're sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback. However, we're glad you received a good value for your round and had a fun time on the course. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Don't waste your money!

Worst greens I've ever played on. Riddled with dead dirt spots and poanna grass. Like putting on a gravel parking lot. Fairway grass sparse on most holes. Obviously no money being spent to maintain the course.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 04/25/2018:
Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Bluewater Bay Resort. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Niceville, Florida area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Niceville, Florida
3.5667235294
330
Niceville, Florida
3.5667235294
330
Niceville, Florida
3.5667235294
330
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
3.9477823529
401
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE