Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
204 Reviews (204)
5 Stars
163
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.8
Value
4.5
Layout
4.7
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.5
95.6%
Recommend this course
195 out of 204 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
16 Reviews (16)
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.6
Value
4.4
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.5
87.5%
Recommend this course
14 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.7
51 Reviews (51)
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.8
Value
4.6
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.7
96.1%
Recommend this course
49 out of 51 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Private
Par 71
Length 7059 yards
Slope 140
Rating 72.9
Book a Tee Time at
Wickenburg Ranch Golf & Social Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2015
Fairways Bentgrass
Greens Bentgrass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Wendell Pickett (2008) Bill Brownlee (2008)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper Golf Attire

Accolades

Reviews

4.7
204 Reviews (204)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 13
Forced Carries 12
Undulating Greens 11
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 11
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 10
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 9
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 14

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Worth the money

The course was in fantastic shape. Greens were bent grass and fast and true. Lots of undulations And held the shot in very well. If you hit a bad shot you will pay. The views were amazing.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 02/20/2020

Dear John9908175,

Thanks for your review of your round and experience with us. We are glad to hear the conditions exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed the views. We look forward to having you back out in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Director of Golf

Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
First Time Playing

Must Play

Have been playing golf for almost 50 years and have played over 350 different courses and this is as good as it gets

Staff - friendly, informative from the bag drop , pro shop , starter and ranger

Tee boxes - perfect , grass is tightly mown, level
Fairways - - perfect
Bunkers - only was in 2 green side , they were perfect

Greens - bent grass , rolled true and at a good speed. They are large and undulated

Layout - lots of elevation changes

Pace of play - threesome 11:00 time , finished in 3:50 playing behind several 4somes

There are a few blind shots so if you are lucky to play with someone that played the course ask questions

While quite the drive from Phoenix , at $145 in January this is worth every penny

Great course, must play

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 02/20/2020

Dear Sam5773357,

Thanks for taking the time to provide a very informative review of your experience with us. We are glad we were able to meet and exceed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Director of Golf

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 02/20/2020

Dear stevenmariani,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us and we look forward to having you back out soon.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Director of Golf

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Wonderful experience

Troon knows how to treat golfers. It was a beautiful day and the course was great. The course is difficult with several par 3s a little long for we recreational golfers. Keep up the good work. Thank you

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 02/20/2020

Dear u000001632694,

Thanks for your feedback and comments regarding your recent experience with us. Thanks for your support and we look forward to having you back out with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Director of Golf

Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Amazing condition

I feel like I’ve played a lot of courses and I’d say the condition could be some of the best I’ve played. At times it felt like I was at Augusta National. Absolutely pristine conditions. It was a bit of a drive from Scottsdale but was well worth it. We played TPC Scottsdale stadium course the day before and Wickenburg was just as fun with better conditions.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 02/20/2020

Dear u000005878546,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback, and glad you saw the value in the experience provided. We pride ourselves on our course conditions and always great to be compared to great courses such as Augusta National and TPC Scottsdale. We look forward to seeing you back out in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Director of Golf

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Top 1000 Contributor
Quebec Advisor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great course with some caveats

We had passed on Wickenburg Ranch in previous years because it's quite a long way out of Phoenix, but decided to finally go for it this year. Our expectations were high, and in the end our experience was mixed.

On the upside, the views are fantastic throughout, with elevated teeboxes allowing you to soak it all in; the conditions were superb from tee to green, showing great care is taken to keep the course in top shape, and the staff was very friendly from bag drop all the way to the end.

The biggest caveat was probably the noise level; unfortunately the course is setup such that you hear all vehicles using the nearby service roads, as well as ongoing construction of houses; not sure how much can be done about those, but it does make the experience less peaceful, which is what you would expect when going this far out of the city.

Another thing of note is design issues on a few holes, creating several blind or semi-blind shots along the way. The biggest offender is probably the par-5 9th, where you won't see the green until you are about 70 yards in; with a great view looking back from the top, it feels like a wasted opportunity for this hole to be somehow turned around.

Short of some major rework on those holes, an in-cart GPS seems like it would be a welcome addition, especially given the price of admission, and would help alleviate these issues.

We really wanted to like the course, and we still had a great time; but considering the aforementioned issues, the trek and price, we probably won't go back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 12/18/2019

Dear GolfLeo,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. I do apologize for any outside noise that you may have experienced, this is definitely not the norm. It is a challenging but fair design, which we feel our aiming posts help in guiding you around the course. Although we don't have GPS on the carts, we do offer yardage guides, which assists with holes with somewhat blind approaches such as #9. Despite these inconveniences, we do hope you enjoyed the course, which is in immaculate condition as you mentioned, as we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Best Conditioned Public Course in Arizona

The course was perfectly maintained. Tee large tee boxes were perfectly square and level. Greens were pure. This course isn't easy, but it has the widest landing areas from the tee of any desert course in AZ. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 11/30/2019

Dear jmpeck25,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience with us. We pride ourselves on course conditions and overall experience so we're glad to hear we hit the mark on this visit. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Boston Advisor
Top 25 Contributor
First Time Playing

Truly spectacular

It is kind of sad that a lot of folks from Phoenix and Scottsdale think that this course is too much of a trek for them. This is a true gem of a golf course, the layout is one of the best I have ever played and the condition is top notch. With elevation changes and several semi-blind shots, Wickenburg Ranch will make you work off the tee. The greens are large and they all rolled true for us on this day.
We just played six courses in the area in six days on a buddies trip and this course was in the top two alongside Quintero. Also, the service here was over the top, especially the bartender Mo, she will surely make you laugh. If you’re planning a trip to Scottsdale suck it up and make the hour long drive to this course, you won’t be sorry.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 11/30/2019

Dear BostonGolfTraveler,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit with us. The picturesque drive to Wickenburg Ranch is calming before the challenging but fair test that Wickenburg Ranch provides. We are glad you found it to be a gem, and more importantly that the service exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your future visits with us.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 100 Contributor
Arizona Advisor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great time - worth the drive.

The course is in great shape. It just recently came out of overseeding. The greens were soft, but oddly fast. There were hardly any blemishes on the greens. They looked like a carpet. The fairways were all green and full. This is a beautiful course. It is not an easy course. You need to control your shots, or you will end up in trouble. This is a fun and interesting course. I had a great time. Well worth the drive to get here. We played in about 4 hours. The carts have a cooler with ice on them as well as a ball washer and club cleaner. which makes it very handy.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 11/30/2019

Dear trogersaz1,

Thanks for taking the time to provided a detail account of your experience with us. This overseed was one of our best in recent times, and we're glad you enjoyed the pristine conditions. Overall experience is important to us and glad pace of play and all amenities provided exceeded your expectations. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice course

first Time playing this course , overall the course was very good ... fairways were maintained , and greens were firm and fast . My only complaints are they did not have gps in carts , and the pro shop did not offer course play books , making this course very hard to play ...as many of the holes are “blind” shots . We would have enjoyed course more if the carts were equipped with gps . Nevertheless, I would play this course again .

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 10/08/2019

Dear u244006554,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and a rating of your recent experience with us. Unfortunately we don't offer GPS but we do have yardage guides available in the Sportshop for assistance while on course. We hate you were not able to receive one before playing. We look forward to having you back out again soon in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Will come back again.

Great layout, in wonderful condition. I just wish they had a Ranger present to monitor pace of play!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 10/08/2019

Dear u1664508,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and a rating of your recent experience with us. We appreciate your comments and assure you we have a Player Assistant monitoring pace of play on a daily basis. We look forward to having you back out soon.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Pace of play was great and the course layout was awesome.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 10/08/2019

Dear jlighthipe,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and a rating of your recent experience with us. We appreciate your support and look forward to having you back out soon.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great cousse

A great course in exceptiional condition for August

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 10/08/2019

Dear Holeinonex4,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and a rating of your recent experience with us. We look forward to having you back out soon.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 100 Contributor
Arizona Advisor
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Hard to beat

The tees are huge and they let you use the entire width of them and yes they were just plugged but still great. The fairways had no issues or problems and the large greens were just a few ball marks short of pristine. All the greens had nice/interesting curves, levels and pin placements. The layout is down through ravine after ravine except for the ones that went up the ravines and a few above the ravines. There are a couple of places where you are looking at subdivisions being built but the course is a real treat. The rather spacious bunkers are filled with high quality soft sand that was a pleasure to hit out of. Nothing even close to the hard pan I’ve seen all summer in the valley. The staff was gracious and helpful and if you could find anyone as personable as today’s bag guy/cart guy/starter Jeff McTighe you should hire him . He made my day with good info and pleasurable company. Kudos to Wickenburg Ranch. Didn’t eat there but the kitchen smells had me drooling.
It’s a first class operation. Writing this while sitting on one of the many patios overlooking the 1st and 18th holes. At this time of year, the twilight rate is a bargain, treat yourself!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 10/08/2019

Dear 98azelda,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience with us. Your informative review really covered every aspect of the facility and Jeff is one of our shining stars. We look forward to having you back out soon.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course, but...

Excellent layout and course condition. The staff friendly and helpful.

The only negative is the lack of drinking water on the course. There is none on about the last eight holes due to some type of problem with their water stations. The starter advised us to get water from the cart girl! Really? Buy water or go without in the middle of summer? This is unacceptable. WR should get a few bIg igloos and stock them with ice and bottled water.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 10/08/2019

Dear u314159445182,

Thanks for taking the time to provide a rating of your recent experience with us. We have addressed the water issues and apologize for the inconvenience caused. We look forward to having you back out soon.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 10/08/2019

Dear jsilverberg,

Thanks for taking the time to provide a rating of your recent experience with us. We look forward to having you back out soon.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Top notch

It was a pleasure getting to finally play this golf course. Greens and fairways in this kind of condition, at this time of year, just don’t exist in Arizona. The layout is challenging, but not impossible. I shot an 82 playing the blue tees. 13, a 220 yard par 3 is spectacular. I’ll play this course, and make the drive every chance I get. It’s a class joint.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 10/08/2019

Dear cjw269,

Thanks for your feedback on your experience and kudos on a great round of golf from the blue tees. We appreciate your support and look forward to having you back out in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

MAKE THE TRIP OUT

This course is 100% worth the drive! If you don’t make it out to play this course, you’re doing yourself a disservice. Best greens you’ll ever play on! They were absolutely perfect. Course is so fun to play, great views and awesome mix of challenging holes. Only a few shots where a first time player might not know where to hit, otherwise it’s prerrt straight up. Course is in fantastic shape other than the tee boxes just punched but that is irrelevant. Make the trip!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 10/08/2019

Dear TheBeej13,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience with us. You are spot on with your comments on the views and mix and match of challenging and risk rewarding holes. We look forward to having you back out in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
b244d63d-5448-5767-a6a2-fcaab64826e0
Commented on 10/08/2019

Dear bdodridge,

Thanks for your feedback and ratings on your recent experience with us. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Steve Outlaw, PGA
Head Golf Professional

Nearby Courses
Wickenburg, Arizona
4.2014352941
278
Wickenburg, Arizona
4.6589588235
444

Stay & Play Offers

From $325
Valid dates: Mar 06, 2020 - May 06, 2020
Talamore’s Spring Signature Package (2 Nights / 3 Rounds), starting at $325 per person.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE