Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
162
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
77
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
5
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.6
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.4
Layout
3.8
89.8%
Recommend this course
143 out of 162 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
162
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.8
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.6
Layout
3.8
87.5%
Recommend this course
14 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
162
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.6
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.4
Layout
3.6
92.1%
Recommend this course
35 out of 38 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 70
Length 6004
Slope 112
Rating 68.7
Type Public
It might not have a lot of competition, but Gilroy Golf Course dubs itself as the "Best 11-Hole Golf Course in America." Built by local farmers and businessmen in 1923, this unique 11-hole routing east of Santa Cruz features small greens and wide, tree-lined fairways set along the Uvas Valley that has changed very little since its founding. Though not a full 18, the golf course is still plenty challenging, including the 245-yard par-3 8th hole, a scenic tee shot considered to be the course's signature. Gilroy Golf Course has suitable BBQ and outing facilities for larger groups.
Book a Tee Time at
Gilroy Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 6004 yards 68.7 112
Green 72 5320 yards 70.1 110
Scorecard for Gilroy
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
White M: 70.1/110 375 342 383 520 157 369 432 260 171 3009 395 369 355 500 128 388 354 338 168 2995 6004
Green W: 70.5/112 357 312 344 483 122 355 380 243 155 2751 360 283 348 462 86 332 344 247 157 2619 5370
Handicap 3 11 5 9 13 7 1 15 17 4 12 10 8 18 2 6 14 16
Par 4 4 4 5 3 4 4 4 3 35 4 4 4 5 3 4 4 4 3 35 70

Course Details

Year Built 1924
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.9
162

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 6
Brunch 3
Amazing Food 2
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 14
Elevation Changes 13
Undulating Greens 6
This course/club is great for:
Locals 22
9-Hole Rounds 15
Seniors 14
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 16
Worth the Drive 8
Near Local Attractions 3
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

What A Good Day at Gilroy Golf today!

Wow it was so good and so smooth and peaceful today at Gilroy Golf Course. I really enjoyed myself and my game was spot on for not golfing in a while. I shot a par on the first hole and it is always a good way to start off so a good game will continue. I shot an 80 today . YAY
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Gilroy Golf Course on 08/01/2018:
Thank you for rating us. We are always wondering about how we can improve, and we would welcome hearing any specific feedback that you might have.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Not a bad hillside course hidden in the hills

Cool place to play in the bay area. It's very hilly but offers nice views and some good challenges.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

I Like This Course

This is not a classy course but a very friendly one with plenty of holes to use your driver without losing all your balls.. The staff treats like family. I always look forward to seeing Bruce. The prices are good and course in reasonable condition. The cart paths always need work but at least you can drive out onto all the fairways except par 3s. Mike
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Average
Response from Gilroy Golf Course on 07/09/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Gilroy Golf Course, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we hope this improved your overall experience with us. Thank you for your choosing our course, in the California Santa Clara County area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Fair
Response from Gilroy Golf Course on 07/03/2018:
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are always looking to improve and would welcome any additional feedback that you might have.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A fun few hours.

Not in the best condition but it’s a course you can go hit some balls around and use every club in the bag. It’s cheap, carts included, fast pace of play most of the time and is always fun.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Average
Response from Gilroy Golf Course on 06/07/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

great day .Great Game

I always enjoy going to Gilroy golf course ,Don and Butch and all the staff are so nice and friendly to me. I had a good game 47 on the front { Hadn't golfed in a while]. The back nine got a little better 41. All and all a good day and lots of fun as usual there at Gilroy Golf course
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course at a fair price

Gilroy Muni is a great 11 hole course that will challenge you with uphill holes like #7 and fun elevated tee boxes like #8. Most greens were in good condition and the staff is friendly.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great Value Fun Course

Friendly staff greeted us and gave us a few tips regarding the course. The course was well maintained and challenging... this Golf Now price was a great value and we had a great time on the course!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Default User Image
u8536665
Commented On 05/24/2018
Thanks for leaving us such a nice review. It's great to hear you enjoyed our staff and course. We work hard to make sure everyone leaves happy and it's nice to be appreciated. Thanks again and we hope to hear from you soon.
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Gilroy, California
3.7821352941
280
San Martin, California
4.9666666667
6
Gilroy, California
3.5085
59
Morgan Hill, California
5.0
1
Watsonville, California
4.0
4
Watsonville, California
4.0
1
Royal Oaks, California
3.3260823529
175
Aptos, California
3.9663411765
308
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE