Fox Run Golf Links

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.0
159
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
75
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
14
1 Stars
5
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.2
Layout
4.1
Friendliness
4.1
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.9
89.7%
Recommend this course
140 out of 159 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.0
24
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.3
Layout
4.2
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.3
87.5%
Recommend this course
21 out of 24 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.2
31
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.3
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.5
90.3%
Recommend this course
28 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 70
Length 6257
Slope 125
Rating 70.1
Type Public
Fox Run Golf Links opened in 1984 but over the past two years the course underwent a major renovation that made the layout both more challenging for serious players but also more forgiving for the recreational golfer. The multi-million-dollar renovation included enhancements to the hole layouts, redesigning the bunkers, installing a new irrigation system, and creating new practice and chipping areas. Water comes into play often throughout the golf course and you'll find elevation changes on nearly every green. The water holes will be especially tough if you have a tendency to slice the ball. Thanks to the varied layout, which includes some holes that are wide open and others that are more target-style golf, you will get the opportunity to work on different types of shots. Fox Run Golf Links is a challenging but fair test that players of all skill levels can enjoy.
Book a Tee Time at
Fox Run Golf Links
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6257 yards 70.1 125
White 70 5935 yards 68.6 121
Gold 70 5616 yards 67.1 117
Gold (W) 70 5616 yards 72.5 121
Red (W) 70 5213 yards 70.3 116
Scorecard for Fox Run Golf Links
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 70.1/125 378 406 215 508 390 166 371 341 360 3135 370 477 397 384 415 182 331 173 393 3122 6257
White M: 68.6/121 360 388 197 492 374 151 361 316 344 2983 365 459 381 368 386 175 287 158 373 2952 5935
Gold M: 67.1/117 W: 70.3/116 350 330 173 463 348 151 351 316 335 2817 358 450 354 344 360 145 277 158 353 2799 5616
Red W: 72.5/121 313 321 169 453 334 110 304 298 321 2623 310 414 344 334 360 128 237 143 320 2590 5213
Handicap 11 5 7 1 3 17 9 15 13 2 6 12 10 4 14 18 16 8
Par 4 4 3 5 4 3 4 4 4 35 4 5 4 4 4 3 4 3 4 35 70
Handicap (W) 9 5 11 1 3 17 13 15 7 6 2 8 12 4 18 16 14 10

Course Details

Year Built 1983
Fairways Blue Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 3/01 Closed: 11/15

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies No
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Reviews

4.0
159

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 10
Patio Dining 6
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 17
Bunkers 13
Narrow Fairways 9
This course/club is great for:
Locals 17
Advanced Golfers 9
Walkers 9
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 20
Near the Airport 8
Convenient to the City 6
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 10/02/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star rating! Come back to Fox Run Golf Links again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 09/11/2018:
Thanks for playing Fox Run Golf Links. We're sorry to hear you were rained out after 5 holes. We hope you experience better weather next time you play out here.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 08/27/2018:
Thanks for the 4 stars! Come back soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Another awesome experience

What a great time again at an awesome municipal course! Although a bit of rain came the pace of play was awesome! I played so well that I pulled a bender at the fox den but it was such a great day!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 08/09/2018:
Thank you for playing Fox Run Golf Links! We appreciate your kind words and we're thrilled to hear how great of a time you had. Come back again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 07/17/2018:
Thank you for your 5 stars!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Took way too long

One of the most excruciating rounds of golf I've ever played , Us and the twosome in front of us waited on every hole on the back nine. Called the ranger to complain. He came up and said they were playing at PACE of play.What a joke. If it was a Sunday and not a Monday I would understand a long round there was nobody in front of them and nobody behind us. That was on hold 12 and never came back to see if they have sped up. They should have at least let us play through as a foursome it was a hundred degrees out and two guys were walking in there group I understand we had carts playing faster golf etiquette let us play through I thought the ranger job was to speed up the pace of play. I play every week booked another course this week not sure if I will go back did not expect a 3-hour round but four-and-a-half is ridiculous

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 07/17/2018:
Thank you for playing Fox Run Golf Links. It’s unfortunate to hear we didn’t meet your expectations but the pace of play on Monday was moving along smoothly. Your group finished in 4 hours, which is right on target for many municipal golf courses during the summer. Our ranger did a fantastic job of making sure all golfers were playing ahead pace. Visit foxrungolflinks.com to book your next round and be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Nice Course

For a public, miminicipal course it’s in great shape. Challenge layout. It felt like two different courses. The front 9 was not as challenging as the back, but all of it was in great shape. Will definitely be back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 08/15/2018:
Thank you for playing Fox Run Golf Links! We appreciate your kind words regarding the course conditions and layout. Come back for another round soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

So slow

Minimum 5 hour round with little to no help from the rangers. They pushed every group back because the first group woke up late so they let them tee off late. We teed off at 7 am and it still took every bit of 5 hours. It was also in the 90s and not a single water jug on the course. I think there might have been 1 water fountain.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 07/17/2018:
Thank you for spending a part of your 4th of July with us at Fox Run Golf Links! We apologize if the pace of play was slower than normal due to the holiday. We hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Pleasant scenery

Nice place, great par 3’s and challenging holes with water hazards!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 07/17/2018:
Thank you for playing Fox Run Golf Links! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your round. Hopefully you stayed out of the water on the par 3's! Come back again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Too much!

We tried as usual to play our round from the white tees. Unfortunately, excessive rainfall dictated that our shots got virtually no roll. As such we moved up to gold at hole 10.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 07/10/2018:
Thank you for playing Fox Run Golf Links, Ron! We're sorry to hear you weren't getting any roll in the fairways but we're glad to hear you moved up a tee box on the back 9 to make it a more enjoyable round. Come back soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played

5 1/2 hour round

In the past, this course has been fun to play. We went out today at 1040 and was packed behind enough people to only finish our first 3 holes by 1200.. The course itself was in decent condition (Cart path only on 5 holes-rained the previous week a few times) but the greens were slow.

Off course amenities- beverage carts should have water in them. If they aren’t going to provide water along the course, they should at least provide it for purchase.

I’m not here to complain about the course. The course played nice and was challenging but the overall experience wasn’t what it should have been.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 06/29/2018:
Thank you for playing Fox Run Golf Links. We apologize if the pace of play during your round was slower than normal and we appreciate your feedback regarding the beverage cart. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the course itself though and we hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

A good value with friendly staff

Played our round on Father's day Sunday 2018. Teed off just before 8am. Course was in good condition, however, I wish golfers would repair their own ball marks though (takes just 10 seconds!). We waited on most holes... took us 4 hours and 35 minutes. I prefer rounds to be 4 hours or less. I don't fault Fox Run for the issue... most golfers don't know how to play ready golf.

Fox Run is a friendly place to play and is a good value for the money. The bar and food staf were great. Every employee (from the proshop to the starters to the rangers to the food/bar staff) we encountered had a smile on their face and most engaged us in friendly conversation.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 06/20/2018:
We are glad you joined us for Father's Day! We are glad you found value in the course.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

What a beauty of a course

One of the best municipal courses in the area. The greens are always in perfect shape and the groundscrew is always hard at work. The management team greets you with a warm and smiling face. The Fox Den is a great place for post round eats and multiple cocktails. They also have loose gambling machines to compensate you for your greens fees & Zambuca's post round! I cannot wait to play here again! Unfortunately, I am the worlds greatest three putter but that aint the courses fault!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 06/20/2018:
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad you recognized the quality of our course staff.
Default User Image
WorldsGr8test3Putter
Commented On 06/25/2018

Thank you. Have a blessed day!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course conditions

From Arizona first time playing this course. Wow

Nothing like what I have there. I was impressed with everything. From chipping area to putting green to tee boxes to fairways to greens. This course sits very high on courses I’ve played outside of Arizona. I will com back just to play here again. Only one bad comment to say. It kinda sucks that the driving range is 5 minutes away

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 06/13/2018:
We are glad you had a great first experience of our golf course! We look forward to your next visit.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 06/11/2018:
Thanks for the 5 stars! Come back soon.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good course with some work to do

Greens are a little bit bumpy.

Sand traps need to all be redone completely.

Tough layout, makes you work for your score.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 05/31/2018:
We're sorry to only see 3 stars. What can we do better next time?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Value

Two different 9’s two different worlds. The front are nice regular golf holes, get to the back 9’s, TOUGH! lots of water and challenging. Great course for the price, fairways well maintained, and the greens were pristine! Would go back whenever back in town

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 05/31/2018:
Thanks for playing Fox Run Golf Links! We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our challenging and fun layout. Hope to see you out here again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Fix run

Course was Is in great shape. Greens were very consistent. Don’t like that the range is not in the grounds you have to drive to another place

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 05/31/2018:
Thank you for playing Fox Run Golf Links, Samuel. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the course conditions. Come back again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great course

Course was in great shape management takes good care of it glad to see they read the reviews and take care of problem from it

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 05/17/2018:
Thank you for your review! Our maintenance crew works very hard to provide great course conditions so we appreciate you taking notice. Come back again soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Offaly for sam

Staff very friendly , course was in good shape and pace of play was excellent. Will be back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Fox Run Golf Links on 05/17/2018:
Awesome! Thanks for playing Fox Run Golf Links. We're glad you enjoyed your round. Book another tee time with us soon!
Nearby Courses
Streamwood, Illinois
3.4687176471
50
Bartlett, Illinois
3.9112647059
95
Des Plaines, Illinois
2.0
1
Park Ridge, Illinois
0.0
0
Elgin, Illinois
4.5435411765
220

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE