Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
2.5
219 Reviews (219)
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
69
2 Stars
39
1 Stars
32
Conditions
2.2
Value
3.0
Layout
3.7
Friendliness
3.3
Pace
3.6
Amenities
1.9
45.9%
Recommend this course
135 out of 219 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.2
13 Reviews (13)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
5
Conditions
1.8
Value
2.5
Layout
3.2
Pace
3.6
Amenities
2.0
StaffFriendliness
3.3
30.8%
Recommend this course
4 out of 13 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.1
43 Reviews (43)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
14
1 Stars
13
Conditions
1.7
Value
2.6
Layout
3.5
Pace
3.5
Amenities
1.6
StaffFriendliness
3.2
30.2%
Recommend this course
13 out of 43 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 6924 yards
Slope 127
Rating 73.6
Book a Tee Time at
Laurel View Country Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6924 yards 73.6 127
Blue 72 6431 yards 71.8 131
White 72 5449 yards 66.7 118
Red (W) 73 5286 yards 71.8 130
Scorecard for Laurel View
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 74.0/136 354 196 423 549 492 331 249 579 459 3632 334 561 184 286 480 429 425 180 389 3268 6900
Blue M: 71.8/131 325 173 395 530 459 320 213 549 434 3398 309 525 157 278 453 387 398 167 359 3033 6431
White M: 69.0/129 290 150 370 510 415 320 185 515 352 3107 309 500 147 278 453 362 368 167 314 2898 6005
Red M: 68.1/121 W: 71.8/131 280 99 270 443 407 282 121 482 346 2730 278 492 106 247 400 241 355 133 304 2556 5286
Handicap 13 15 5 9 1 17 11 3 7 12 6 14 16 8 2 4 18 10
Par 4 3 4 5 4 4 3 5 4 36 4 5 3 4 5 4 4 3 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 13 17 7 1 3 15 11 5 9 12 2 18 14 8 10 4 16 6

Course Details

Year Built 1969
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Architect Geoffrey Cornish (1969) Bill Robinson (1969)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper attire is required.

Reviews

2.5
219 Reviews (219)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 7
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 21
Narrow Fairways 15
Water Hazards 14
This course/club is great for:
Locals 24
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 10
Advanced Golfers 8
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 19
Convenient to the City 15
Worth the Drive 8

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Don't Waste Your Time Or Money!

Laurel View Country Club used to be such a fun and great course to play. I live in town and it was always packed on weekends and well kept. However, things are going terribly down hill. Do not waste your money or time by playing at Laurel View.

I scheduled a tee time through golfnow.com and purchased a Hot Deal for $18/person with cart. I paid in full at the time of purchasing the hot deal. The next day we arrived and checked in the with starter at the desk. He informed us that they just implemented a new policy with Hot Deals and the price is now $23/person. Even though I purchased the advertised price, we needed to give even more money.

The course itself is awful. The fairways look like roughs on most courses. The roughs are really high grass. Not sure how many balls we lost just because of the roughs. The 'sand' traps are just rock filled dirt. There are no water containers for the players to drink from or use to fill up their water bottles. The ball washers are either completely dry or completely missing.

I only gave 5 stars to the pace of play because we were the only ones on the course for the most part. Everything else was a 1 star.

I hope Laurel View comes around, but until it does, don't waste your money or your time. It is not fun at all anymore.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 05/22/2019

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for your experience during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. Please contact GolfNow customer service with your reservation number. Thank you for playing Laurel View.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

What happened?

I had played here just once and it was a few years ago, but I was still surprised how this course is. I doesn't appear they have done maintenance in months. It was all bad - fairways, greens, and even the tee boxes. The layout is odd and frustrating. I won't be back.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 05/20/2019

Hi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Laurel View. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Rough conditions

Laurel View is in sad shape. Today was wet, but the course is in overall bad conditions, bunkers are unplayable. The pro unexpectedly charged me an extra $6.00, seems to have been a ripoff, but some guy is the clubhouse gave me free practice balls,, so a wash. probably won't play here for a while.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 05/20/2019

Hello, Jeboriah. Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. Your feedback about the course is important to us. We with the recent rain we are working to get everything up to par. The current condition is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. Please contact GolfNow customer service with your reservation number at (800) 767-3574 regarding the additional charge. We will continue to work towards an excellent experience by using your comment for guidance. Thank you for playing @LaurelViewCountryClub. We hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Satisfactory.

A little more maintenance to this course could make a world of difference. Some improvements were made from last year especially on the 11th hole.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 05/20/2019

Hi! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back! Thanks for choosing Laurel View.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Fake price

I bought two hot deal tee times of 7 players through online booking. The price in website was $18 green fee plus $3.49 of convinient fee. But there is a different rate of $23 minimum payment in the pro shop. So the person in pro shop extra charged $5 per player. The person said it is the order of his boss. This is unfair and fake online price. I complained but the pro shop person said if I don't pay the extra charge he will refund through GOLF NOW. Ii is terrible experience for me.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 05/17/2019

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for your experience. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. Please contact GolfNow customer service with your reservation number and speak with a member of their amazing team for resolution of this issue, and thank you for playing Laurel View.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 05/10/2019

Hello. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We see you rated the course 1-star and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take single star feedback very serious at our course. You are welcome to comment further or reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Laurel View.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

Needs some care

Haven't played this course in a few years. The greens & fairways were maintained but the rest of the course needs TLC A number of par 5s and long Par 4s that can eat you up unless you are along ball hitter. With some maintenance and care this course could come back to be the hidden gem it was. It is still good to play if you are in the area!

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 05/01/2019

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for choosing Laurel View.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
First Time Playing

If Only.....(2)

I posted a long review last night that didn’t show up...,

First time playing this course.
I read the bad reviews AFTER I already made my reservation. I tried to cancel but decided to stick it out.

IF ONLY this course would listen to all the golfers that complain about the same issues.

*no basic maintenance anywhere on the course
*fallen trees everywhere ... on the cart paths, greens & fairways.
* a cart available woulda been nice for the front 9, that I paid for
*did not see a single worker on the course. Only “2” working the desk. (???)
*bunkers should all be out of play. Ridiculous condition

I loved the layout and the challenges of the course itself.

Town of Hamden needs to present a golf course or sell it for condos.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course didn’t have enough golf carts and we had to walk. Greens were in TERRIBLE shape .

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 03/28/2019

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for choosing Laurel View.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
First Time Playing

If only .....,,

I booked my Golfnow round before I checked out the reviews online.
So.... I went today with a totally open mind as Laurel View has gotten many poor reviews.

The course layout was extremely challenging!
I really enjoyed the day playing these holes.

Now....IF ONLY they would repair the cart paths.
IF ONLY they would clear the downed trees that are all over the golf course.
One such tree was actually on a par 3 green-which I parred!!
Another small tree was blocking a cart path-easy fix
Several small trees could of been moved easily.

Maybe it’s because they just opened, although I played with a regular LV golfer that told me the lack of hands on care tends to be the norm here.

I really wanted to give a good review being the first time here in 25 years.
I will give Laurel View in Hamden another shot this year.

IF ONLY they would get caught up on the maintenance....geez

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 03/28/2019

Hi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Laurel View.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Needs work

Course needs a lot of work. Good news is that I have heard that they have a very good new member on the grounds staff .

Also a pricing issue, they do not honor the price shown on golf now site, not happy.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 05/22/2019

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for your experience during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. Please contact GolfNow customer service with your reservation number. Thank you for playing Laurel View.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 05/20/2019

Hi. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing @LaurelViewCountryClub.

#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Please mow the lawn

I understand that it is early and that the greens crew has not had a real chance to get ahold of the place yet but then you should not be open if the fairways are uncut and the greens are fuzzy.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Laurel View Country Club
Commented On 04/02/2019

Hello. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We see you rated the course 1-star We take single star feedback very serious at our course. You are welcome to comment further or reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Laurel View.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Laurel View Country Club on 10/10/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for playing Laurel View.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

Fix this course

What used to be a good course is no more. Every sand trap was weeds and rocks . No sand. Tee boxes and greens poorly maintained.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from Laurel View Country Club on 09/25/2018:
Hello, Leo. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for choosing Laurel View.
Played On
2.0
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Poor value for amount charged

Played this course for the 3rd. time and that would be the last. Travelled an hour and a half to come play due to a friend leaving nearby. The facility is dirty. The Bathroom is filthy with cobwebs, dirt everywhere, and light fixtures hanging down. there are no staffs on site or the course if something transpired. The Golf shop is a rundown room. The course itself is what it is. It is a shame that such a beautiful space is being managed this way. I was insulted for the price paid to play and the amenities received which is basically none. It is Heartbroken to see how filthy the property is. Will definitely saved my $50 and play somewhere else.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Laurel View Country Club on 09/10/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We apologize that we did not provide you with the top-notch golf experience you were looking for. Please give us a call and request to speak with Matt Menchetti. We would like to make this right
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

First Time

I wish I could have played this course 20 years ago, as I bet it was one of the best in CT. The layout & design is amazing. It uses the CT countryside extremely well. However, the overall condition of the buildings, cart paths, etc. is not very good. Too bad...This course has some very memorable holes.

Conditions Poor
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Laurel View Country Club on 09/10/2018:
Thank you for providing very helpful feedback! We're working hard to improve conditions and we hope you'll return in the future for a better experience with us.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Review

The course could be a very nice course If it was maintained, for the price I played with 18 I can't complain I got a golf now hot deal for 20 dollars but I would not recommend paying more than that the bunkers were non playable as they were all over grown with grass and I arrived at the course early to be able to go to the driving range before my round but they were out of balls which I know happens but what I don't understand is how 4 hours after my round they still didn't have any balls for the range so in conclusion if you can get a hot deal or pay 20 dollars or less I'd go to this course but if not spend your money somewhere else

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Laurel View Country Club on 09/04/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Well it was only $30

This course isn’t the best maintained. The greens are in very poor shape. There are interesting elevations and some blind shots. They probably aren’t going to put money into the course so I probably won’t be back anytime soon.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Response from Laurel View Country Club on 09/04/2018:
Hello, Kent. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Avoid at all costs

Man they have let this course go. The course conditions are deplorable. Greens are gross dead spots everywhere crab grass growing right in the greens. Bunkers are overgrown with plants and haven’t been raked all season it seems. Really sad, this course isn’t far away from closing down. I won’t be back, and wouldn’t even go if it was free.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Laurel View Country Club on 09/04/2018:
Hello, Michael. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Nearby Courses
Hamden, Connecticut
1.3333333333
3
Hamden, Connecticut
5.0
2
Bethany, Connecticut
4.3748117647
141
New Haven, Connecticut
3.8235294118
4
Wallingford, Connecticut
4.0
1
Prospect, Connecticut
0.0
0
Wallingford, Connecticut
4.2021941176
208
Woodbridge, Connecticut
4.2367882353
353
New Haven, Connecticut
4.0666666667
6
Wallingford, Connecticut
0.0
0
Woodbridge, Connecticut
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$232 Starting price
Valid dates: May 27, 2019 - Sep 01, 2019
Experience golf at its best on five fully renovated championship courses in pristine condition. This summer, villa accommodations start at just $232/person/night—or you can upgrade to The Sanctuary Hotel from $404/person/night (midweek).
Stay and Play
TPC Sawgrass Experience Golf Package
$776 Starting price
Stay and Play
PARK CITY VACATION DEALS
$84 Starting price
Stay and Play
Stay & Play Escape at Eagle Eye!
$155 Starting price
Stay and Play
Stay & Play this Summer at Hawk Hollow!
$125 Starting price
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE