Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
176 Reviews (176)
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
84
3 Stars
44
2 Stars
13
1 Stars
6
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.1
Layout
3.7
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
81.8%
Recommend this course
151 out of 176 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.7
23 Reviews (23)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.0
Layout
3.7
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.3
78.3%
Recommend this course
18 out of 23 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.7
23 Reviews (23)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.0
Layout
3.7
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.3
78.3%
Recommend this course
18 out of 23 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 71
Length 6581 yards
Slope 121
Rating 71.3
Book a Tee Time at
Meadows Golf Club of Blue Island
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1994
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 10/31
Architect Porter Gibson

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies No
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Reviews

3.7
176 Reviews (176)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 13
Watching the Game 7
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 12
Thick Rough 12
Water Hazards 10
This course/club is great for:
Locals 20
Beginners 15
Seniors 13
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 19
In the 'Burbs 15

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Decent track, worth $40

Meadows is a decent public course, about exactly what you would expect for the price and the location (so close to the city).

The greens are pretty slow but in solid condition, there are small areas in some fairways that are in terrible shape. But overall, it's in decent condition.

The layout is nice - there are a number of blind teeshots and several holes that make you think.

I'll definitely be back if I can get it on GolfNow for $40 or less on a weekend but definitely not worth playing for ore $$$.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 07/07/2016

eldanomcmano -

Thank you for playing your last round with us! We greatly appreciate your patronage and value your opinion of us. We are pleased to hear that you like the course and had a great time with us! We look forward to your next round with us and appreciate the review.

Best Regards,
Meadows GC Management

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Slow round, course was ok.

Saturday golf. Slow slow slow. Waiting 10-20 minutes between sinking a putt and teeing off the next hole.

Greens were punched and not sanded, which made for interesting, bumpy putts. Second cut was pretty rough. Lost a few balls a few feet off the fairway.

Course layout was pretty nice. A few challenging holes, a few cakewalks. Staff all seemed really nice.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Default User Image
u000006164134
Commented On 06/23/2016

Is a poor pace-of-play standard here? I booked a tee time at 9:48 for Saturday, but I can't afford to do a 5+ hour round.

Was this comment useful to you?
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 06/02/2016

We are so sorry for the slow pace of play during your round. We hope this did not negatively influence your experience on our course.Thank you for your feedback, we do hope you come back to play again.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good value

This was the first nice day so the course was crowded. However the pace was pretty good. Greens were too slow but it's only April.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 04/18/2016

Thanks for playing at Meadows Golf Club ! We're really glad you came out especially this early in the season. Hope to see you lots more this season!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Average weather
Used cart

Good course

This is nice wide open course. Greens semi undulated rolling rather slow. Few observations:

1. No cheap par 3's
2. Plenty of blind tees shots
3. Reachable par 5's
4. No mature trees
5. Very good hot dogs

Enjoy your round and stop blaming the clubs, the greens, the weather, the people in front and behind you..........only one person make you play bad

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 03/25/2016

Thanks so much for your review! We're happy you made the most of your experience and enjoyed playing Meadows GC, thanks for the observations listed, great tip for new golfers to the course. See you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Fair weather
Used cart

Good Practice Course

First time playing this course. I paid only $10 on golfnow. It was in good shape for the beginning of November. The starter let me go off on the back since I was a single. It worked out great. The pace was great. I ended up joining up with another single and still finished 18 in right around 3 hours. Would play again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 12/08/2015

That's awesome! Thank you for leaving your review on The Meadows GC we appreciate your feedback. So happy to hear your round was enjoyable and it worked out perfectly for you. We can't wait to see you back again!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The Meadows Golf Club

It's a reasonably priced course with some blind tee shots and sloped greens. There mounds of fescue thru out the course. The only thing that I would like to see improved are the sand traps. There are more pebbles and stones than sand!

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 12/08/2015

We'll take that suggestion to our staff and crews, thank you for looking out for us! We appreciate the feedback and glad you loved the challenge too. See you back at The Meadows soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Good time, as always

I've been playing here for years and the price, course conditions and friendly staff never disappoint, and today was no exception. The course was in great shape for the middle of October, fairways in good shape, greens rolling true, and new tee boxes were being constructed, which bodes well for next season.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 12/08/2015

Very cool! We're so glad to hear the course and the friendly staff made your round a memorable one. We hope to see you real soon at The Meadows GC!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course!

Great course! Good level of difficulty! Slow pace though, however it was cold and windy out.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 12/08/2015

Awesome! So glad you made it out to The Meadows GC for your round. We hope to see you again once the weather improves. Thanks for playing!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Fair weather
Used cart

Lots of hidden shots

Outside of the dry spots in the fairway, good course for the money.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 12/08/2015

Excellent! We're happy to hear you found good value in playing here, we look foward to seeing you on your next round at The Meadows!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Good weather
Used cart

tjak

nice course. been avoiding it for a couple years. will not be long b4 I play here again.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 12/08/2015

Hi tjak, thanks for leaving your review on The Meadows! We look forward to seeing you back here for you next round. Come back and see us soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice course

Nice course. Very good pace of play. Greens are in excellent shape. Looks like their continually working on the course.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 09/16/2015

Awesome! Thank you so much for playing at Meadows Golf Club, we are happy to hear the pace of play and the conditions were on point. We look forward to seeing you on your next round here!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Maybe I'm too young to be at their club

I was excited to play at blue island on Monday. Let me start with the course. It's a easy very straight course. No real hidden terrain. The greens all slope away from the hole that's a little irritating but helps work on putting
The rangers were not so nice. Neither were the members. I was starred at by members like they never seen a black woman before and harassed by the rangers. They seemed to follow me to every hole. I'm unsure if I'll play again simply out of spite because I didn't feel welcome. Overall it could have been a really easy day however the clientele of the course needs some up keeping

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Average
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 09/16/2015

Thank you for leaving your feedback and review on Meadows Golf Club, it is important to us. We regret to hear that your round was not as enjoyable as it could have been due to the complication you may have experienced at the course. We assure you it is our utmost priority to provide a pleasant and golfer-oriented experience for every one of our golfers. This is not a typical day at Meadows Golf Club and we urge you to come back and let us know while you're here what we can do to make it the best golfing day possible for you and your group - we want you to leave with a smile from ear to ear and we do look forward to serving you. Please send us an email so we can sort something out for you on your next round:

MeadowsBlueIsland@aol.com

Was this comment useful to you?
Default User Image
ReverettE
Commented On 08/21/2015

Yes, they do have issues there. I used to make this course my practice facility, but not so much now. And the way they have treated one group with standing tee times is totally unacceptable.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good course for the money

Course was in good condition for such dry conditions in the weeks leading up to it. Greens were very well conditioned and actually saw a guy watering the greens which I've yet to see this year. A lot of blinding tee shots makes it difficult off the tee. Good course would definitely recommend to a friend.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 09/16/2015

Thank you for playing at Meadows Golf Club! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the conditions and the greens were up to par. Thanks for recommending us and head back over soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Sunday Golf

Decent course. Back 9 is nicer than front 9. Lots of slow play and beginners. Rate was good.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 08/07/2015

Hi Anderson, glad you got to play at Meadows GC thanks for coming out! Happy to hear the back 9 was enjoyable. See you again real soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Hole Jumpers

Excellent for the price , just moved from SoCal so were used to playing on dirt. Staff is friendly & attentive - bar n grill offers a nice selection at more than fair $$.
2 things to beware of:
1. if you end up in the uncut rough - do not even attempt to look for your ball - just play a "provisional" or take a mulligan.
2. Hole jumpers - one of the most annoying scenarios is all the sudden having someone right up on you because they are jumping from hole to hole . (usually a single thinking he owns the place)

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 08/07/2015

Thanks for playing at Meadows Golf Club! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the experience, the staff and the bar & grill at a great value! Great advice on the provisional, this might help some golfers. We'll keep an eye for hole jumpers, we do not condone it. Thanks and see you soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Meadows Blue Island Golf Club

Decent golf course, solid value. Odd Par 5 on hole 8..it needs to be longer.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 08/07/2015

Thank you for your review and your feedback is important to us. We are happy to hear you got a great value on your golfing experience at Meadows Golf Club. Hole 8 is an interesting one, we'll let our staff know and get some of their insight on the matter. Hope to see you soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather

Great Value, but Slow Play

For the money, a great course. Fairways, greens and rough were in really good condition. Tee boxes were also in good condition, but a few of the them (2 & 6) were badly sloped and didn't allow for a flat piece of ground to tee of from with where the markers were placed. Pace of play was terrible, 5 hours for a par 71, 6,500 yard (blues) course is unacceptable. There were multiple groups in front of me playing from the blues that couldn't hit their drives past the forward tees and although the staff was friendly, they should have asked the groups to move forward to the white tees and to spend less time on the greens. No point in reading a putt from multiples angles if its for double bogey. I teed off at 8:00 AM and will definitely play the course again, but try getting a tee time closer to 7:00 AM.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 08/07/2015

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you made it out to Meadows GC for your round of golf and enjoyed the conditions and the value. We have informed our team and staff of the concerns regarding pace of play. We will do everything we can to ensure you have the best round possible on your next visit. Thanks for the feedback and come back and see us!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

They put people off the back 9 in the morning

We went off around 8:30 and were able to get the front 9 in under 2 hours even if we were waiting on the groups ahead. By the time we made the turn we realized the club put a bunch of people off the back 9 before us and it took 3.5hrs to play the back. Would not recommend if that is common practice for them, they had an event later that day Which may be the reason they did that, however it's unacceptable to put so many people on the course you wait for 10minutes at every tee box. Don't go here unless you want a 5-6hour round

Conditions Average
Value Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 08/07/2015

Hi there, we appreciate your feedback on Meadow Golf Club. We regret to hear about the delay on the course, this is not typical and we hope you return for another round, let us know what we can do on your round to make it the best round possible! Feel free to send us a message so we can sort something out:

MeadowsBlueIsland@aol.com

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

father s day crowd

Very busy on Father's day, but the staff was great and overall handle things smoothly. A few backups, but the wait wasn't too long. Course was in good shape

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 08/07/2015

Thank you for coming out to play Meadows GC! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Father's Day round at Meadows and the delay wasn't too bad on a typically busy day of golf. We look forward to seeing on your next round!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good value for the money

Course was in the best shape that I've seen since I started playing there a few years back. Fairways and greens were in top shape. Pace of play was not very good due to a single club member who took it upon himself to jump from hole to hole causing backups on the tee.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
a725c540-f49d-5904-8641-c0e26ef5a362
MeadowsBlueIsland
Commented On 06/15/2015

Hi there thanks so much for leaving your feedback, we're happy you had a chance to enjoy Meadows GC and our conditions here at the course! Come back again soon we look forward to hosting your day of golf!

Was this comment useful to you?
Nearby Courses
Alsip, Illinois
4.0823470588
29
Chicago, Illinois
0.0
0
Riverdale, Illinois
3.4979529412
58
Midlothian, Illinois
0.0
0
Chicago, Illinois
0.0
0
Oak Lawn, Illinois
3.9129235294
91
Worth, Illinois
3.8515941176
174
Palos Hills, Illinois
3.7843235294
30
Palos Heights, Illinois
4.4397352941
84

Stay & Play Offers

From $329
Valid dates: Feb 01, 2020 - Feb 29, 2020
Three days of UNLIMITED golf and Three nights of lodging with FREE golf shoes.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE