Hickory Ridge Public Golf Center

4.5713529412 4.6 stars from 5 (45)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6863 yards
  • Slope: 129
  • Rating: 73.0
  • Layout

  • 2727 W Glenn Rd, Carbondale, Illinois 62901, Jackson County
  • (618) 529-4386
  • (618) 457-6243
  • www.hickoryridgegolf.org

Year built: 1993
Architect(s): William J. Spear
Type: Public
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Zoysia Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6863 yards 73.0 129
Blue 72 6486 yards 71.1 128
White 72 6075 yards 69.0 127
White (W) 72 6075 yards 75.0 131
Red (W) 72 5506 yards 71.4 119

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 45 Reviews
5 stars:
26
4 stars:
16
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

44 out of 45 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers locals wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include bunkers water hazards elevation changes  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"No problems"


Sliceroffthetee's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Being the first time I've play this course this year and after all the rain and bad weather, I couldn't of asked for a better place to play. Management has done an excellent job at keeping the course in playable condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u000004278736's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Hickory Ridge is always great. The pro & those who work there are very congenial. It’s one of my favorite places to play. I’d recommend it to anyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u3919433's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hickory Ridge"


u000004278736's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great location. Extremely friendly staff & pro. Course has a tremendous layout & always in great shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course and Staff"


u5278712's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beside an excellent, well maintained golf course, the staff in the clubhouse and on the course are friendly and helpful. A great day of golf!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Always in good shape"


u00000921478's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is one of the better courses available in this area. Very well kept. Good value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"terifffic day"


febjr60's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Saturday was a beautiful day for golf weather waS PERFECT THE COURSE AT hICKORY rIDGE WAS GEORGOUS AS ALWAYS COULD NOT HAVE HAD A BETTER DAY ANYWHERE ELSE


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very Nice Track...but"


DHaab's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I played Hickory Ridge in Carbondale on the morning of the total eclipse on Aug. 21st. It was quite literally the hottest day of the year. The course is very well designed, but there are a few criticisms that I have overall. This was my first time playing it, so I hit some drivers on a few tees that I should have hit 3 wood or even a hybrid. There are numerous blind tee shots on this course, so try to play with someone who knows the layout. Also, the greens were extremely SLOW on the day I played the course. On a nice course like this, faster greens are ALWAYS preferred and the slowness of these greens was quite annoying. Also, the fairways were not cleanly mowed on the morning that we played. It didn't ruin the round, but it was annoying. Overall, this course has 7 or 8 very memorable holes that really make you think and hit well played golf shots. I recommend playing it, but wish the course was a little better maintained than it was.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Not what it was at the start of the year"


u5906305's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love this course but the fairways weren't mowed recently and the greens were beat up. Good overall experience it jist wasn't what it was a month ago


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Doug9491605's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"challenging course"


febjr60's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the Fairways are fairly narrow well placed hazards and well kept challenging greens make this course one of my favorite in Southern Illinois


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Well manicured"


Lemonkitten's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in fantastic shape. Greens rolled true! Our group will be back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Unbelievable course"


u000006416344's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I've lived in Southern Illinois my whole life and played just about every course in it. Hickory is the best looking course , fairways and greens are second to none. The course has a great layout with many dog legs and a TON of risk/reward holes , rolling hills , undulations , elevated greens just a FANTASTIC course. If you haven't played Hickory your missing the boat


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hickory"


jsmith14's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape, greens were a little fuzzy although you expect that in winter. Overall course played nicely, staff was friendly. Hopefully get to play more rounds there is year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u000007115810's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/25/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition. Fairways well maintained. Greens in excellent shape especially this time of year. I have played several area courses recently and this course has my highest rating. Staff are very friendly and proud of their course. Hope to play this course again soon and plan to bring group of friends who will really enjoy playing course as well. Great day of golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"very enjoyable round of golf"


golfingtraveler's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very scenic course. The greens were perfect and made for a most enjoyable round


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great shape"


Michael1985038's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape .

Best in S IL by far

Great value for the money

Pace of play was good as well


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"This course was is pretty good condition"


Jollyb77's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/29/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well worth the money. Will play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"front nine closte"


1970ss396's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

everything was good except the front nine was closed so just played the back nine twice but everything else was good.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed