Cruiser at Seal Beach Navy Golf Course

4.0868117647 4.1 stars from 5 (66)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 31
  • Length: 2020 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - $10
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Navy Golf Course Junior Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 31 2020 yards N/A N/A
Yellow (W) 31 1905 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 66 Reviews
5 stars:
22
4 stars:
26
3 stars:
13
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

60 out of 65 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Great for beginners 9-hole rounds locals  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the price great course with a couple difficult par 3s


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 07/06/2018:

We are glad you found value in the course! Come play again soon.

"Great deal"


alex6280661's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Was a great deal for 10 dollars for 18 and a cart can't beat the price


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 07/02/2018:

We are glad you found value in the course! Come play again soon.


u000002858665's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 06/19/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star rating. We are glad you enjoyed the Cruiser course!


Kreewise's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 05/29/2018:

Thank you for the great review! Come play again soon.

"Traps suck"


u445041782's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have been playing on this course for years and love it there but the sand traps are like washed out riverbeds. Hard as rock with a little sand on top. Seriously guys, get it together.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 05/18/2018:

Thank you for the terrific feedback! We'll absolutely pass along your experience with our sand traps to our maintenance team. Please come and see us again soon.

"Lack of Common Sense"


u000005449664's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We play this course regularly and this is the first time we've been so frustrated. For Mother's Day, our son came in from out of town to surprise my wife and we booked a 2 some and a 3 some as we had five of us. A 5 some teed off ahead of us and were playing briskly so we caught up with our twosome ahead and played as a 5 as well. Pace of play was perfect on the front 9 (1.5 hours) with literally nobody waiting behind us. Then the Marshal decided he needed to strictly enforce the no 5 some rules and broke both of us up into 4 groups. Now the pace of play was slowed, with groups backing up behind each other all over the course (2.25 hours for 2nd 9). His reason was that if he let us play with 5 on the Cruiser course, then people would want to play as 5 on the Destroyer course, and it's design would not support it. He readily admitted that we were both keeping up a brisk pace and not slowing anyone down. Lame excuse as they have 2 distinct courses and there is no reason they can't enforce different rules for each course. To make matters worse, he bird dogged us all over the course to make sure we didn't join back up into a 5. Management should re-think how they treat customers. If a 5 is slowing play, absolutely break them up or rush them along but don't unnecessarily mess with a good flow just to show authority.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 05/15/2018:

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry to learn you may not necessarily agree with the no fivesome policy for the Cruiser course, however, we enforce it to make sure everyone is on the same page and there are no exceptions.


u130641283's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 05/07/2018:

We are sorry to learn your experience with us was anything short of 5 stars. Please, do not hesitate to give us more detailed feedback in the future.

"We keep coming back!"


HreyBoyz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Choices all around us, my three sons and I keep coming back to this nice layed back course. Always in good shape, always a good value! Thanks!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 04/23/2018:

Thank you for the great 5-star review! We look forward to seeing you and your sons out here again soon.

"great work out"


u000003921475's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's a great little course for iron play although a few holes you can bring out your driver. Always in good shape with very challenging 3 pars that make you play! Always test my irons out here.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 04/23/2018:

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the challenge the course has to offer. Come play again soon.

"Fairways need some work"


u000006314360's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the first time playing the 9 hole course but I've played the adjacent 18 before. They need to give the 9 hole some extra loving in the fairways to make it a good course. The staff is very nice and the clubhouse is well kept but the same can't be said for the fairways.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 04/17/2018:

We appreciate your feedback and will look into your concerns regarding the fairways. We hope to see you out there again soon.

"Greens Recently Punched"


u000005762139's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If I'd known in advance about the greens, I would've looked elsewhere. Since it was only about $15 with a hot deal and less than a mile from the house, I can't complain. The practice was cool and played our golf rather leisurely. Normally, the course is very good. Some water would help the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 04/17/2018:

We will look into the greens but are glad you found value in the course. We hope you give us another shot soon.

"Very well maintained and challenging."


Cjensenx6's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The golf course was in excellent condition. The greens were very fast and the staff was very friendly. The only drawback in my experience, was that the pace of play at 12:30 in the afternoon was too slow. When we got to the ninth T there were two threesomes stacked up on the Tee Box ahead of us. So, I will definitely be back when I have more time.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 04/17/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad you had a good time, and hope to see you out there again soon.

"Backed up"


Paul4226134's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was over booked. Tees off 40 minutes late and sat waiting at each hole at least 20 minutes. Waste of time.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 04/17/2018:

We apologize for your negative experience on the course this time around. We will take steps to speed up the pace of play, and we appreciate your patience.

"Valentine's Day fun"


Damian11's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My wife and I played in 3 hours and 15 minutes. The best part of the course is the condition of the greens. They're in great shape. Most bunkers are devoid of real sand, more like dirt and have a hard clay bottom. The tee boxes are thin and if you're not in the fairway it's gopher hole city. Watch out for a sprained ankle if you're walking. We enjoyed the solitude.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 04/17/2018:

We're glad you and your wife had a good Valentine's Day out on the course. We hope you both give us another shot soon!


herbnorth's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 04/17/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star rating!

"Holiday Busy Round"


Damian11's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Chose to play on MLK Holiday and it was packed with small children with their parents or grandparents. In addition, many high school age kids playing there too. I knew it would be a long day when the starter apologized before we tee'd off. The un-raked bunkers, and dozens of ball marks on the greens was very disappointing.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 01/23/2018:

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We thank you for your patience as long holiday weekends to tend to be more packed than usual.


herbnorth's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 12/12/2017:

Thank you for the 5-star rating! Come play again soon!



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 12/12/2017:

Thank you for the wonderful rating! We hope to see you out there again soon.


herbnorth's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 11/28/2017:

Thank you for the 5 stars! Come play again soon.


whockerson's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Navy Golf Course on 11/22/2017:

Thank you for the 4 stars! Come play again soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed