West at White Pines Golf Course

3.5026294118 3.5 stars from 5 (243)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6624 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 71.5
  • Layout

  • 500 W Jefferson St, Bensenville, Illinois 60106, Du Page County
  • (630) 766-0304
  • (630) 766-0626
  • www.whitepinesgolf.com

Year built: 1930
Architect(s): Jack Daray, Dick Nugent (1982)
Type: Public
Golf Season: April 11 - October 20

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - $10
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Play Better Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: Amex MasterCard Visa Discover card(s) Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6624 yards 71.5 127
Black (W) 72 6624 yards 77.8 135
Gold (W) 72 6504 yards 77.1 134
Gold 72 6504 yards 71.0 126
Silver 70 6335 yards 70.2 124
Silver (W) 72 6335 yards 76.2 132
White 72 5989 yards 68.6 120
White (W) 72 5989 yards 74.2 128
Maroon (W) 74 5751 yards 72.9 125
Maroon 74 5751 yards 67.5 117

Situated just 30 minutes from downtown Chicago, White Pines Golf Club has been a popular spot for both locals and visitors. The club offers two courses, the East and the West. The West Course is longer than the East by 400 yards and considered slightly more challenging. The layout is relatively tight and there is an abundance of trees, which means you'll need to be accurate to do well. The greens are large and challenging with difficult-to-read breaks. There is also minimal, but strategic bunkering along the greensides. The fairways provide plenty of variety with some that are narrow and heavily tree-lined and others that are wide with no trees in sight. The golf course has several challenging holes but it's forgiving enough for beginners to approach with confidence.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 243 Reviews
5 stars:
33
4 stars:
107
3 stars:
61
2 stars:
28
1 stars:
14

recommend this course

190 out of 239 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is near the airport convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers walkers   Challenges include water hazards narrow fairways bunkers   Great for drinks watching the game patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Long and fun"


u00000562400's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course long the rough was rough but a great run


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from White Pines on 06/21/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review of White Pines. Please come back and visit us soon.


Jose6890029's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from White Pines on 06/21/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star review of White Pines. Please come back and visit us soon.

"DANGER! Killer Cart Paths!"


bholmer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Gravel cart paths now feature hundreds of water-filled potholes - dangerous to your spine!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from White Pines Management on 06/11/2018:

Your feedback on cart paths is greatly appreciated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.


u7909240's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from White Pines Management on 06/11/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star review!

"There is nothing wrong with this place"


u000002047419's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

There is nothing wrong with this place. That should probably be the official motto. The layouts are fine; the conditioning is fine*; the amenities are fine. And if you get one of the cheaper prices it's a pretty good value.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from White Pines on 06/04/2018:

Thank you for the review of White Pines. Please come back and visit us soon.

"Fantastic Course for the Price"


u923201157's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Great pace of play. Staff was awesome. Let us play an extra 9 for free


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from White Pines on 06/04/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review of White Pines. Glad to hear the course was in great shape and the staff was friendly. Please come back and visit us soon.

"Course has potential if they better maintain and invest in it"


TeeItUpAllYear's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

About the fifth time playing the course in the past ten years. Management has many opportunities to make improvements, but don’t see them. On the positive side, greens were in really good shape. Staff was courteous. $49 with cart is reasonable on a holiday weekend. Maintenance on the rest of the course was lacking. Numerous dead trees, inconsistent mowing (clipping clumps everywhere), beat up cart paths, etc. Never saw a ranger to check Pace of play, and limited drinking water spots on the course.

In the Chicago metro area, there are several courses that are better options for about $10-20 more per round.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Frank Bonanno on 05/30/2018:

-TeeItUpAllYear<br/> <br/> Our team appreciates you choosing to play at White Pines Golf Club and for your feedback. We understand the challenges and opportunities that we have on our property. We did remove over 200 trees during this off season and we will continue to address that issue. Cart path renovations will depend on the long term direction of our facilities. Please feel free to contact me directly at 630-766-0304 x3002 or by email at bonanno@whitepinesgolf.com.

Thanks Again <br/>

"Slowest play ever"


crecchio's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

There are no rangers so this was an extremly painful round waiting at least 5 to 10 min for every single shot


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Frank Bonanno on 05/30/2018:

My name is Frank Bonanno and I am the Director of Golf Course Operations at White Pines Golf Club.<br/> Our team is sorry to hear about the unpleasant experience that you had at White Pines Golf Club last Friday.<br/> At your convenience, please contact me directly at 630-766-0304 x3002 or by e-mail at fbonanno@whitepinesgolf.com.

Thank You<br/>

"great course except for...."


jeff6806101's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had fun on our round. Would do it again. My only complaint is that the grass was too long off the fairways. If you hit your ball 5 feet off the fairway good luck finding your ball. There were people all of over the course looking for balls that should have been easily findable. I walked away from atleast 5 of them after searching for 3 min. I'll go back when the grass is managed better.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from White Pines on 05/30/2018:

Thank you for playing White Pines. We are sorry to hear the grass was a little long when you played. We hope your next round with us is much better.

"Seen Better Days"


FrielJames1960's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The west course at White Pines has an interesting and challenging layout. The fairways and rough could be in better shape - partly due to the weather this year and to the general upkeep of the course. The greens were actually pretty good, they rolled nice and reasonably fast despite some aeration that hasn't fully healed. The sand was better than the local average which isn't a rousing recommendation but there is sand in the bunkers despite the weather. It was a cold day and our last two holes were rained out. I will play there again this summer to see how the course has fared with sun and heat. It was well worth the golf now hot deal price we paid.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from White Pines on 05/16/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star review of White Pines Golf Course. Please come back and visit us soon.

"White Pinea East Course"


blanigan66's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The East course is in excellent shape!! They have done a very good job surviving our stubborn winter and getting the course ready for the season. The hole positions for the day were innaccurate and did not correspond to the map but the greens are not huge anyway so it was not an issue.There was a maintainence crew on one hole, removing an old dead tree, that showed no regard for the golfers on the course by blocking the cart path, leaving tools sprawled all around and acting like they were at the beach on vacation. But other then that, it was a great experience. I got lucky and played it when there were only a few others out there. I flew around and finished in less than 3 hours. I give White Pines East high marks and would recommend it as a great value for the price and good test of skill.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from White Pines on 05/16/2018:

Thank you so much for the kind words and the 4-star review of White Pines. Please come back and visit us soon.

"Dybo's Take"


dybo1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Playing a round in 4 hrs and 15 min on a,Sunday afternoon was good. Course was under upgrades or changes in prep for warmer weather so there was ground under repair areas not marked or sand piled up in traps awaiting repair or replenishing...all in all we had and enjoyable time and was worth it


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



golfbug418's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"White Pines West"


aLb0t's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

They really need to redo the cart paths. Currently just mud and gravel.

West is tougher than East. West plays longer and i think has tighter fairways.

Greens were rolling well. Rough was very short. Fairways were a bit muddy from a wet week of rain.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u553934790's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



esmathed53's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



esmathed53's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Green improvement"


copper701's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Been shooting here 4 years..but for the last couple the greens were in bad shape..looks like they fixed the problem. Although the course was soggy, the greens rolled true..And it looks like the elimination of trees should speed up play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



golfbug418's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course for the Money"


u000006712163's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was well maintained for this time of the year. The pace of play allowed me to get into a rhythm with game. I would highly recommend this course to all range of golfers.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed