Willow Pond Golf Course

4.2009705882 4.2 stars from 5 (37)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6799 yards
  • Slope: 115
  • Rating: 71.8
  • Layout

  • 808 Golf Course Rd, Rantoul, Illinois 61866, Champaign County
  • (217) 893-9000
  • (217) 893-1133
  • www.willowpondgolf.com

Year built: 1955
Architect(s): Wadsworth Golf Construction (1960), Larry Packard (1963)
Type: Public
Golf Season: Open: 3/01 Closed: 11/15

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6799 yards 71.8 115
White 72 6518 yards 70.7 112
Gold 72 6095 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 72 5616 yards 71.9 114

Formerly known as Chanute Air Force Base Golf Course

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 37 Reviews
5 stars:
12
4 stars:
19
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

36 out of 37 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good day playing on this good course."


rmohr1946's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Playing willow pond is a joy. A challenging course but fair, tee boxes, fairways, greens all were in great condition. A must play if you are in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Firecake's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Willow pond is a must play"


rmohr1946's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everything about this course was very good except the sand bunkers. Just don’t play out of them. Avoid at all costs. The rest of the course greens fairways all in very good condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



brickman14's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

we had a fun day course was in very good shape everybody was friendly will be back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Dan8172916's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



sharid65's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


Jerking's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was prestige and well manicured. I loved the course layout and challenge for any level golfer based on the tee box selected. Had a two for one coupon so for this round the value was absolutely incredible. Even without the coupon I would definitely be happy with the value. It was over 2-hours round trip for me but was worth it. I was however unhappy with the fact that there was not a ranger present to keep the pace of play. Was stuck behind a group on the front nine that did not offer to let us pass even though we were waiting a good deal of time for every shot. We passed the group on the turn and then pace of play was perfect. I absolutely will be visiting this course again and hopefully the pace of play will be managed by the course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Ghost town"


u1206002's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I booked a tee time online for noon on Tuesday, received a confirmation email and arrived at 11:45. However, NOBODY was there. All doors were locked and no carts were out. Even though I paid for a cart I decided I'd rather walk then go home without playing a few holes. None of the flags were out so I couldn't tell where the holes were but the courses were in good condition other than that hiccup. Golfed here many times and always had pleasant experiences with the staff so I'm shocked they would allow me to book a tee time and not call or email me if they knew they were going to close.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Playing golf in December can't believe it."


u126011168's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course love the lay out of it and the greens are always nice and being this time if year can't believe how well he course is this late in the year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fall golf"


u2662816's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent shape for this time of year, hope to make it out again before winter!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Willow pond"


Geez1492's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Somewhat rainy day, so the pace of play was excellent! Course is in great shape, I love it! It is long, I mean it has a 225 yard par 3 that will challenge you! Staff is always very friendly, maintinence men/lawn mowers always stop, so they don't disturb you and are friendly. Please keep up the good work!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Dan8172916's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



sharid65's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Golfers starting on back nine"


u2662816's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had just got done with front nine and pro shop let a twosome start back nine right in front of me. This is not right, and it held me up and pretty much ruined my back nine. On the next hole I was getting ready to tee off and another twosome cut in front of me to another hole in front of the twosome in front of me. There is definitely no course management on this course and would not recommend it. It is like helter scelter and no organization.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Willow Pond Better Than Ever"


u455544546's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Hey I used to play this course in the mid 1990's. The greens are in great shape! Fairways are nice. The rough is central Illinois rough. It's a nice long test at a value unheard of. Mahomet is double the money!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good course, needs watered"


scott8378825's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed the course for the value. The most annoying part was that the ground was hard due to no rain. So the ball rolled for miles..


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



sharid65's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Open course"


Wayne4705047's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Open course.....The management and staff are continuing to do a great job in improving the course week by week . many dead trees need to be removed. However, they are working on it throughout the year as time permits .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u281105451's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Gordon6010977's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed