Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.1
31 Reviews (31)
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Conditions
2.3
Value
3.5
Layout
3.6
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
2.3
75.5%
Recommend this course
27 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.0
5 Reviews (5)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
2.2
Value
3.0
Layout
3.4
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.3
StaffFriendliness
4.4
60.0%
Recommend this course
3 out of 5 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.0
5 Reviews (5)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
2.2
Value
3.0
Layout
3.4
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.3
StaffFriendliness
4.4
60.0%
Recommend this course
3 out of 5 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 6667 yards
Slope 133
Rating 72.0
Book a Tee Time at
Lost Plantation Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1988
Greens Bermuda
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ward Northrup

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.1
31 Reviews (31)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Best Round

First time playing here and broke my personal best score by two shots. Loved the layout and overall course.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 63
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Ok

Very sparse fairways. Very dry so not any mud but pretty much every shot is on dirt. Greens were just sanded so did not putt well. Got a hot deal but not worth it considering poor course conditions.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

WHAT HAPPENED!

From the flooded first hole, numerous above ground mole crickets tunnels in the fairways and no grass on some of the entire tee boxes, this course in it's present condition is the worst course I have ever played. When you are in the middle of the fairways and you need to move your ball several feet so you can find a spot which resembles grass instead of hitting off the mud, there is a problem. I have played Lost Plantations over the years and it is sad to see how the care of this course has collapsed. To see GOLFNOW fee of $35 which is close to $40 with fees for playing this golf course in this condition is completely unfair to the paying customer.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 04/11/2020

Lost Plantation began a huge renovation last summer which started with the clubhouse and restaurant. Now that those things are completed, the golf course is in the middle of some really big changes. Currently the weeds that had taken over the course have been killed. New grass will begin to appear and will produce a quality golf course. The plans are very strategic and the risks will be worth it! We are sorry to hear of your experience, but we encourage you to come back and watch the progress! Even though it is a long, hard process we are excited that it is finally happening. Thank you for sharing your opinion, and we look forward to giving you a greater experience in the very near future at Lost Plantation!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

pretty good

I really like the course layout and pin locations. the only downside was the greens, they just need some love. 8/10

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 45
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Course in bad shape

Like playing in a cow pasture very little cart path and they cart path only due the rain we only played 5 and a half holes will not be going back to it.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very Mixed Feelings

I would like to love this course but can't. It is a very interesting track and some of the holes are very challenging. It is very narrow (on the hard holes from trees on other holes with houses) on a number of holes and the greens can be tricky. This could really be a beautiful course, but it didn't appear well kept. Carts very beat up (seats all ripped and duct taped). I have never seen more empty beer bottles on a golf course in my life. Must have been 4-5 per hole, laying in the trees, marsh, water, on the fairways. While the idiot golfers who do this are to blame, the golf course not picking up some (i can't believe these are from one day) is also a problem. Cart path and greens are not in great shape. This could be a very good course if it was better managed (and marshaled for idiots who litter).

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 08/19/2019

Sorry to hear you had a negative experience. We invite you to come back soon to see all of the amazing changes that have been made! We are under a new management team and have had a full renovation. All of the issues you mentioned have been addressed and although we aren’t completely through with the renovations, it is a completely different place! We look forward to hearing from you after your next visit! Thank you for taking your time to express your concerns.
~Lost Plantation Golf Club~

Played On
Reviews 10
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very good layout with some fun and challenging holes. Course winds through lots of trees and a housing development. Course was not in the best of condition, greens and fairways on the shaggy side. If booking through an online site, be sure to tell the pro shop when you check in the rate you bought it for or they will try to charge you their normal rate.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 16
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

winter in hilton head

always looking for a new course in the hhi area. we had read the reviews and seen the tv ads, so we decided to give it a shot. GLAD we did. the course was damp, cart path only and we still played in 3 hours. the greens had some spots but overall they rolled true, fairways are just beginning to green up, winter in the southeast. the course is excellent mix of holes, some with wide fairways some with tight landing areas, long and short par 3s and 4s. a definite repeat.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 14
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Glad I went here to play

Like most golf courses in the winter after a rainy period it was a little wet.....However the greens putted well which is always the most important thing I look for. There were many extremely pretty holes and I thought it was a well designed layout. Looking forward to play here again in warmer weather with a lot of green grass. Very nice for a city owned course

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 37
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

Priced right

The day was beautiful.
The course was wet, cart path only for all 18.
I will play here again, because I love golf, but not after a rain day. The course does not drain well and all the bunkers were water logged.

Greens were in good shape, some people did not repair divots.

Golfnow prices make it worthwhile to go play and work on your game

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Played On
Reviews 54
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Goldilocks Course

Solid course without too much trouble but there is some out there. Not too long, not too short. Greens were not too fast and not too slow, just the right speed. Played Blues in 2 1/2 hours at about 6300 yards and shot at 75. Yellows pushed it back to 6800 yards. Golf Now rate was $10 with a cart.... yes you read that right! Should be about $40-$45. Definitely a hidden Gem just a few minutes from Savannah. Check it out, you won’t be disappointed. Will definitely be back to the Lost Plantation.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 30
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Best course no one knows about

A great little course in Rincon, minutes away from Savannah. The absolute friendliest staff, members sitting on the porch to make you feel welcome with corny jokes! My only complaint is they ran out of logo balls. The greens are in great shape and roll true. Course is tough enough to handle better players but not so bad where it’s not accommodating to novices. And the price? You wouldn’t believe me!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 58
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Picture perfect

Great Day at the course. It's nice to see such hospitable people in the golf business. Great staff at the clubhouse, friendly as can be. The course was in great condition. Tee boxes to the fairways and the greens rolling true. Nice roll in the fairways after a good pop!!!! New tee boxes on 17 will be nice when grown in. Love the last two finishing holes. Great course, not too much trouble, nice layout #1 par 5 reachable in 2 for a great start. Pace of play excellent. Sarah very accommodating on the turn for food. Will be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Hard to beat the value! 7/10 course

If you're looking for an in expensive yet fun course this is the one for you. I got a deal on golf now and after taxes and fees my grand total was $14. This course was pretty fun to play and was in fair condition for the time of year. In all of my reviews I always begin with the most important thing, the greens. They were in nice shape and rolled very well. I played the day after the club championship so the pins were fairly tough but I never hit a putt the went way off line. I was also fairly pleased with the FW and tee conditions for the end of October. Some improvements might be better yardages for the player. I was playing it for the first time blind (no rangefinder) and there are a number of holes where you would like to know how far it is to a hazard or something and you genuinely have no idea. I played the yellow tees all the way back and the played very fair. Beware, many holes if you miss the fairway you will likely be in trouble on this course but it is still very playable. Final thing, the course was very pretty too.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

ignore the bad reviews

Only lived here for 5 months now.I was really pleased to see that there's a local course that's cheaper and nearly as good as Crosswinds. I was impressed since some reviews are terrible.
I played in an outing. The greens are just as good as crosswinds and the staff said they were working hard to bring the course to better conditions. if that's true, then this course will be a definite GEM. Staff is friendly.
I was really pleased to see that there's a local course that's cheaper and nearly as good as Crosswinds.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Course has really come together!

I was surprised to see how much better this course has gotten. It's always been an up and then down again course. Right now, it's really up! The fairways are the best I have ever seen at this course! Greens are getting much better as well. This new guy running the course has done a great job! Hope it stays that way. I would compare it to Island West in S.C. With the lone exception being the greens aren't quite there yet, but they are definitely working on that! I will say, your Tee shot needs to be accurate on almost all holes or your on trouble! Tight course, but really fun.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Conditions are atrocious

Played day after a heavy rain, so it was cart-path only. That's not the fault of the course, however, the fact that there is uneven grass on the green and tees is. The greens are extremely slow and you really never know where your putt is going, because after you line it up and hit it, it might be thrown off course by an errant tuft of grass. Whoever is writing all these glowing reviews must be an owner as this is one of the worst maintained golf courses I've ever played.

Because of the wetness, many of the fairways were squishy, but again, not the course's fault and to be fair, if dry, they probably would be ok. Many bunkers had standing water and none had been raked. The conditions are doubly a shame as its an interesting layout which favors the right-handed golfer with a draw or lefty with a fade and could be a great course if worked on.

Staff (1 guy in the pro shop) was very friendly, but he also had to retrieve carts from the garage for us, so I guess they're a bit understaffed. Also, its in a housing development with some of the houses practically on top of the tee boxes and fairways. There are no signs once you pull into the development, and you just have to drive until you stumble upon the clubhouse.

It was cheap ($22) to play, but none of our group would go back.

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun to play,greens were great !

course was in great shape,greens were true.new carts.I am 66 and shot 83 from whites.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

First time there...had new carts and enjoyed playing a good round on a well kept course. But could use more signage to get you to the clubhouse.

First time there...had new carts and enjoyed playing a good round on a well kept course. But could use more signage to get you to the clubhouse.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Nearby Courses
Savannah, Georgia
Public
4.1309235294
536
Bluffton, South Carolina
Public
4.1091764706
724
Bluffton, South Carolina
Resort
4.4647058824
21
Savannah, Georgia
Semi-Private
3.2102823529
65
Hardeeville, South Carolina
Private
0.0
0
Savannah, Georgia
Semi-Private
3.3816705882
296
Pooler, Georgia
Private
0.0
0
Hardeeville, South Carolina
Public
4.4411764706
12
Bluffton, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.0392058824
7
Savannah, Georgia
Resort
4.7012176471
367
Savannah, Georgia
Private
4.0
1

Stay & Play Offers

From $646
Valid dates: Jul 01, 2020 - Dec 31, 2020
The Residences at the World Golf Village offers a home style atmosphere for your stay near golf rich activities and history at the World Golf Hall of Fame, Slammer & Squire and King & Bear.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE