Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
2.5
85 Reviews (85)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
28
2 Stars
12
1 Stars
13
Conditions
2.3
Value
2.9
Layout
2.8
Friendliness
3.5
Pace
3.2
Amenities
2.4
48.2%
Recommend this course
54 out of 85 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.2
5 Reviews (5)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
3
Conditions
2.3
Value
2.5
Layout
2.8
Pace
3.0
Amenities
2.3
StaffFriendliness
3.5
40.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 5 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.2
5 Reviews (5)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
3
Conditions
2.3
Value
2.5
Layout
2.8
Pace
3.0
Amenities
2.3
StaffFriendliness
3.5
40.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 5 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Style Parkland
Par 70
Length 6018 yards
Slope 117
Rating 68.6
Book a Tee Time at
Village Green Golf Course - Mundelein
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1962
Fairways Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 12/01
Architect Ray Didier

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fee
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Caddies No
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

2.5
85 Reviews (85)

What Golfers Are Saying

This course/club is great for:
Locals 7
Beginners 6
Walkers 6
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 11

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great price. Course condition average for low end /medium course.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

Last time playing this course

Had a Golfnow time for 245 only to find out high school had a tournament going on. Ended up doing a round of 9 for 2$ less than the 18 on golfnow. The course was beaten up and not maintained at all.

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

I’d rather pay a little more money and play a nicer course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Horrible Course- Terrible Service

Course is in terrible condition. Pace was at about 6 hours at 11am and the manager could care less. told him players were playing 2 balls and screaming drunk. fairways are dead, greens are filled with ball marks that werent fixed. terrible course. NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!!!!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Flood damage

This course drains poorly and several areas have unrepaired flood damage. Very bare areas off fairways. Poorly maintained. No drinking water anywhere on tee boxes.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Image
Commented on 09/19/2018

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately two holes sit in a watershed. The areas that flooded impacts #3 and half of #6. Both areas were reseeded and repaired a week before you played. #3 was playing as a modified par 3 and #6 was completely reopened. To state that the course is poorly maintained and has bare areas, is simply untrue. There are few if any bare areas in the fairways and the course receives feedback as to how nice the course is. As for drinking water on the course, it is a policy of the course not to have drinking water on the course due to liability and player safety and contamination issues. It's for the well-being of the customer. Once again, thank you for your review.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great greens!

Played Village Green on Saturday, 9/15. Had a great time. Part of course is recovering from flooding in August, however it has been reseeded. The impacted hole is playing as a fun par 3. Nice change of pace for an otherwise difficult hole. Food was typical golf course food...great hot dogs! Course was in great condition and I must say the greens were incredible! Fast and smooth! Some of the best greens I have played all season! Definitely a fun course with great greens! Give this course a try.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Worst Golf Experience Ever (In 20 years of golfing)!!!

I bought my 2 college-aged children a 10 round golf pass from Village Green as a gift online. When I called the course and told them that the card did not arrive in the mail (they sent it regular mail...not requiring a signature) they ACCUSED ME OF LYING, SAID THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS STATE NO REPLACEMENTS." THE Manager then WOULD NOT GIVE ME A PHONE OR EMAIL for the GM. These are unethical people. I will never golf there and will l continue to tell everyone I know how rude and apathetic the staff is...not to mention that the course looks like a donkey trail.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 09/19/2018

Thank you for your review Jim. We understand your concerns with the 10-play pass. However, you have told us a couple different versions of what happened with the pass. First, let us state that you purchased the pass back on November 27, 2017 and did not contact the course until mid-August 2018. You have told us numerous stories ranging from you purchased the pass for yourself and had it shipped to St. Louis. The second version was that your children purchased for you and had it shipped to St. Louis. You provided your credit card information and the shipping address which must be manually inputted by the purchaser which you told our staff is your ex-wife's address in St. Louis. No one has ever accused you of lying. You were simply asked why it took so long to bring this to our attention. In your initial phone call you were extremely aggressive and nasty and it was difficult dealing with you. If you remember correctly, during the purchase process there is a disclaimer that states that by completing the purchase you agreed to all terms and conditions which included the statement that the course was not responsible for lost, stolen or misplaced passes. You even went so far as to call the local police department who followed up with us simply as a courtesy. As for the course being unethical and a donkey trail, that is simply not true. If that is the case I am not sure why you would have purchased a multiplay pass. We hear excellent feedback about the conditions, the value of the course and the conditions of the greens. Thank you for your feedback

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Illinois Advisor
Top 10 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Decent Old Schooler with issues

See my review of 7/8/17 last season and reviews previous to that for this track. This year we received a nice welcome in the clubhouse. We had a very pleasant day. Greens were in really good shape and that's half the game. Good speed and have a lot of sneaky undulation and have good size to them. Playing extremely hard and fast tee and the greens were watered appropriately and holding. Due to constant flooding the 3rd and 6th fairways are a mess but they are trying to regrow grass. Sand traps are a mess but that's been the case for several years. No range and dated clubhouse bar. Played the front in under 1.5 hours the back nine slowed considerably but still a 3.5 hour round. All in all a decent value especially if you want to get a novice out there with you and there's more than enough challenge for better golfers. Very tight in several places. Not all courses can be pristine and in perfect shape - a course I really don't mind playing once a year with my GolfVisions players pass. $25 value.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Play anywhere else

This place is the worst. One person working the register, bar, and kitchen. No soap in any the bathrooms (I probably contracted Ecoli from the chef/bartender who made my brat). No rangers to move play along. No maps of the holes. No logical way of figuring out how to get to the next hole. Tee boxes that are 10 feet from the previous green (had to dive out of the way 4 times in order not to die). Greens, fairways, sand traps, the entire course felt like it was built on concrete slabs. Dead grass everywhere.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 09/19/2018

Thank you for your comments. We checked the records and on the day you played there were at least three staff on duty, at time 5 staff. So it's not possible for one person to have been working during your time at the course. As for contracting ecoli, we take hygiene at the course seriously. We consistently check the restrooms for cleanliness including soap supply. You may have hit the restrooms when it rain out. Also, our food prep is meticulous. As for the condition of the course, that is simply a misstatement that there is dead grass everywhere. Even with the drought that had occurred we were consistently watering with a manual system to keep the course green. I would also like to state that we receive excellent feedback on the condition of the course and the greens in particular. We have heard that our greens rival some private club greens. Once again, thank you for your review.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Always a challenging and fun round

Enjoy VG for its relaxed atmosphere. Always a challenging and fun round. Course was in good shape after severe rainy period. Greens were rolling nicely. Playable within a reasonable time period Carts clean and good power. Staff always friendly.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The price was right

I received a price of 30.50 for 18 holes and a cart. I played on Saturday afternoon. The course was rather wet, most of the sand traps were filled with standing water, and the drainage system there could not handle the rain from the night before.
As far as a food or beer cart, I played for 3 1/2 hours, and never saw one. Considering it was a hot day, I would have appreciated something. Most of the course is wide open, but some holes have tight fairways. Since this is a casual course, the yelling of four is pretty common, so keep your eyes open at all times. The course is ok, but they must have a small staff. No starter, no rangers, no amenities cart, no one working to fix or work on the holes. Usually the pace is very slow, but because of the rain, the hot weather, and it being Fathers Day weekend, a lot of people stayed away. Since it took me 3 1/2 hours, I could live with the inconveniences. If I was there for longer, I would have changed my review.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Spring golf

The course was dry like in September. The ball would run forever on fairways and fast greens. Weather was warm and windy, awesome for such wintery April . Excellent newer electric golf carts. Suprised no porta-potties on grounds.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 07/25/2018

How is it that your review says that you play once a week at this course but you would not recommend it to another golfer?

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Why were waited for 2 or 3 groups of 5 golfers with scramble team in front of us to played at 12:15 pm ?? %b GOLFERS huh ?? That was waste of our time about 45 minutes late which was not good for us with appreciate with 5 golfers each group.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Holiday golf

Not bad overall but the play was slow due to holiday took too long to golf 18 holes bit understood based on holiday.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Nearby Courses
Mundelein, Illinois
4.1735411765
39
Mundelein, Illinois
3.9866571429
108
Mundelein, Illinois
3.9866571429
108
Mundelein, Illinois
4.5165941176
80
Vernon Hills, Illinois
4.1844
99
Grayslake, Illinois
3.0705166667
27
Libertyville, Illinois
0.0
0
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
4.0
1
Gurnee, Illinois
4.1231647059
38

Stay & Play Offers

From $190
Valid dates: Dec 01, 2019 - Mar 01, 2020
Includes 3 rounds of golf - one each at Legacy Golf Links, 7 Lakes and Southern Pines Golf Club - and lodging for two nights in a 2 Bedroom / 2 Bath Golf Front Condo located on the Pinehurst Resort Golf Courses.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE