Sultan's Run Golf Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
10
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.0
Layout
4.9
Friendliness
4.6
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.1
90.2%
Recommend this course
9 out of 10 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.3
6
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.3
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.3
83.3%
Recommend this course
5 out of 6 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.3
6
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.3
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.3
83.3%
Recommend this course
5 out of 6 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6859
Slope 136
Rating 73.4
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Sultans Run Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6859 yards 73.4 136
Gold 72 6429 yards 71.4 134
Silver 72 5842 yards 68.6 129
Green (W) 72 4911 yards 68.2 122
Scorecard for Sultan's Run
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 73.4/136 430 194 339 535 189 493 347 325 412 3264 576 374 209 574 409 396 192 436 429 3595 6859
Gold M: 71.4/134 405 171 304 515 159 481 326 301 393 3055 544 361 191 538 395 375 175 383 412 3374 6429
White M: 68.6/129 W: 72.5/135 376 137 289 486 137 470 305 292 360 2852 496 326 145 481 381 356 134 339 332 2990 5842
Yellow M: 68.2/122 W: 70.0/127 314 105 240 458 93 341 266 281 271 2369 486 292 128 407 333 263 94 293 246 2542 4911
Handicap 3 15 7 5 17 9 13 11 1 6 12 18 4 10 2 16 8 14
Par 4 3 4 5 3 5 4 4 4 36 5 4 3 5 4 4 3 4 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 3 15 13 1 17 9 5 7 11 6 12 18 4 10 2 16 8 14

Course Details

Year Built 1992
Fairways Zoysia Grass
Greens Zoysia Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tim Liddy (1996) Wadsworth Golf Construction (1996)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Collared shirt, no jeans.

Reviews

4.3
10
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Bumpy slow greens

Excellent shape. Only complaint were the greens. Never seen them this slow and bumpy. Couldve been due to rain and alot of play that day. Otherwise enjoyable time as always.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Sultan's Run Golf Club on 08/27/2018:
Hello, Thank you for leaving Sultan's Run Golf Club a 4-star rating. We're glad to hear you liked our course conditions. Book your next tee time with us soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Hope you have all day

Beatifull course. 4.5 star condition. But...

They had an outing in the morning and let out a lot of 4somes for replay rounds. No rangers in the afternoon. We were more than 5.5 hours finishing. Doesn’t matter how great the course is, it was not fun. They did recognize there was a problem and gave us rain checks for 50% of a round. Didn’t really make things all better.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Sultan's Run Golf Club on 08/08/2018:
Hello, We would like to apologize for the pace of play. Please allow us to make it up to you in the near future. Thank you for your business.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 25 Contributor
Indy Advisor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

4.5 Stars

I really enjoyed Sultans Run. The course has a challenging mix of elevation change, thick rough, and tricky greens. It's visually intimidating and pleasing at the same time. The 18th green with a waterfall behind it and clubhouse overlooking it was beautiful.

As for playing it, you have to pick the right club off the tee, as we found ourselves in the wrong spot hitting driver on multiple occasions. The greens were fairly large and rolled true. So why 4.5 stars? They clearly must've had a rough season and spent a lot of money on sod recently to make repairs. There were still spots in need of work too. In some cases, you had to seek relief from it, but once it fills in I'm sure it'll be pristine again.

Bottom line, if you're in/around French Lick or this part of the state or are looking for a good group destination than you can't go wrong with Sultans Run. Highly recommend playing it and I'll be back again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Sultan's Run Golf Club on 07/31/2018:
Hello, Thank you for leaving Sultan's Run Golf Club a 4-star rating. We are pleased to see that we met your overall expectations for staff friendliness, course layout, the pace of play, value for the money and off-course amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A manageable adventure

Each round reveals additional subtle features. Played early morning- greens held good shots and putts a bit easier to pace. Very nice treat when in French Lick area.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Sultan's Run Golf Club on 07/31/2018:
Hi Glen, Thank you for leaving us a 5-star rating. We are happy to have met your overall expectations. Remember to book your next tee time with us soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Beautiful course

In town for business and was able to sneak out in the afternoon. Great condition, great layout. Only thing missing is some directional 150 markers off the tees for first timers.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Sultan's Run Golf Club on 07/22/2018:
Hello, Thanks for leaving Sultan's Run Golf Club a 5-star rating. We're glad you had a chance to sneak away and enjoy yourself out on the golf course. Thank you for your business and book your next round with us soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Sultan's Run Golf Club on 07/20/2018:
Hello, Thank you for leaving Sultan's Run Golf Club a 5-star rating. Book your next tee time with us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

great change of pace

I can't believe this course hasn't been reviewed in years. Love the layout, love the course conditions, staff is very friendly. I don't understand the price hike. Could have used a marshal on the back nine. Our 3some was cruising along until we got bogged down by a foursome which backed up 5 holes behind us. You paid $59 for the round what's another $3 in a lost ball in the weeds, drop and move on.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Great Course!

Challenging but fair, course was in great shape with slick greens and nice fairways. The 18th hole is the best finishing hole around. Highly recommend this course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Top 5 course I have played

This course is about as good as it gets. Challenging, but fair. Love the way the ball sits up in the Zoysia fairways. Greens, rough, and sand traps all in good shape. Nice layout. Staff is friendly. Can't wait to play it again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Great Course -Well Worth the trip to Jasper

Great Course. Great Staff. Par 3's had plenty of challenge and great views. Some blind tee shots that you need to pay attention to. When I get back in the area, I plan to play it again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Nearby Courses
Jasper, Indiana
3.7000176471
21
Jasper, Indiana
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$199 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 19, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
The package includes overnight accommodations, unlimited rounds of golf for two players, daily American breakfast for two at CORE Kitchen & Wine Bar and 10% savings offered at the Golf Shop.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE