Bluewater Bay Resort - Magnolia Course

This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.5
333
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
150
3 Stars
80
2 Stars
23
1 Stars
20
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.9
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.8
72.9%
Recommend this course
265 out of 332 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.1
10
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.3
Layout
3.6
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.2
StaffFriendliness
4.3
50.0%
Recommend this course
5 out of 10 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.3
64
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
6
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.7
Layout
4.0
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.4
68.8%
Recommend this course
44 out of 64 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Par 36
Length 3290
Slope 0
Rating 0.0
Type Resort
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 36 3290 yards
Blue 36 3020 yards
White 36 2792 yards
Red (W) 36 2499 yards

Course Details

Year Built 1993
Golf Season Year round
Architect Jerry Pate (1993)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Reviews

3.5
333

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 22
Watching the Game 10
Amazing Food 9
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 45
Bunkers 36
Narrow Fairways 23
This course/club is great for:
Locals 28
Playing Multiple Courses 26
Seniors 23
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 28
Worth the Drive 18
In the 'Burbs 15

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Friendly staff, Terrible condition

The great location and friendly staff can’t overcome the atrocious condition of this golf course. There isn’t enough grass on all three 9’s to cover just one of the 9’s. In short: it was pitiful. The teeing grounds were sand boxes and the greens were slower than your worst muni. Don’t waste your money.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 10/05/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Bluewater Bay Resort staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Could have water & cut the grass on the tee box & putting green!

Decent fairways, but dry, sandy, poorly kept tee boxes & putting greens. Lots of bugs. Good food & drinks at clubhouse. Great staff, marshals, reception & hospitality!

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 10/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Bluewater Bay

The layout is interesting. Greens are very slow. Staff very helpful. Some quirky holes, but fun to play.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not worth it

Of all th courses I've played in the area, this had to be the worst. While most of the greens were decent, the same cannot be said re: the fairways, tee boxes and bunkers. This is definitely a course for beginner. The layout is interesting as some of the holes have interesting dog legs, but, for the most part, it's just not worth the cost.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 08/08/2018:
Thank you for coming out to Bluewater Bay and for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the condition of the course, and we are sorry that we did not meet your overall expectations. Our staff here will keep working hard to have the course in shape and strive to provide great experiences, and we hope you will be able to have a better experience should you choose to come back again.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Layout

The course is fairly nice but the distance between bay and the marsh nines is a long way and not well marked. It is difficult to find your way around.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Avoid this course

I have rarely seen a course in such poor condition. From the tee boxes to the greens this course has deteriorated past "acceptable". You can tell at one time this course was probably very nice, the layout is great but they have let the course go so bad it is really bad. I would recommend you avoid this course at all costs. Even for free I would consider other options before committing to playing her.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 06/26/2018:
Hello Thomas, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Bluewater Bay Resort, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Good value and layout

First time guest on vacation. As an older club, I thought this was an excellent value and course layout for mid-high handicaps that are looking for decent conditions and forgiving fairways. The greens were a little “fluffy” and slow with all the rain, some sand traps were a little compacted, and the cart paths do show their age, but I have absolutely zero complaints for the price and overall experience! Staff was exceptionally friendly and treated me like a VIP. Highly recommended if you are looking for a fun, casual round of golf (at a friendly place) in the Destin area without paying ‘tourist prices’. If you want pristine conditions, you’re going to need to pay three times the amount of Bluewater Bay. They have done a great job in keeping this older course in good order for the casual golfer.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens. We're course, had some kind of long dead blades and very slow.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 06/01/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course offers a good value for the money

Good value for the money out of 10 the conditions are 7

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Bluewater Bay Threesome!

Bluewater Bay marsh course is a tough,b ut easy course. It will challenge your shot making as well as your putting!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very friendly

Great people, went out of their way to accommodate us.

Great lay out

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 05/03/2018:
Hello Michael, thank you for taking the time to review us, Bluewater Bay Resort in the Niceville, Florida, and for the 3 stars. We're sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback. However, we're glad you received a good value for your round and had a fun time on the course. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Don't waste your money!

Worst greens I've ever played on. Riddled with dead dirt spots and poanna grass. Like putting on a gravel parking lot. Fairway grass sparse on most holes. Obviously no money being spent to maintain the course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 04/25/2018:
Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Bluewater Bay Resort. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Niceville, Florida area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Membership has its privilege

My wife and I played the course together. We we're paired with another twosome. I 3 different occasions we had to let three single players play through. On the back nine, the marshall separated us because the members behind us we're complaining of slow play. I think the pro shop needs to do a better job a scheduling groups of 4 around those members who play by themselves.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 04/27/2018:
Hello, on behalf of the Bluewater Bay Resort staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The course is not taken care of. Very bad shape

Such a big course. 27 holes. Beautiful homes. Beautiful views. Terrible fairways, and terrible greens. Would never go back. Unless they paid me!!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 04/25/2018:
Hello Ed, thank you for sharing your review. We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our layout at Bluewater Bay Resort and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 04/20/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Bluewater Bay Resort - Marsh Course, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we hope this improved your overall experience with us. Thank you for your choosing our course, in the Niceville area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Florida course

Greens and fairways what you would expect in Florida. Tees a little lacking. But overall an enjoyable day.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Bluewater Bay Resort on 04/20/2018:
Hello Gerry, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Bluewater Bay Resort, and for the 3 stars. We're sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback regarding the Tee Boxes so may work on any necessary improvements. However, we're glad you had a fun time on the course and had a friendly experience with our staff, so we hope this improved your overall experience with us. Thank you for your choosing our course, in the Niceville area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Wouldn’t pay to play again

Normally I can understand a course being in mediocre or bad shape this time of year in NW Florida, but in this case I was extremely disappointed with the condition of the course. From hitting on uneven divoted tee boxes to concrete speed bumpy and even black greens. We payed 30$ per person with a golf now discount and wish I would’ve asked for my money back. I’m not a pro golfer by any means but for the area this course is in the conditions should be much much better. You can play better courses for cheaper prices all over this area

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Exceeded expections

There are quite a few high end golf courses around here but for the money Blue Water Bay offered a great golfing experience at a fair rate.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Nearby Courses
Niceville, Florida
3.4926176471
333
Niceville, Florida
3.4926176471
333

Stay & Play Offers

$339 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 08, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
Enjoy four rounds of golf at either of Ka’anapali’s championship courses and a beautiful Ocean View room with a five (5) or more night stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE