Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
291 Reviews (291)
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
128
3 Stars
69
2 Stars
32
1 Stars
15
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.0
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.7
85.5%
Recommend this course
231 out of 291 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
31 Reviews (31)
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.2
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.3
93.5%
Recommend this course
29 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.9
35 Reviews (35)
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.0
Layout
4.0
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.2
88.6%
Recommend this course
31 out of 35 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 70
Length 6371 yards
Slope 127
Rating 71.1

White Pines Golf Club is ideally situated for both locals and visitors with a convenient location that is just 30 minutes from downtown Chicago and only 10 minutes from O'Hare International Airport. The club has two 18-hole courses, the East and the West. The East is the shorter and more player friendly of the two at 6,371 yards from the back tees. The fairways are seemingly narrow but there is some room for recovery if you have an errant shot. There aren't as many bunkers or water as on the West Course, but there is enough to provide a fun round. In addition to 36 holes of golf, White Pines G.C. also offers the Golf Dome, one of the world's largest indoor golf facilities. It features five target greens surrounded by bunkers, 50 hitting tees on two levels, and six suspended hitting targets for practicing your accuracy.

Book a Tee Time at
White Pines Golf Club - East Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1930
Golf Season April 11 - October 20
Architect Jack Daray Dick Nugent (1982)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - $10
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "Play Better Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.9
291 Reviews (291)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 25
Watching the Game 14
Patio Dining 12
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 30
Narrow Fairways 25
Bunkers 23
This course/club is great for:
Locals 29
Advanced Golfers 19
Walkers 13
This Course's Location is:
Near the Airport 35
Convenient to the City 33
In the 'Burbs 28

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Insane pace of play

Pace of play was absurd. 7:30am tee time and waited for 10 minutes on the 2nd tee box. How could it be that backed that early? Struggled through 4 holes then said screw it and skipped ahead to 8, flew through the rest of the round. On the way to 9, we passed the 2nd tee box again and there were 3 groups (6 carts) already waiting. Yikes. This is all not to mention how sopping wet that course was after only a little bit of rain....

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/09/2019

We appreciate you leaving us a review. We're sorry to hear pace of play was a concern, but we hope you'll come see us again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 09/30/2019

Thanks for leaving us a review, we hope you'll come see us again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

West vs East

Played both today after heavy rain. Cart path only and West was significantly in better condition. Awesome replay rate too. Highly recommend this place.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 09/23/2019

Thanks for leaving us a review, we're glad you enjoyed your time at White Pines. Come see us again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Best price available for a good course

The weather was perfect for the morning. We were greeted by a friendly clerk. Did a quick warm up and proceeded to the first tee. This is when we were informed to start at the 10th Tee, not a problem until the the turn, now we are backed up and play is slow. We get out early to finish early. Golfers starting 2 hours later are now ahead of us. Not right.
Golf course was in great shape and pin placement was fair. I will return but will put up a fight if this occurs again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 09/13/2019

Thanks for leaving us a review, Willie. We're sorry to hear pace of play wasn't up to our usual standards, and we hope you'll come book another round with us soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

rained out.

There was a thunderstorm with heavy rain. Unable to play. One of my favorite courses.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 08/21/2019

We appreciate you leaving us a review, Trojan. Come see us again once things have dried out!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

West Course

Played a good round but could have done without the attitude of the old guy who spoke and acted like he didn’t want to be there. Maybe it was too early in the morning for him ( 6am) In any case, it was great weather a good round and pace.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/29/2019

Thanks for leaving us a review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your time at White Pines. If you'd like to speak to someone in management about your experience, please give us a call at (630) 766-0304. We hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

good deal for the money

White Pines has grown up to be a very legit track. We played 18 holes in 3-1/2 hours- during the middle of the day and on a Wednesday. There are some very challenging holes.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/26/2019

Thanks for leaving us a review, we're glad you enjoyed your time at White Pines! We hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Pros:
The greens were will kept, staff friendly, and the golf carts had solid GPS systems. We played after it rained so some other parties must have cancelled because no one was playing behind us. The pace of play was solid.

Cons:
The tee boxes were very unkempt. They were about as long as a short rough. There wasn't a lot of hole variability. Every hole was some variation of a slight dog leg, fairway bunkers, greenshide bunkers, and trees lining the fairways (very little water). So the course felt generally overpriced. I'd expect to pay $45 for this course and average green fees appear to be about $55 here.

Overall, I enjoyed the round, but would have payed less, especially if there was a discount to walk. I played the west course.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 07/25/2019

We appreciate the honest review, Ry. Our rates vary based on availability and time of day, and you can sometimes find them as low as $30 later in the day. We hope you'll book another round with us soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 07/18/2019

Thanks for the review, we hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/18/2019

Thanks for leaving us a review, we hope to see you at White Pines again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

West course

A nice course with some long driving holes . Challenging enough for the intermediate golfer . I will play again . Nice friendly staff

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/16/2019

Thanks for the great review, RCA. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great shape

Have been playing this course for years..Last couple the conditions were avg. Place was in great shape.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/16/2019

Hi Copper, thanks for your continued loyalty and for leaving us such a great review. We look forward to seeing you for years to come!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice layout and conditions

I hadn’t played this course in 20 years. I chose this course based on many of our group being from downtown Chicago and a few from the Northwest suburbs. We also needed a forgiving course as 3 of our 7 golfers are inexperienced women. This worked perfectly and all in our group enjoyed the day....along with the reasonable cost. A bad rain storm came in on our 14th hole, so we drove in to the clubhouse for about an hour delay. They let us play after the rains without any questions and even allowed us to change to the East Course(we played the other 14 on the West) due to play being cart path only & West was walking only. Pace of play was just right and would have been at 4 hours(rain came)...great considering we went off at noon on a busy Fri(July 5th). I will keep this course in consideration for the future.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/08/2019

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us after so many years away. Thanks for leaving us a review, we look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area - we just hope it's less than 20 years from now!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/08/2019

Thanks for the great review!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

very nice course! .

As a combination of sand trap, water, and distance, very nice fairways and playable roughs. All around very nice course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/01/2019

We appreciate you leaving us a review, be sure to book another round at White Pines soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Beware of Tuesday morning league on the East course

We recently played 18 holes on the East Course. The course was in good shape except for some of the traps, which were waterlogged from recent rains. The biggest problem was a woman's league ahead of us. The last two twosomes in the 18-hole league, no lie, took 15-20 strokes per hole on the 4s and 5s. Needless to say, the time for us to play the course was way too long. Stay away from this course on Tuesday mornings before 10!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 07/01/2019

Thanks for the review, we appreciate your understanding. Growing the game isn't always easy!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Always great fun!

Have played White Pines for 40 years. Has matured well, like fine wine. Mature trees, great greens, friendly staff, driving range and convenient central location for friends located throughout the Chicago area.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/02/2019

Thanks for the review, and thanks for your continued loyalty over the years! Here's to the next 40, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 06/18/2019

Thanks for taking time to review us on Golf Advisor, Rick. We hope to see you at White Pines again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

East Course

Aside from all the rain we've had and it being cart path only, it is a good course to play. Not too challenging and always fun.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 06/07/2019

Hi Kyle, thanks for the 5-star review! We hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Always fun to play

White Pines West is a solid course and for $40 after 1pm its a great value. The West course provides a test with some longer par 5's than the East. They recently upgraded their carts with GPS included. Pace of play was slow (5 hour round) but mostly due to cart path only, and bunkers need more sand, but other than that it is a well maintained track. Great option close to the North side of Chicago.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 05/30/2019

Thanks for the great review! Be sure to book another round with us soon, we look forward to having you back at White Pines.

Was this comment useful to you?

Stay & Play Offers

From $190
Valid dates: Dec 01, 2019 - Mar 01, 2020
Includes 3 rounds of golf - one each at Legacy Golf Links, 7 Lakes and Southern Pines Golf Club - and lodging for two nights in a 2 Bedroom / 2 Bath Golf Front Condo located on the Pinehurst Resort Golf Courses.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE