North/East at Otter Creek Golf Course

4.3641411765 4.4 stars from 5 (89)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7274 yards
  • Slope: 141
  • Rating: 75.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tour 72 7274 yards 75.2 141
Championship 72 6858 yards 73.6 138
Back 72 6438 yards 71.5 134
Middle 72 5581 yards 67.5 132
Back (W) 72 5581 yards 72.6 124
Forward (W) 72 5283 yards 70.8 121

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 89 Reviews
5 stars:
56
4 stars:
27
3 stars:
6
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

87 out of 89 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"This course is just alright"


u000005243370's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is ok. It is well maintained except members who don't rake bunkers. I guess my only issue was the layout wasn't great. Typical wide open course with holes running side by side. For the money, I feel there are better options.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 10/23/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the layout of our course. We appreciate you giving us a shot!

"Great course"


ken55miller's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

The staff are extremely friendly. We were scheduled to play the North/ East courses nut we prefer the North/West. They changed us upon request.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 10/16/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon.

"Disappointed Day"


tgf72's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course should have been closed, because of excessive water. Unsafe to walk from tee box to cart because of mud. Ruts from carts . Greens slow unable to cut from being so wet. Traps also not at level they.should be from to much water.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 10/16/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about your round. We apologize for the wet conditions of the course. We hope this doesn't deter your from returning for another round soon. Thanks for playing!


golfnutpete's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape the greens were a little slow due to being punched and verticut recently, but that's okay maintenance is necessary for healthy course conditions, I didnt appreciate the gruffness of the guy behind the counter but he was easy to ignore I'm not one to let one bozo ruin a great time


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 09/26/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your patience during our recent maintenance and apologize the experience with our staff wasn't up to par. We hope you consider giving us another shot in the future. Thanks for playing!

"Great layout"


Rob8116520's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly staff, great layout , all day price best way to play


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 09/06/2017:

Hi Rob8116520, thanks for the kind words! We hope to see you again soon at Otter Creek.

"Very enjoyable round"


ChrisCalligan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course always seems to be in great shape and very well maintained. The staff is the best! Never an issue with carts that run very well with good power.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 08/23/2017:

Hi ChrisCalligan, thanks for the kind words! Come back and see us again soon.


u000002668218's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 08/16/2017:

Hi u000002668218, thanks for the review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the course conditions and layout. Come back and see us again soon!

"wear comfortable walking shoes"


u000006113464's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2017
First time playing Walked Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

pro shop staff friendly.

weather nice & sunny, but was cart path only golf,

due to recent rainy weather. rough would swallow

errant balls.

if you were unfamiliar with the course (we were),

you could easily go to the wrong next hole. luckily,

a gentleman joined us who was familiar with the

course. more signage would be appropriate.

a good golf course to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 08/16/2017:

Hi u000006113464, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback about adding additional signage to the course and are glad to hear you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again soon!


Oldguyindiana's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 07/21/2017:

Hi Oldguyindiana, thanks for the great review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our challenging layout. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for playing.

"Otter creek delivers"


u288918319's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Greens putted true. Would definitely play again. Wish it was closer to where I live.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 08/16/2017:

Hi u288918319, thanks for the 5-star review! We hope to see you again soon.


lolson02's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 06/12/2017:

Hi lolson02, thank you for the 5-star review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

"Terrific day"


James8936871's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great experience. Started on time. Good pace of play. Course in very good shape. Pleasing and fair layout with trees, water, and many sand traps, which were surprisingly firm.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 06/02/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you had a great experience at Otter Creek. We hope to see you again soon!


Tony479's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course was in nice shape. A couple greens on the West course were a little beat up, but aside from that, the course was in solid shape. Really enjoyed the layout and playability as a first time around.

Pace was the only negative. As a twosome teeing off at 1pm, we figured the pace wouldn't be fast. The front 9 was fine (~2hrs) but as we moved to the back (North) there was a foursome holding up the rest of us with seemingly no urgency or knowledge of their position. They were tracking for about a 3 hr 9-holes. We skipped a couple holes to hop ahead of them, which saved us about 45mins-1hr. That was a little disappointing since it was the first time out.

Again, course was a nice layout and in good shape, just felt the pace of play could have been managed better with a few rangers on the back (saw plenty of rangers on the front).


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 06/02/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We sorry to hear the pace of play wasn't up to par during your round, but are happy to hear you enjoyed the course conditions and the layout. We hope you give us another shot in the future. Thanks for playing!

"Different nines"


chuckmeek's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

North/East layout was challenging, but fair. North course was excellent. The rough on the East course needs work. Lots of coarse grass and rough spots. Fairways and greens were fine. Great play for the Golf Now price.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 05/31/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear the conditions of the rough weren't up to par, but are happy to hear you enjoyed the challenging layout and the conditions of the fairways and greens. We hope to see you again soon!


ctgolfer82's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 05/25/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again soon at Otter Creek.

"on going work"


jaythompson8's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The north course was in great shape greens very good. East is undergoing sand trap repair and dandy -lion weed kill off in the rough. The price was right for the ongoing work on east. I love this course, 5 tee stations make it as long as u want. Very challenging green/ trap layout.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 05/02/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear you had a positive experience, but apologize that the conditions of the East course weren't up to par. I'd like the opportunity to make it up to you. Please contact me directly at chadpga@me.com.

"Back Again - great design, great condition, better people!!"


Douglas8644418's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I played Otter again for the second week in a row. I just want to say this place is GOLF!! When I arrived the pro Chad introduced himself to me and thanked me for coming back again, we spoke for a while. I really appreciate the personal touch, tee times were a little backed up due to frost. So sitting on the first tee, the starter recognized me and we had more great golf conversation. Most places only care about money and getting you on and off the course, this place is engaging and as a millennial that's something most courses are missing. Cudos to Chad and the entire staff at Otter, this course is over an hour and a half from my house and my club where I can play any day for free and I will be back several times this summer!! Well worth the drive


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 04/12/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your round at Otter Creek. These are the expectations we strive to provide all of our golfers and appreciate the feedback. Thanks for playing and we're looking forward to seeing you again soon!

"Traditional golf at its finest"


Douglas8644418's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Otter Creek was one of the last public courses in Indiana I had not played. I live in Carmel so it's a little far compared to most of the top courses. I can't believe I've been missing out on this Gem the past several years since I moved to Indiana. Trent Jones SR built one of the best traditional courses I have ever seen. Fairway bunkers in play off the tee and green side bunkers on every hole with just enough water. Most complaints are probably how challenging the course is cause the conditions in March are better than many in mid season. Fairways and tee boxes were immaculate tee boxes completely flat like a PGA event and the green speed was fantastic and consistent. LOVED IT booke a tee time for next Saturday already, it's worth the drive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek on 04/03/2017:

Thanks so much for the stellar review! We're thrilled that you were able to join us so early in the season, and we appreciate your feedback regarding our course conditions. We're excited to have you back next Saturday! Thanks!

"A Great day of Golf"


Tommy8954596's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Course was in great shape considering the time of the year. And at the Golf Now price well worht it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 04/03/2017:

Thanks so much! We're glad that you had a great time, and that you gave us a shot so early in the season. We hope you'll make it out again in the coming weeks as our course conditions continue to improve!

"somewhat disappointed"


dovelake's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You'd expect a round here to be great, but the original back nine was closed and the new nine, the east, had little sand in the bunkers and since it was march, the greens as you'd expect were pretty bumpy.

Nevertheless, at this price you can't beat it. The greens will challenge even the very best putters, its RT Jones afterall.


Course Conditions: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Otter Creek Golf Course on 03/10/2017:

Hi dovelake,<br/> <br/> Thanks for sharing your experience with us on GolfAdvisor! We’re happy to see that you had a great round at our course even during our shoulder season, where our facility isn’t quite running at full capacity. As we’re in the off season, it’s not unusual for us to keep one of the nines closed, and as you mentioned, we are currently renovating the green-side bunkers on our East nine. We’d love to invite you back once we’re in season so you can get the full experience! Thanks again for playing and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!<br/> <br/> Best regards,<br/> Chad Cockerham PGA<br/> General Manager, Otter Creek Golf Course<br/>


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed