Deerfield Golf Club

4.1570882353 4.2 stars from 5 (171)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6831 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 72.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6831 yards 72.8 133
Gold 72 6573 yards 71.6 130
Blue 72 6120 yards 69.5 125
Silver 72 5684 yards 67.5 120
Bronze 72 5009 yards 64.4 113
Bronze (W) 72 5009 yards 69.2 121
Gold Family 72 3932 yards 59.2 100
Blue Family 72 3076 yards 55.3 91

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 171 Reviews
5 stars:
50
4 stars:
84
3 stars:
24
2 stars:
7
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

149 out of 170 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for locals walkers advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers narrow fairways water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Wooyoung's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beware of League Play"


Marty9156272's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course for the value but league play overlapped with tee times. The front desk happily took my money but starter had to fit me in. The course was super slow. I advise you to call and ask if there’s League play.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



herbietunes's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Deerfield Golf Club - Solid Park District in North Shore"


btweed1683's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Chicago Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

The Good: Chicago North Shore course is in really good shape for a park district facility. Edward L. Packard design is solid with many good Par 4's and some very interesting green complexes. Par 5's are long and very challenging, yet fun. The greens are in tip-top shape for a public course. Clubhouse has a nice outing/banquet area and a decent pro shop. Practice facility is serviceable. Staff is friendly and does its best to keep pace of play going. GPS on carts is a nice touch!

The Bad: Fairways don't hold water well and flood when rain is excessive. Poor yardage markers if you are a walker. Pace of play is an issue but staff was doing as good a job as possible when I played in an outing recently. Par 3's are forgettable and not overly interesting. Overpriced at $75+ during summer weekend peak season.

The Verdict: Deerfield is a good North Shore option with good shot variety if you don't mind a longer round. Nothing flashy, yet fun nonetheless.

Best Hole: The long Par 4 7th hole is a tough, dogleg left around a pond and guarded by multiple sand traps.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




finch21's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course - course is in great condition and greens roll true.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Awesome golf course!"


Helfrich21's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

This course has the best taken care of greens in the Chicagoland area. It always has recent green conditions manicured. I love the front 9 with many challenging holes. Also, the carts are new with access for you to bring your own phone cord to charge your phone so even when playing golf your can do work emails and calls. It’s one of my favorite golf courses and will continue to recommend and play golf often. Also, all the staff from management to starters are so friendly and helpful! Thank you!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice layout"


u6041222's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good condition. Rain night before so soft in some spots. Greens were good not great. Pace was a little slow 4:35 round. Overall nice place, good layout and the best practice facility in the area. Recommend for sure.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Slightly disappointed..."


JGCalGolf's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2018
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on

I will preface this review by stating that my buddies and I have played DF Golf Club at least ten times between last season and the beginning of this season. We typically book our reservations through GolfNow, for both good rates and convenience. Yesterday we caught rain during our first nine holes but continued to play, as it was tolerable. At the turn, our group decided that we would attempt to play hole 10. We all proceeded with our tee shots, and as we moved down the fairway the weather had progressively gotten worse, so we picked up our balls before finishing the hole to turn around. Once we got back to the Pro Shop, we attempted to explain our situation to the attendant, who refused any form of credit for holes that were unplayed. Although GolfNow had this listed as an 18 hole rate, Deerfield had it listed as a twilight rate, and this was the reason for their refusal. While this discrepancy can be understood because of third-party booking, the lack of customer care was compounded by the horrible pace of play (the usual here), and no regard from the pro shop attendant. The impression left on us that they could care less about our concerns, and that makes me not want to spend my money here again; Lake County has plenty of good golf.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



snyderj's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Course!"


jimboad2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love playing here! Great practice area and friendly staff. The only odd thing is after we finished our round they the entire building is locked up so if you need to say use the restroom before you leave you may be out of luck. There were still quite a few golfers on the course after we had finished too.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Johnr624's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



chicagotorch's avatar
Age:  45-54

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good start"


u828262298's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape and the layout was nice. Long holes but not too overbearing. Greens were super fast but overall a great time. No real waiting during 18 and we turned for 27 late in the afternoon for zero waiting . Cart path only but not unexpected given the rain and time of year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Just Ok"


baw12's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

I have played here numerous times, but not my first choice. Just nothing special and the 294 Expressway (very noisy) is your OB left on a few holes.

I never putt well here either. Not sure why.

Good size range though and restaurant if that’s important to you.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Bad day at Deerfield."


Husky124's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Deerfield golf club is pretty average. I've played here many times and its a pretty long and bland course next to a major highway and a busy road. Played on Friday and i understand why it was cart path only the course was soggy in places and muddy. I just think this course uses the cart path only rule, which really sucks and ruins the round and pace of play way too much! There have been times last season when there was no reason for a cart path only rule, they need to stop doing it so much or at least utilize the 90 degree rule which they never do! The course on Friday was bad, fairways and greens were in bad shape. Money down the drain.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



u775027196's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"nice course"


u000004113585's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

only negative-cart path only--90degree -more appropriate for actual conditions


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



mfkrope's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Value missing"


copper701's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Must have missed the small print about 2 holes being closed. Even avg courses carve out temporary greens. Play was slow with what seems was a woman's league on beautiful day..No value after u pay ur booking fees and only 16 holes.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed