Puerto Cancun Golf Club

4.4293294118 4.4 stars from 5 (59)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7241 yards
  • Slope: 135
  • Rating: 75.6
  • Layout

  • Blvd. Kukulcán Km1.5 Zona Hotelera, Cancún, Q. Roo, México 77500
  • 01 (989) 847-4446, 01 (989) 892-1958
  • www.puertocancun.com
Write Review

Year built: 2013
Architect(s): Tom Weiskopf (2009)
Type: Public/Resort
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - $30
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: Soft spikes only
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7241 yards 75.6 135
Blue 72 6831 yards 73.4 128
White 72 6444 yards 71.2 124
Yellow 72 5813 yards 68.9 120
Yellow (W) 72 5813 yards 72.8 131
Red (W) 72 5103 yards 70.1 120

Puerto Cancun Golf Club has an ideal location nestled right in between Cancun's hotel zone and the downtown area. The course is a Tom Weiskopf design that allows the natural beauty of the tropical landscape to be the star. You're never too far from the water on this golf course, with several holes that play along the shoreline and the Marina. Almost every hole offers views of the sparkling blue waters of the Caribbean. Puerto Cancun Golf Club stretches to just over 7,200 yards from the back tees with holes that will test both your distance and your short game skills. The winding fairways demand accuracy and there are strategically placed traps along the greensides. The final hole is a memorable one with a green that is situated on an island in the main canal of Puerto Cancun.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 59 Reviews
5 stars:
39
4 stars:
15
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

53 out of 59 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city   Great for wildlife/ scenic views a weekend splurge advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers water hazards plays long  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good course to enjoy on your vacay"


u000004529709's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/25/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got a sweet deal in GN and they honored that rate and I could rent a set of titleist clubs for 50 bucks, a bit expensive if you ask me. About the round, Course layout was awesome with some holes with ocean view where all your club distances goes out of the window. Should club up and down depending on the wind direction and you would be amazed to see how the ball changes course.

The staff was very courteous and some of the views were breath taking. The front 9 was a bit tougher than the back and since I didn't have the yardage book or my range finder Went a tad over my regular scores. Expect the 2nd shots to roll a bit more and if you don't keep it in the FW, it will roll to the out of bounds where you don't want to go searching for your balls. There are crocs and some stray dogs everywhere..

Overall very happy with the round..


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hit it straight"


u000006102210's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very easy to lose your ball if it gets away from you, so take plenty. Beautiful views and well manicured. Could do better on snacks and a bite to eat after nine holes. Keep it straight and you’ll score :)


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



malcolm1234's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The 2 days before we played the rain was relentless. I thought, there’s no way we would play golf and if by some small chance we did the course would be sloppy. I was really surprised, this course must have a great drainage system. If you come to Cancun play this course it is BEAUTIFUL! Very well kept greens were true and the held approach shots. The cost was only $100.00 which included club rentals. The staff was very friendly. Two thumbs way up.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent on everything."



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I am a beginner and I got my lowest score today (94). Very happy.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000006195545's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"One word, WOW!!!"


huynguyen1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A must play when in Cancun. Everything was fantastic! The course layout is better than those at Moon Palace. Course condition is PGA ready. The houses, highrises, and yatches made this place so interesting. Take ur time on holes 13th and 14th for some photo opts. Go play, you will not regret it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Cancun gem!"


Rexus7's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

I came to Cancun with my own clubs on a 4 day vacation with my wife. I wanted to play early so I booked an early tee time with our hotel’s concierge. I should’ve used the Puerto Cancun transport option of $25 USD round trip. I ended up paying $35 on my own - don’t make the same mistake.

I arrived and paid at the clubhouse. Then went to the range to warm up with the 50 balls. The range is in great shape - flat lies, accurate yardage markers, and high quality layout.

I was about to practice my short game but the starter asked me if I wanted to play 15 min before my time as I’d be stuck behind a slower beginner 4-some. I agreed and teed off without taking a single practice putt. Don’t do this!

The greens are in perfect shape! Like pristine with very few divot marks. But you’ll need to practice the speed. They are not fast but not slow and rather large greens. I’m not used to this type of grass but they rolled true. The greens don’t break a ton so don’t over-read breaks on shorter putts. If I practiced beforehand, I might’ve learned this but I have no regrets about not having the chance. Finished the round in 2.5 hours.

Fairways are very wide (I hit from the blue tees) and the fairway bunkers are in the perfect places. Like the other posts say, it’s very easy to lose balls. If you miss left or right off the tee, you’re better off just taking a drop or playing your 3rd. No chance you’re going to find it. I brought extra balls just in case and ended up losing 3 balls overall.

The entire course is surrounded by new construction as it’s in a up and coming section of Cancun seemingly for people with more money. The sounds of construction didn’t bother me at all but was kind of helpful for aiming off the tee.

Watch out for the crocodile filled ponds on the course. I saw one hanging out on the 12th hole. Don’t take risks on the par 5s - not worth the risk. You’ll have to carry water or waste areas. Take your chances on the par 4s.

Overall, I loved this course (5 stars). Very high quality staff and practice range. Course was in great shape. Hole 13 is a long par 3 with wind into your face as you approach the water. Hole 14 is amazing along the water and possibly a drivable green for longer hitters. I was just short of the green with a good drive.

If you are new, then I’d recommend buying the yardage book for $100 pesos. I didn’t and lost balls not knowing where the blind shots would land.

If you’re staying in the Hotel Zone, definitely worth playing... I’ll be back again. (the taxi drove buy PokTaPak and it looked old and run down if you’re comparing)


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



u5416079's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Great course in general"


t1899377165's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in fantastic condition, fairways, greens and tee boxes very well maintained. The course was really nice to play and well set up, providing a decent test of golf for a 10 handicap player. Lots of water and bunkers but the fairways are fairly wide on all holes, if you can’t hit the fairway off the tee expect to be in real trouble as the rough is basically jungle! At $120 for the round which included golf hire, buggy and 50 range balls it was well priced. Only downside was the pro shop prices...... charging $50 for 12 mediocre balls is harsh to say the least. All in all it was a great course to play and I would recommend it


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u380591457's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good course"


Almon456's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played with 3 members. They made me. Feel welcome. Very helpful and outgoing


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



kseyfferth's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



mfkrope's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/02/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Wondeful"


None's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/31/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

What A beautiful course. Loved the natural setting and the 17th hole that ran along the ocean. Greens and fairways in terrific shape. Would love to play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000006804187's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Great course phenomenal greens"


u697886970's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately if you play as single thru the Golf app they don’t put you out with other players and you and up waiting to play or you skip thru the group ahead of you. I would definitely recommend playing with a group of players at this golf course so that You can enjoy a four hour round. Very long and challenging course. I alway play from the blue but here i play from the whites. The par three’s are very challenging two of them are 200+ yards for the white tee markers and 240 from the back tees

Bill L


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great experience"


dws5724's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed this course. Played as single in less than three hours. Only a few minor glitches.

I’m left handed and rental set had no driver. Putter was poor. Irons were new and great. Greens were heavily sanded and slow. Saw a large crocodile over two meters and left a ball. I was more than happy to move on. Would recommend this course if you can get a great deal. Bring extra balls. Tight around greens


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



bugnoh's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course - great shape"


u000001944741's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really like this course. It's in great shape and a really nice layout. Booked on GolfNow for $80 so a fair price. Regular price is like most Caribbean golf, overpriced. Rented clubs that were good and fairly priced.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice course..worth playing"


VicBisc's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the first time we played this course and we were happily surprised. Nice course set by a marina and the ocean. Excellent course conditions. It also plays women friendly with red tees set far enough forward from men's tees to make it a fair game. Flat course but still challenging. We happened to get "hot deal" on golf now which made the price right, otherwise kind of pricey. Great staff..very friendly and accommodating. We will go back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000004122182's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the course was in perfect condition.staff was extremely friendly. had a wonderful time


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed