Puakea Golf Course

4.2227529412 4.2 stars from 5 (243)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6954 yards
  • Slope: 130
  • Rating: 73.1
  • Layout

  • 4150 Nuhou Street, Lihue, Hawaii 96766, Kauai County
  • (808) 245-8756
  • (808) 246-8537
  • www.puakeagolf.com

Year built: 1997
Architect(s): Robin Nelson (2003), Wadsworth Golf Construction (2003), Robin Nelson (1997)
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Green 72 6954 yards 73.1 130
Blue 72 6471 yards 70.6 128
White 72 6061 yards 68.8 124
White (W) 72 6061 yards 75.1 129
Red 72 5225 yards 64.8 115
Red (W) 72 5225 yards 69.8 119

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 243 Reviews
5 stars:
81
4 stars:
136
3 stars:
22
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

234 out of 242 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near the airport near local attractions   Great for wildlife/ scenic views locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes water hazards   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u000003114915's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
Previously played Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good conditions good vistas"


u253819320's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Plenty of difficulties to consider. Enjoyed the round very much.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Must play on Kauai !!"


cobraman530's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Do not mistake the fact that this is not a "resort" course. Plays in the natural surroundings with plenty of variety on each hole. Greens are in excellent shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Golf especially for the money in Hawaii"


captjimbo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great condition with beautiful views and interesting holes. Pace of play was good. Practice range was okay not great. Got a good tuna sandwich for a reasonable price with chips included. One negative was the lack of covers for clubs on the carts and with a bit of rain during the round that was somewhat concerning. But overall it was a good track.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Puakea"


lepazz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course & fun to play. Unfortunately greens had just been air rated and sanded but was not advised till I arrived at course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Maybe the best deal in Kauai?"


GolfTrotterQc's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played this course twice. After six nice but standard hole, we get to a more hilly part, and we’re in for a great ride. The back nine is very solid, specially the 11 to 18 hole where you have to think your way on a very good design . Golf is not cheap in Kauai but at 85$ this is a very good deal. Also the café is a popular spot and the food is good.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Mblair0815's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Good, bad and the ugly."


Dshabby's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Overall pretty good course. It is challenging and requires some target golf and course management. I am a higher handicapper, 1st time playing this course and 1st time playing this year and I still managed to par a few holes.

I decided to stick with a 3 wood instead of driver to minimize hazard issues from wayward drives. Greens roll fairly true and are pretty good shape.

Great driving range, they have a restaurant but never tried the food yet. bathrooms available but no sink in the bathrooms and more upkeep needed as they were smelly. Golf carts were nice, nice paths to drive on, good signage, friendly staff.. We will purchase a multiplay card to save a few dollars on our rounds.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Best 18 hope value on Kauai"


Donald5891560's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the 12 th time to play this course. Over the years they keep improving it. Good practice facility as well. Only negative is you have no ocean view holes but you do have some very scenic holes. Fun to play for all handicaps!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



MikeFegan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"The Good & the Bad"


Mel4wine's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/08/2018
Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Weather and course were great, pace of play was excellent (played 18 in 4 hours, 10 minutes). Too bad my game has deteriorated, but then, we all loved the opportunity to be out here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great value"


u000005101255's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout — not a ‘trick’ hole on the course. Very nice condition. Very congenial staff. Played as a single on an early Friday afternoon in just under three hours. Only minor gripe is with the bunkers — they were a little ‘chunky’ and I don’t think it was only because golfers in Hawaii apparently have an aversion to raking bunkers! It looked to me that they probably don’t dress them in the morning every day. All in all, though, very enjoyable.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent Value. Loved the course."


u00000124629's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

While on vacation from Arizona, I found this course and played it about 11:30. The course was well protected so the wind was rarely a factor. It was a challenge from the blue tees, but fairways were pretty wide open. Not really a long hitter with a handicap of about 20-23. The greens were in excellent shape and rolled true but a little quick at times. Had an enjoyable time with playing time of just about 4 1/2 hours. Would certainly play it again and would recommend it to friends.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Sweet surprise"


brentfao's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The rebuilt Puakea course is a beauty, with the one exception that it (realistically) can't be walked. Course designers in Hawaii don't understand that golf is a walking game.

Otherwise, it is as wonderful a layout as any in Hawaii, for a third of the price, and good practice facilities. Need challenge? The green tees are 7,000 yards. No green is without sand traps. The old par 3 course holes are still amazing.

Encourage you to give it a try


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Value"


u321434790's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Read about this course on Golf Now so gave it a try. We were pleasantly surprised. $45 green fee including golf cart exceptional value. Great layout, playing from the blues is a good challenge. We are here for 3 weeks and this will be our regular place to play. We can play here four times for the price to play at one of the high end courses. So glad we gave this a try.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"nice course"


rwong65's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was my second time playing this course when we have been visiting Kauai. It is a nice course with some interesting holes and it was in pretty good condition. We just had the bad luck of getting behind 3 groups of women who were slow enough to add an extra hour plus to our round. There was no marshall on the course.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/02/2018

dhags5 - Didn't see any sexism in the comment...he just stated the slow groups ahead were females...would you have been upset if he'd said the 3 groups of old men or young kids? Just stating facts.


Commented on 12/01/2017

Why is it relevant that the slow groups in front of you were women? Please reconsider your future comments with a less sexist world view.



U000005332120's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Best Course on Kauai"


Golfaudrey's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a wonderful round here!

Staff is super friendly and helpful.

Interesting and challenging layout with great views of mountains shrouded in mist.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Challenging and beautiful course"


jimhillis's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was my second time playing the course. I found it much more fun this time and a better course than I remembered from two years ago. There's quite a variety of holes, wth the back nine more challenging and scenic. But there are a lot of traps, and I found many of them. This course is a good buy compared to many of the scenic courses on Kauai.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Last round"


Patwjones's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Before heading back to the mainland this was my last round. Had great breakfast to start and some locals to play with as I was a single. Had a great round and will be back the next time on Kauai


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed