Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
27 Reviews (27)
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.9
Value
4.9
Layout
4.9
Friendliness
4.9
Pace
4.8
Amenities
4.8
99.4%
Recommend this course
26 out of 27 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
5.0
7 Reviews (7)
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
5.0
Value
5.0
Layout
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
5.0
StaffFriendliness
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
7 out of 7 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
5.0
7 Reviews (7)
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
5.0
Value
5.0
Layout
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
5.0
StaffFriendliness
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
7 out of 7 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7348 yards
Slope 136
Rating 73.7

Nestled at the base of Mt. Sopris, River Valley Ranch Golf Club has a diverse layout that stretches from the rolling valley floor to the banks of the Crystal River. The natural contours and wetlands were fully utilized to create a challenging and scenic golf course. Since opening in 1997, the course has received tremendous praise, including being called "the jewel of the Rockies" by Golf Magazine. Sagebrush and pinion pines line the lush, rolling fairways and strategically placed bunkers contrast beautifully with the verdant, lightning fast greens. The hilly terrain provides a challenging up and down nature and from the golf course's highest points, golfers can take in breathtaking views of the surrounding snow-capped mountains. In addition to the course, River Valley also has a driving range and a practice putting green where you can work on your putting and chipping.

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Ranch 72 7348 yards 73.7 136
Back 72 6600 yards 70.6 129
Middle 72 5964 yards 68.0 116
Forward (W) 72 5168 yards 68.4 114
Scorecard for River Valley Ranch
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 72.9/130 423 538 219 397 551 457 325 179 407 3496 352 573 446 192 410 480 234 617 449 3753 7249
Black/Blue M: 71.0/128 406 538 186 374 551 427 325 179 407 3393 352 573 428 192 410 444 193 617 396 3605 6998
Blue M: 69.8/122 406 515 186 374 514 427 286 167 367 3242 352 540 428 166 378 444 193 578 396 3475 6717
Blue/White M: 68.7/115 376 474 186 374 514 398 286 167 333 3108 352 499 375 166 378 419 193 513 365 3260 6368
White M: 67.2/111 W: 72.6/140 376 474 157 340 478 398 237 162 333 2955 321 499 375 135 291 419 154 513 365 3072 6027
White/Red M: 65.0/104 W: 70.7/136 259 474 128 340 440 350 237 162 333 2723 321 430 375 113 291 328 122 477 365 2822 5545
Red M: 63.5/99 W: 70.1/125 259 437 128 310 440 350 205 145 271 2545 284 430 350 113 271 328 122 477 278 2653 5198
Handicap 8 4 12 14 10 2 18 16 6 13 9 7 17 15 1 11 5 3
Par 4 5 3 4 5 4 4 3 4 36 4 5 4 3 4 4 3 5 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1998
Fairways Winter Rye Grass
Greens Winter Rye Grass
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01
Architect Jay Morrish

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Reviews

4.6
27 Reviews (27)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Incredibly Beautiful Course

Below the majestic Mt. Sopris, lies this jewel of a course...incredibly friendly Cours and Staff with challenges for all types of golfers....also an Excellent restaurant on site with the finest views of the Crystal River and Valleys.......the course is in excellent condition as well!!.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Beautiful golf course, outstanding service!

Beautifully maintained golf course with stunning views of Mt. Sopris. Great layout, fun for all abilities. Everyone was friendly and helpful, from the starter, to the golf shop staff, to the golf professionals. Homestead Bar & Grill was outstanding. Great food, great service, and unbelievable setting.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Best course public within 50 miles

The course is in great shape. It is clear that the new management knows what needs to be done to keep the course in great shape and the golfers happy.. Everything runs very smooth and I feel like my business is appreciated. The restaurant is great. Food is good and the service i excellent.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Mountain beautiful

If you want a pristine course with beautiful Mountain View’s you want to play this one.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

River Valley Ranch Golf Course

My experience at River Valley Ranch Golf exceeded my expectations in every way. The new management has definitely taken RVR to the next level. The staff is welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The golf course, set in one of the most beautiful locations in the Roaring Fork Valley, is both fun and challenging, and it is in immaculate condition. The same can be said about the new Homestead Bar & Grill. The service and food are excellent, and the setting is breathtaking. I would recommend RVR to all who love golf in a beautiful mountain setting. You won’t be disappointed.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great staff, pros and restaurant. Course is beautiful.

RVR is an easy course to navigate, challenging but fun. There are 2 experienced pros who are always glad to help. There are clinics for different levels and a great driving range. The restaurant is wonderful, serving breakfast on the go, lunch at the turn and full menu for lunch and dinner. The views from this course are fabulous! You will not be disappointed playing here!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great layout, with the best views around.

This was my first time playing RVR in years. I was very impressed with the friendliness of the new staff and management. The course has always been one of my favorites in Colorado, but the condition this Spring is better than I have ever seen it. I look forward to coming back and bringing my friends any family to show them the NEW River Valley Ranch!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

This course has awesome views

This course is awesome to play very fair and straight forward. The staff and amenities were outstanding and very helpful. We had a afternoon tee time and didn't see another person until the 14 the hole. Beautiful views of Mt Sopris and the Crystal river. The greens were in perfect condition and rolled very true.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

4-star,especially for women

Nice layout and conditioning. Not much elevation change. Not many forced carries, good for women.
Big gripe with amenities. Waited for rental clubs which needed to be arranged and cleaned. Then discovered that not all clubs were cleaned, had two p-wedges and hybrid was broken. Lousy putter. Driver had scratches on top. Had to wait ten minutes for hot dog at turn and it was cold. Did not lose place on course because of slow play behind us. When I made tee time, was not told that I was in middle of Men's team play. We were twosome and could have played at another time. Again, nice course, sub-par management.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Best public course in the area

This is really a nice course in great condition. The layout is very cool and every hole is unique. I have played all the public courses sin that area and it is by far the best. Great setting with Mt Sopris in your view on every hole.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

GoodCourse, Great Views

Excellent course conditions with great scenery. The course has a river that runs through it. It is relativly flat with some elevation changes. No blind shots. Staff was friendly. Seemed like a members course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Beautiful place especially for the price

Beautiful mountain course with amazing views. Well worth the price and it was actually a great deal using golf now. Only a 45 minute drive from Aspen. We are going back again today.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

great course lots of fun

great condition greens run true great views lot of different, interesting holes

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course was in great shape

Loved being able to rip a tee shot every hole!! Beautiful scenery, very fun round of golf.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

nice course. staff not so much

Nice views of Mt Sopras. Course green but wet. Its been raining alot so they need to turn down the water schedule on the greens. Greens look fast BUT they are not. The outside staff was polite. However the bar tender got upset with me for asking for more ice in my drink. He started throwing things and walking clear across the bar to the other side to slam the refrigerator door.. It was disturbing and kinda comical at the same time. A real unprofessional move. The women at the pro shop checking in was quite rude as well. She looked and saw I booked on golfnow.com and proceeded to treat me like i wasn't worth a darn.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens were in great shape

Great place to play driving range was in good condition glad I found it on golf now

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Excellent views.

Very nice mountain course. Course map or GPS would be useful as it can be difficult to pick the right lines from the tee. A little course knowledge will go a long way. I would expect to score better next time.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun layout and well maintained.

Played the first day from tips and second from the blues. They had a tournament going the first day with some faster greens and tricky pin placements, but it was fair. The second day it had rained a lot the day before and the course was very wet, greens were a lot slower and it was easier to score well under those conditions. There are a few holes on the back that require careful tee shots to avoid water and protected areas. Recommend studying the GPS for trouble before teeing off each hole.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

awesome

great course, beautiful views of the mountains. great value

Conditions Excellent
Value Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

great time!

This was a great deal on a great course. Staff was super nice and the pace of play was good. I will definitely plan on playing this course again. Thanks for an enjoyable experience.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Nearby Courses
Carbondale, Colorado
4.7142857143
3
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
4.8095142857
5
Basalt, Colorado
0.0
0
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
0.0
0
Gypsum, Colorado
0.0
0
Snowmass Village, Colorado
0.0
0
New Castle, Colorado
3.9909705882
64
Gypsum, Colorado
4.8226571429
30
Aspen, Colorado
4.7857142857
5

Stay & Play Offers

From $84
Valid dates: Aug 15, 2019 - Aug 31, 2020
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $84 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE