White at Gleneagles Country Club

3.8369588235 3.8 stars from 5 (70)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6302 yards
  • Slope: 124
  • Rating: 70.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6302 yards 70.1 124
White 70 6040 yards 68.8 120
White (W) 75 6040 yards 74.3 125
Gold 70 5698 yards 67.1 116
Gold (W) 75 5698 yards 72.4 121

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 70 Reviews
5 stars:
11
4 stars:
30
3 stars:
19
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

55 out of 70 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals playing multiple courses seniors   Challenges include bunkers plays long undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Leaves EVERYWHERE"


sollyd123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you're not in the fairway, you may as well drop another ball. The fairways are blown free of leaves but they blow them into the rough (where most of us play).


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Gleneagles Country Club on 01/12/2018:

Thank you for the four-star review! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your time here despite the leaves in the rough and we hope you’ll be back again in the future!

"Gleneagle White Course"


andrewstrigos's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No issues other than playing poorly today and the severe biting of the legs and ankle by flies and yellow jackets buzzing us - typical fall bug attack, so bring insect repellent, as I forgot mine. The course was packed so it took just over 4 hours to play. greens were tough with difficult pin placements and slants, plus were somewhat fast, but well manicured.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Gleneagles Country Club on 01/12/2018:

Thank you so much for the five-star review! We’re thrilled that you had a great time with us despite the bugs and we look forward to your next visit in the spring!

"Problems with Pro Shop Staff"


asdfasdfasdfOK's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017

Reviewed on

When we arrived to the course, the staff at the pro shop tried to tell us that someone in our group had called ahead and cancelled our round. This was completely not true as we all drove to the course together, and the ranger made me prove it with the confirmation that we did not cancel. We later learned that there was an outing on the course holding up the pace, and the pro shop tried to do the same thing to the group behind us, again unsuccessful, an attempt to free up the course for the outing. That is ridiculous that they would lie to our faces and try and pull something like that to not only us, but other groups who happened to book the same day as an outing. What they pulled is not only unjust but a deceptive business practice, and a horrible way to treat customers.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Toddprobasco's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"What a beautiful day to play a wonderful game"


George2382877's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a beautiful day to play a wonderful game . We played the white course, they also have a red course, haven't played that yet but I'm going to. Had a great tasting hotdog at the turn with a drink. The only problem we had was on hole number eight the sand traps were full of bees, you wouldn't want to be in there to get your shot


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Vicwen45"


Vicwen45's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in good condition. Only problem was the dead tree branches were falling and need to be cut down.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



tomwydra's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great time, Never had any group in front or behind us. Played at a perfect pace,


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Gleneagles Country Club on 06/16/2017:

It's wonderful to hear that you had a great time and that pace of play was snappy! Thanks so much for leaving us a great review and we look forward to your next round with us!

"course needs help"


u1549009's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

lots of areas under construction with flags limiting area of play


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Gleneagles Country Club on 05/31/2017:

Thank you for the feedback! Yes, we're working to provide the best possible experience for our golfers and so a bit of construction is necessary. We hope you'll come and play again to see the great results!

"Pleasant surprise"


acush47's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Although the course was not in great shape due to the weather (water in many sand traps, many areas in fairways were under repair). Disappointed that hole markers were not in place at the tee boxes.

Despite minor problems as above, we had an enjoyable day of golf and will return when the weather stabilizes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Gleneagles Country Club on 05/31/2017:

We're sorry to hear that conditions were a bit iffy due to weather but we look forward to your next visit!

"GlenEagles"


Joey8025131's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's not my first time golfing there but every time I go, I always enjoy the course. It's nothing to challenging and we had perfect weather. Fairways are fast and the greens are tricky. With living in Lemont and the course being so close, it's one of my first choices I choose when looking to golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Gleneagles Country Club on 05/31/2017:

We really appreciate the kind words! It's great to hear that you enjoy your time here and being one of your top choices it's a real compliment! Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

"Red course"


u958758363's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun course, it was cold & rained the day before so it was wet. I was very happy they still rented carts(big plus not a fan of walking) the crew did a great job marking off super wet areas. With that being said & mother nature not cooperating still had us smiling .when the weather is better I would love to play it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Gleneagles Country Club on 05/31/2017:

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your round despite the soggy conditions! We look forward to seeing you again on a sunnier day!

"Gleneagles White Course"


kilcoyne1982's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/27/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a good course for golfers who don't want to deal with water hazards. There are spacious fairways, but small greens with a lot of slope. It is mandatory to stay below the hole if you want to score well. There is a good mix of holes when you can go for it and others when you need to use good course management.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice day for golf"


sollyd123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/09/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in GREAT shape and the greens were rolling fast. and true They did a good job of keeping leaves off the fairway and rough but if you went into the trees, it was impossible to find your ball due to the leaves that were blown in those areas.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Fall Golf"


afzalishrat's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Last few days of the season was little cold but bearable. Pace was good as we were playing twilight time finished in 3hrs


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Like Playing on Cement!"


hvac2000's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Grounds keepers must have allot of time on there hands! The greens and rough is like playing on cement! Very bad condition! Greens are so hard the puts are fast! The rough is a pasture! The fairways are fair, no pun attended! In order to have a decent game you must always hit in the fairway. If you are in the rough expect to break your wrist! Played here this year 4 times. They book allot of outings so expect slow play! It is a throw of the dice!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Great value"


djjenen's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape with soft greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/19/2016

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We hope to see you out here again soon!


"Never again"


u000007589625's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Called ahead of time and staff told us they were not busy for the holiday, "it's a normal Monday"- exact words. Once we arrived the place was packed. We had to wait 5-10 min before every shot. No ranger to enforce speed of play, no beverage cart on a 85 degree day, the two drink machines on the course were broken. After almost 5 hrs of play and just starting hole 17 we decided to call it quits and speak with a manager. When confronted the manager became rude, confrontational, and accused us of being liars. The manager told us we were getting a refund and not a rain check because he did not want us back. At no point were we even given an apology. I will never play there again, too many other course to play where I will be treated with respect and professionalism.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 09/19/2016

We're very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with our staff. We certainly understand your frustration, but we do hope you'll give us another shot in the future.


"Andrew"


asdfasdfasdfOK's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/17/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

I played this course earlier in the summer after heavy rains, so I was not surprised when there was standing water in all of the bunkers. However, I was surprised to see that the bunkers still had standing water in them even though the week had been dry. Fairways and greens were in good shape, but the I don't think the sand has been raked all summer.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Seems well maintained but hard ground"


Brandon3579026's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course appears well maintained bc fairways and greens are freshly cut and mowed but the ground is extemely hard and greens did not roll true.

Some of the bunkers were in rough shape but only on first couple of holes.

This is a good beginners or casual golfer course but would not recommend for a low handicapper or high volume player.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 09/19/2016

We appreciate the feedback and constructive criticism, Brandon. Please come and play us again in the future!


"Andrew"


asdfasdfasdfOK's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in pretty good shape despite the insane amount of rain in the days leading up to it. If you are playing on the weekend, you should be required to drive for pace of play purposes, and the group in front of us walked, so of course it took forever.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/19/2016

Sorry to hear about the pace of play issue. We understand that's frustrating and we appreciate your patience.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed